Chevron Left
返回到 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics

学生对 开普敦大学 提供的 Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的评价和反馈

4.8
2,198 个评分
668 条评论

课程概述

If you’ve ever skipped over`the results section of a medical paper because terms like “confidence interval” or “p-value” go over your head, then you’re in the right place. You may be a clinical practitioner reading research articles to keep up-to-date with developments in your field or a medical student wondering how to approach your own research. Greater confidence in understanding statistical analysis and the results can benefit both working professionals and those undertaking research themselves. If you are simply interested in properly understanding the published literature or if you are embarking on conducting your own research, this course is your first step. It offers an easy entry into interpreting common statistical concepts without getting into nitty-gritty mathematical formulae. To be able to interpret and understand these concepts is the best way to start your journey into the world of clinical literature. That’s where this course comes in - so let’s get started! The course is free to enroll and take. You will be offered the option of purchasing a certificate of completion which you become eligible for, if you successfully complete the course requirements. This can be an excellent way of staying motivated! Financial Aid is also available....

热门审阅

AM
Dec 15, 2018

Klopper MD is a great teacher. There are other courses from another top universities about this topic, but I think this is my favourite. This the shortest in duration and most comprehensive among all.

LK
Jul 28, 2017

Great course!! it is gonna provide you a good foundation in clinical studies if you want to start your career in clinical research! Clear explanation and comprehensive case study! highly recommended!

筛选依据:

51 - Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics 的 75 个评论(共 662 个)

创建者 Owais A K

Apr 7, 2018

A wonderfully constructed, practically oriented course! The instruction is lucid, the flow of topics logical and the quizzes helpful for showcasing real-world application of the concepts taught. Would HIGHLY recommend it to all those interested in understanding the logic behind statistical analyses and tests. Thank you for a wonderful course experience Dr. Juan and the entire team!

创建者 Lipin A

May 20, 2020

Hello! It is an amazing course! After I completed it, I firstly repeatedly listen to some lectures on statistics from my previous courses. I really understand them more than earlier. I think that this course is really able to improve your current knowledge and understanding of statistical issues. So, the name of this course is absolutely correct. Thank you, Mr. Juan H. Klopper!

创建者 cindy w

Jun 27, 2018

I appreciate good framing of this course. In order to benefit reviewing of the key points of every lessions, the notes of key points are clearly summarized after each video presentation. The medical statistics is very complex for a new learner, I am very grateful to have the chance to join this lesson which perfect balances concise and exhaustive for understanding

创建者 Dominik B

Mar 27, 2019

Well-paced and easy to understand course on an important topic! I especially liked the way the assignements were done - tests were challenging and contained practical information, and peer review assignments let me try analyzing papers by myself. I would surely recommend the course to anyone interested in developing the knowledge about statistics in healthcare!

创建者 Cristóbal S R

Jun 1, 2020

I enjoyed a lot this course! I recommend it if you are interested in understand how clinical research works and how statistics are used. I think its for everyone because it is short but very well explained, what makes it really easy to stay motivated. Finally, this course actually made me comprehend those topics that I was struggling with, so im very grateful.

创建者 Daniel C

Feb 13, 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to statistics in clinical research. Dr. Klopper is clearly passionate about the subject. This is reflected in his engaging video lectures and the high quality of the material presented. I now have a much better understanding of the meaning behind commonly used statistical tests and variables in the medical literature.

创建者 Shivesh T

Jun 2, 2018

An excellent course to achieve a basic understanding of the statistics behind clinical research. This is a foundation course and will not be enough for you to fully grasp everything required to conduct and analyse your own research but it will serve as a sturdy stepping stone. I very much recommend this to anyone who is starting out in clinical research.

创建者 Wendy G N

May 6, 2020

Excellent course on understanding statistical concepts in a clear and precise manner. Thank you Dr. Klopper, you are an excellent tutor. The videos are short and precise, yet the following notes are comprehensive and this was very great because it gave me a chance to follow through the videos without rashing to take notes simultaneously. thanks again.

创建者 Mohammed G E

Mar 9, 2018

I think it was a very useful course to get a grasp on what's behind the 'Methods' and 'Statistical Analysis' sections that we read in published papers everyday. It would be even better if another 'advanced' course with similar scope is developed with more examples of real literature studies so the the picture can be even clearer. Thank you!

创建者 Dr. R

May 2, 2020

Excellent Course for the beginners. This course has changed the way I look at statistics from now on. Very precise explanation and Concise reading material. The Spreadsheet activities were so good. Ultimately the case studies and step by step explanation simply made us understand research better. Thank you for conducting this course.

