Chevron Left
返回到 临床试验的设计和解释

学生对 约翰霍普金斯大学 提供的 临床试验的设计和解释 的评价和反馈

4.7
stars
1,737 个评分
298 条评论

课程概述

Clinical trials are experiments designed to evaluate new interventions to prevent or treat disease in humans. The interventions evaluated can be drugs, devices (e.g., hearing aid), surgeries, behavioral interventions (e.g., smoking cessation program), community health programs (e.g. cancer screening programs) or health delivery systems (e.g., special care units for hospital admissions). We consider clinical trials experiments because the investigators rather than the patients or their doctors select the treatment the patients receive. Results from randomized clinical trials are usually considered the highest level of evidence for determining whether a treatment is effective because trials incorporates features to ensure that evaluation of the benefits and risks of treatments are objective and unbiased. The FDA requires that drugs or biologics (e.g., vaccines) are shown to be effective in clinical trials before they can be sold in the US. The course will explain the basic principles for design of randomized clinical trials and how they should be reported. In the first part of the course, students will be introduced to terminology used in clinical trials and the several common designs used for clinical trials, such as parallel and cross-over designs. We will also explain some of the mechanics of clinical trials, like randomization and blinding of treatment. In the second half of the course, we will explain how clinical trials are analyzed and interpreted. Finally, we will review the essential ethical consideration involved in conducting experiments on people....

热门审阅

JQ

Oct 26, 2019

Excellent beginner course on design and interpretation of clinical trials, complements a lot of what I reviewed on my classes and I would like to take a more advanced course on the topic. Thank you.

OS

Sep 19, 2019

This course would be most useful to the participant if pursued within a short time-frame, of maximum of 6 weeks. Both lecturers were clear and good communicators. I would take more of their classes.

筛选依据:

226 - 临床试验的设计和解释 的 250 个评论(共 291 个)

创建者 Takashi A M

Dec 18, 2016

This was a good introductory course into clinical trials, providing an overview of its principles, features and design. The lectures were good and clear, and the accompanying slides were just as useful. I will admit to being occasionally lost on certain concepts, especially with regards to those which would've normally been covered in the biostatistics class, as Ms. Drye mentioned once or twice -- after all, I believe this is a class which is probably offered in conjunction with others. That notwithstanding, I can now consider myself aptly familiar with clinical trials and what they entail, thanks to this course.

I will say, however, that having just 10 questions in the quiz is hardly neither exhaustive nor -- and I suppose this goes without saying -- a true test of a good grasp of the course. For instance, I'd read most of the supplemental material for Ethics (week 4) only to realize that that week's quiz could've been passed using common sense alone. I felt somewhat disappointed by that. And also, while one lecturer was very clear in her presentation and discourse, the other wasn't really; more often than not, I was confused by her sentences.

创建者 Simon V d b

Dec 15, 2017

The course was informative and fun, with helpful outlines of actual clinical trials to support the theory. While the length of some videos (a few are >30 minutes) might turn some people off, this did not turn out to be a problem as the course content was very engaging, at least to me. Following both the slides and the voice-over proved to be difficult, but fortunately they seem to completely overlap, so focusing on one is a valid approach The quiz quiestions were easy, sometimes to the point of being obvious, and perhaps the course would benefit from a more varied range of question types instead of just true/false questions. The discussion prompts, on the other hand, were very thought-provoking and challenged the learner to put what they learned into practice. They are easily the highlights of this course. Overall, quite an enjoyable experience.

创建者 Samarth P

Aug 23, 2019

When I started this course, I had no idea how important it is for me to understand what goes on in the background of clinical research and how important are the ethical considerations. Now, I think I have started developing a sense of clinical research. Being a general surgeon in India, this class has helped me a lot and I hope this will benefit me and my patients with their treatment selection. I thank the instructors of this course for making it looks so simple to understand.

创建者 EMMANUEL B B

Dec 09, 2017

Great course content. Well elaborated and easy to understand. It is an excellent starter for students wishing to pursue clinical research studies as it presents the important first steps for the design and interpretation of clinical trial research. Thanks to you Drs Janet Holbrook and Lea Drye, and The Johns Hopkins University, as well as the entire Coursera team.

