Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,265 个评分
348 个审阅

课程概述

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

热门审阅

AM

Dec 16, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK

Jul 29, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

筛选依据:

301 - Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的 325 个评论(共 344 个)

创建者 Joan Y Z L

Feb 14, 2016

It's a good course if you want a general overview of the statistics of clinical research. Personally I was hoping for a little more depth in some of the statistical methods. Some links or suggested readings on the methods would be great as we move along the course. Overall a delightful course. Everything is clearly explained. Thank you Dr. Koppler!

创建者 Rianne d B

Feb 06, 2016

Very useful course when you have very little background in statistics. You are taught the basic ideas behind the most commonly used statistical tests. The course really gives you a solid base to understand statistics described in scientific medical articles. Actually, after completing this course I felt confident enough to start doing basic statistical analyses on my own research data.

创建者 Fatima A

Jul 29, 2017

It is a great course. It provides all what you need in a nice simple way. I highly recommend it.

创建者 Sumit S

Jan 09, 2017

Very good course.Can be improved with more exercises.

创建者 Vojtech N

Jun 23, 2016

Well understandable INTRODUCTION to med statistics.

创建者 Li J C

Jun 03, 2017

A good course to start learning statistics for beginners.

创建者 MEENAKUMARI

Oct 06, 2016

excellent course

创建者 Harold X

Dec 15, 2016

I increased my clinical backgroup through this course. Thank

创建者 syed r y

Apr 08, 2018

very interesting and easy to understand course it made statistics really easy for me so far

创建者 Deleted A

Jul 26, 2017

This is a true course of statistics for beginner especially tailored for health professional. I learn so many basic terms and concept behind the statistics. The 2 to 10 minutes videos combined with keynote are really helpful for understanding. However, I do wish there is similar course that use longer time to include more depth in all aspects.

创建者 Federica M

Apr 16, 2018

Thank you for your course. Teaching statistics to the ones (majority) who do not have maths background is incredibly hard and the works for teacher is humongous. Few flaws to highlight: some parts where a little bit too "simplistic" like for instance; sampling and frequency distribution , ANOVA Z and T tables. These parts I believe requires a little bit more insight in the nature of the maths behind it to grab a better understanding of it. I have to say I had to integrate your material with other you tube videos on the web to get a deeper sense of it. An introduction to ROC curve and Meta-analysis is something to consider for future courses

I have also noted a lack of reply to many questions written on the Forum.

But overall a very good course which delivers basic concept of statistics. I think I have improved the ability to better understand the methodology behind research and research manuscript.

创建者 John W

Nov 18, 2017

Very good overview of the basics clinical study design and data analysis. I feel that sections 5 and 6 were dealt with a little cursorily with very brief mentions of the different types of statistical analyses. That's why I rated the course 4 stars instead of 5.

创建者 Goh C

May 04, 2017

interesting but tough course.. lots of statistics.

创建者 Peerada N

May 16, 2017

Overall okay, but touches each of the subjects only at the basics. Makes you unable to understand the different types of research and what tests/assessments to use for different kinds of data. Additional self study is required, as they will not go deep into the maths and actual calculation.

创建者 Tri L

Dec 19, 2017

I'm thankful for the fact that there is little mathematical detail about the statistics, which is indeed a good choice for anyone who just want to correctly "read" a clinical research. The knowledge of the last 3 weeks is, however, too concise. I would love know more about story/nature behind each test, or at least, some good material too read or listen to. But I think, the course is very well structured, lectures are short and clear, examples are interesting and practical.

创建者 Nicholas Y

Apr 18, 2016

-Would highly recommend for anyone looking to quickly get a basis for evaluating statistics and logistics of medical literature. Notes sections after videos are an excellent supplement to the videos (which are not too long), and does a great job of hitting high points.

-If I could make 1 change I would expand the test section to explain more tests (logistic regression, etc.)

创建者 Yamini K

Apr 07, 2017

The videos and key notes seem to be not in snc when it comes to some points .

创建者 Rephaim M

Apr 18, 2017

Good course, most of the concepts were taught well. It enabled me to develop a more intuitive understanding of clinical research and statistical concepts used

创建者 Trinesh B

Apr 06, 2018

It is a good course to understand the basics of statistics in clinical research.

创建者 Giulia G

Mar 22, 2017

plus d'exercise à faire chaque semaine.

创建者 Husam E A M I

Jul 22, 2016

have learn too much interesting concepts and perspective regarding interpreting the results of an statistical analysis, also knowing how to chose the perfect statistic tool for a given data set>>>>really enjoyed to have such course with that excellent explanation

Note:can you guys make a better presentation image to visualize hard concepts.

创建者 Jennifer P

Aug 04, 2017

If it were just a little longer it would work to count as the Clinical Research requirement for the the IBLCE exam. I learned a lot but that was the real reason I took the class!

创建者 Dr. I A

Nov 24, 2017

This is a excellent first step in learning the basics of clinical research. I strongly recommend beginners like me to take this course before doing your own research work.

创建者 Mitali S

Aug 11, 2017

very informative

创建者 Fahad U

Jun 22, 2018

Excellent course for beginners!