Chevron Left
返回到 Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure 的评价和反馈

4.2
626 个评分
138 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the first part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this first course we cover a multitude of technologies that comprise the modern concept of cloud computing. Cloud computing is an information technology revolution that has just started to impact many enterprise computing systems in major ways, and it will change the face of computing in the years to come. We start the first week by introducing some major concepts in cloud computing, the economics foundations of it and we introduce the concept of big data. We also cover the concept of software defined architectures, and how virtualization results in cloud infrastructure and how cloud service providers organize their offerings. In week two, we cover virtualization and containers with deeper focus, including lectures on Docker, JVM and Kubernates. We finish up week two by comparing the infrastructure as a service offering by the big three: Amazon, Google and Microsoft. Week three moves to higher level of cloud offering, including platform as a service, mobile backend as a service and even serverless architectures. We also talk about some of the cloud middleware technologies that are fundamental to cloud based applications such as RPC and REST, JSON and load balancing. Week three also covers metal as a service (MaaS), where physical machines are provisioned in a cloud environment. Week four introduces higher level cloud services with special focus on cloud storage services. We introduce Hive, HDFS and Ceph as pure Big Data Storage and file systems, and move on to cloud object storage systems, virtual hard drives and virtual archival storage options. As discussion on Dropbox cloud solution wraps up week 4 and the course....

热门审阅

SP

Feb 18, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses

UN

Apr 10, 2018

Understanding of this course will help you to know more about Cloud Computing and the technologies that drive Big Data

筛选依据:

101 - Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure 的 125 个评论(共 134 个)

创建者 Apeksha S

Jul 15, 2020

Good course but explanation could be better.A little more dive into detail and explain each point with diagrams would be of much help.

创建者 Daren T

Sep 28, 2016

Consider adding a programming assignment to the course curriculum. Please address content issues in a timely manner. Thank you.

创建者 Srinivasa R C

Jan 20, 2017

There should have been more examples and more use case and more applied rather than just a theoretical discussion

创建者 Anup K

Oct 20, 2017

Delivery of the lectures could be improved by additional real life examples.

Course is not well organized .

创建者 Dhiraj s

Jan 15, 2017

Highly recommended .Wonderful course and good content but a bit slow ..Could have been faster.

创建者 gaurav

Jul 11, 2019

Should include some progrmming assignment. Also, some practice on the real cloud.

创建者 Margerite B

Jan 29, 2018

Very theoretical course. Lots of information. For me it was a little bit to much.

创建者 ShiBo Z

Oct 04, 2016

Wish there will be some lab assignments, for example doing some real work on AWS.

创建者 Javier Y M

Apr 03, 2017

The content was interesting, but it was too much theory, sometimes a bit borring

创建者 Chau N

Jul 08, 2017

Lectures are a bit long, causing me to lose focus sometimes.

创建者 Iga R

Feb 15, 2019

interesting topics but explanation is sometimes unclear

创建者 Rakesh C

Jan 06, 2018

Good subject. The pace of the course is a little slow.

创建者 Aditya K

Aug 01, 2018

I would have loved less content and more deep dive.

创建者 Alex T

Jan 14, 2017

Not enough depth.

创建者 Ishrat T T

Jun 05, 2020

this is helpful,

创建者 Kevin R

Sep 02, 2016

This course is neither high level nor low level. After having taking Cloud Computing Concepts Part I and 2 (which were excellent), I expected a continuation of the very deep level of technical material. This course doesn't do this. Instead it is sort of much higher level except that the instructor fails to stay at the high level and will suddenly go deep - but without providing the detail so that someone to whom this is new will be totally lost. Given that I was expecting the technical depth of CCC parts 1 and 2, I already had much of the knowledge that was presented and could figure out what the instructor was trying to present, but I felt bad for someone who wasn't already familiar with the material. It is my opinion that the course needs to be taken offline and redone.

Note: Apparently I took a prior version of CCC parts 1 and 2 so my comments on those two courses may or may not apply anymore.

创建者 Yaron K

Aug 27, 2017

A list of Cloud technologies and Services, but without use-cases *clearly* highlighting the differences between them, their relative strengths and limitations and explaining what should be used when [except for the various Amazon storage offerings]. Gave it two stars and not one because the lecturers are enthusiastic about the subject matter and they did try to give use-cases.

创建者 Chuxing C

Sep 09, 2016

Coming out from two very good predecessors (C3, parts 1&2), this course is somewhat a disappointment. The contents are too broad without real focused depth, and too much time spent on background info in almost all lectures. There ought to be more hands-on practices, and the assessments should be more challenging towards understanding, rather than matching terms.

创建者 Julien L

Apr 09, 2020

Disappointing. Not at all the quality of the two first courses of this specialization. The course content/materials seem to have been done too quickly. No practical assignment. I dont recommend this course.

创建者 Gideon P

Jan 26, 2018

The teachers were just reading off of slides, quizzes were passable without ever watching the content, course followed no structure.

创建者 Suresh V

Jun 16, 2019

I am disappointed with this course. The course content was designed and developed in a hurry as it seems to me.

创建者 Olivier D

Nov 22, 2016

Interresting, but too easy to understand. Not much details. Very easy course, but you won't learn a lot.

创建者 Anton T

May 06, 2018

Too vague. Hard to understand applicability and required environment for presented technologies.

创建者 Amar P R

Oct 13, 2016

It tries to cover a lot of ground. Lack of some practical tasks.

创建者 Zhaoyang L

Jun 09, 2019

Like Wikipedia on some popular cloud products.