创建者 Simon P

Nov 20, 2017

It was fine. Janet talked kind of slowly, but the option to increase the video speed made this a non-significant problem. The difficulty was fine for a newcomer to the field of clinical research, and I liked the use of examples. The examples did use a bit much repetition from previous info sections. Good course!

创建者 Akshay

Oct 22, 2016

Clear, precise and very interesting content. I am working with Clinical Trials for 18 month, this helped me to learn about the bigger picture.

Suggestion to Course creators: A module focussed on what is a Clinical Trial before we start with module 1 would be extremely helpful.

创建者 Sayandip M

Oct 23, 2019

A fantastic foundational course that covers all the essentials to understand and appreciate the design and interpretation of clinical trials. Lectures are succinct followed by really challenging quizzes which allows one to test his/her understanding of the subject matter.

创建者 Alexandre F G

Feb 23, 2017

Well done, very systematic and well selected, well structured, focused analysis supported by appropriate examples, definitions and discussions. Lectures are a little bit dry, but I guess this might be due in part to the nature of the subject! Thank you!

Alex Ginev

创建者 Shruti G

Jan 17, 2020

From this course, I learned a lot but many slides had way too much text and were difficult to read and listen to at the same time. more diagrams and flowcharts would be highly appreciated. Examples for different case scenarios were very helpful in learning.

创建者 mariella b l c

Mar 27, 2019

I'm very pleased with the design and interpretation of clinical trials course. It is well constructed and the lectures are interesting and focused.

I recomnend this course for those who want to gain some knownledge about this subject.

创建者 Nam N

Sep 19, 2019

This course provides me with valuable new knowledge about clinical trials. Although I had taught myself before, I still get various interesting points, e.g. types of trial designs, ITT analysis, etc. Thank you very much!

创建者 Toni R

Jun 29, 2019

Maybe the tests are a bit easy, apart from that the lectures are well defined and cover in detail the topics related to the course. The example trials are very well selected to understand the information of the lectures.

创建者 Chao W

Dec 08, 2017

Good explanations but the slides are quite static. When the lectuer refers something on the slide maybe they can consider also highlight on the slight, e.g. using animations, especially for complex tables?

创建者 Nina H P

Oct 04, 2016

The powerpoints and audio lectures are very clear and concise, much appreciated. I would also appreciate more exercises or reading materials, to help solidify our understanding of the topics.

创建者 MEENA R

Sep 20, 2016

The course clearly explains the concepts of clinical trials with great detail. The course was taught in a structured manner and helped me gain knowledge in this field.

创建者 lingjing

May 28, 2019

Excellent classes for beginners in the clinical trials.I learnt about basic knowledge, design points and constitutive interpretation for different kinds of trials~

创建者 Samuel K

Mar 04, 2018

Pitched at the right level as an introductory course. Having some exposure to clinical trials helps complete in a timely manner, but there's still a lot to learn

创建者 Mohammed M A

Sep 22, 2016

Good course but I hope if there are readings after each video to improve the understanding of information with more simplifying the content of ethics lesson.

创建者 Panagiotis A

Sep 22, 2017

The courses were well structured and included a lot of information. It would be more interesting if there were more participation in the discussion fora

创建者 Sofía B T

Mar 08, 2018

I liked it a lot, but I believe that assignments were easy, so I didn't needed to pay too much atention to the lectures to pass them.

创建者 tanujsapra

Jun 24, 2018

Good course for beginners. I would have liked it to be slightly longer - by a week or two - to cover more material. But still good.

创建者 Xiomara G

Aug 26, 2019

This course was very interesting a little hard that I had to do optional lectures to understand better, I passed the evaluation.

创建者 hussini

Jul 24, 2017

nice course .. excellent lecturer ... thanks very much i advice it for every one work in drug field especially in R&D department

创建者 VICTOR P G

Apr 07, 2016

This course has really helped me in my understanding and appreciation of how research should be conducted.

Thank You

创建者 Sissilx

Jul 07, 2016

Basically good. As I want to know the practical guidance of how to conduct a RCT, this course is not sufficient .