创建者 Khurram S

Nov 4, 2018

It was an awesome experience. I had already a bit of statistical experience but wasn't confident enough. Now, i can go out there in to the world of Research with full confidence & perform a valid research. Anyone who wan't to dive in to basics of Research & statistics involved with it, this course is a MUST for them. Thanks Sir Juan!

创建者 Andrew B

Oct 21, 2020

For a new job I needed to refresh knowledge of medical statistics that had been very long neglected. I couldn't get myself motivated to plough through a textbook and instead gave this course a try - the first MOOC I have done. I was very pleased and the videos kept me engaged. I really appreciated Dr Klopper's enthusiasm, thanks.

创建者 Upasna G

Apr 14, 2020

This was a good course to give a basic overview of statistics used in clinical research. Now I have a sense of what exactly is happening under the methods section of articles. However, this is still too basic and to fully grasp research articles, one needs to take a more advanced course. But this is a great stepping stone for that!

创建者 Craig E

Jan 3, 2020

Dr. Klopper does a great job teaching these fundamental aspects of clinical research statistics. I particularly appreciated the shortness of the lectures, section quizzes with immediate feedback, notes provided, and flow of information. The course material was easy to follow and study, and I gained a lot from the course. Thank you!

创建者 Geoffrey

Mar 7, 2019

The course was presented with absolute perfection. It has enabled me to really understand the statistical elements of clinical research. The skills and knowledge attained will enable me to appreciate the statistical elements of publication more comprehensively. Thanks to Dr. Juan Klopper and the University of cape town team.

创建者 EMMANUEL B B

Oct 18, 2017

Great course content. Well elaborated and easy to understand even for non-science oriented students. It is an excellent starter for students wishing to pursue clinical research studies as it presents the important first steps for research. Thanks to you Dr Juan Klopper, the University of Cape Town, and the entire Coursera team.

创建者 Ahmed S A S S

Jul 3, 2018

Very organised course and clearly explain the basics of Statistics needed by Medical researchers. It doesn't get very deep in explaining the math behind the tests, however it gets you a good start for understanding the results section in any article you read. Any one who need to start medical research should go by this course.

创建者 Deepak S

May 10, 2020

Excellent course. Much needed start for my journey into the world of biostatistics. A topic I dreaded is now made easy to understand. Dr.Klopper was a class apart. Thank you Dr.Klopper. Classes are well spaced and not saturating at all. Notes are very clear, saves a lot of time and helps us focus better on the video lectures.

创建者 ARNAB D

Apr 27, 2020

This is a well designed course. Learned a lot and enjoyed too. Statistics which I learned with complicated mathematical equations at high school and graduate level, comparing statistics learned this way from clinical research and applied dimension was fun. Thank you Dr. Juan H Klopper for making statistics this easy.

创建者 Mara H

Apr 10, 2020

Provided a really good overview of what statistics are appropriate to use for specific research questions and data types, plus went over study design a bit. Broken up into short videos which really made it easy to follow the course material in between my other duties. I have recommended this course to others already.

创建者 UMAMAHESWARI M

Jun 7, 2020

This course is the one which i enjoyed studying statistics ..the content was truly an eyeopener to beginners for whom the term statistics is like greek and latin. Kudos to the Resource person for the enormous effort in designing self paced clinical scenarios which made this course learner friendly..

Thanks a tonne

创建者 Barbara J K

Aug 9, 2020

I am so glad I started my Coursera experience with Dr. Klopper. He is such a good teacher, and presents the material so well, that the learning experience was truly a valuable one. Understanding Clinical Research: Behind the Statistics was my first virtual class; there will be more. Thank you, Dr. Klopper!

创建者 Diana E V

Jul 1, 2016

This online course is one of the best I have enrolled so far. I paid for earning a certificate and it is worth the money. Some refreshers for statistics and also enables you to expand your knowledge about clinical trials in general. Highly recommended if you are just starting to learn about clinical research.

创建者 Eleanor L

Jun 6, 2016

An excellent introduction to (or refresher of) statistics that pertain to the clinical setting. The two peer-reviewed assignments were very valuable and interesting. My one complaint is that the videos are short, so some lessons are made up of many 2+ minute videos that need to be downloaded separately.

创建者 Meher C

Jul 29, 2020

It was an amazing course!! The concepts were very understandable so that a beginner (such as myself) can build a strong foundation about clinical research. I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone interested in clinical research (whether they be beginners or experts). Thank you Dr. Klopper!!