Chevron Left
返回到 Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure 的评价和反馈

4.2
671 个评分
150 条评论

课程概述

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the first part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this first course we cover a multitude of technologies that comprise the modern concept of cloud computing. Cloud computing is an information technology revolution that has just started to impact many enterprise computing systems in major ways, and it will change the face of computing in the years to come. We start the first week by introducing some major concepts in cloud computing, the economics foundations of it and we introduce the concept of big data. We also cover the concept of software defined architectures, and how virtualization results in cloud infrastructure and how cloud service providers organize their offerings. In week two, we cover virtualization and containers with deeper focus, including lectures on Docker, JVM and Kubernates. We finish up week two by comparing the infrastructure as a service offering by the big three: Amazon, Google and Microsoft. Week three moves to higher level of cloud offering, including platform as a service, mobile backend as a service and even serverless architectures. We also talk about some of the cloud middleware technologies that are fundamental to cloud based applications such as RPC and REST, JSON and load balancing. Week three also covers metal as a service (MaaS), where physical machines are provisioned in a cloud environment. Week four introduces higher level cloud services with special focus on cloud storage services. We introduce Hive, HDFS and Ceph as pure Big Data Storage and file systems, and move on to cloud object storage systems, virtual hard drives and virtual archival storage options. As discussion on Dropbox cloud solution wraps up week 4 and the course....

热门审阅

SP
Feb 17, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses

GX
Oct 22, 2020

Basic understanding of benchmark skills of Cloud Computing. If could share the combined slides of different lectures, could be better!

筛选依据:

101 - Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure 的 125 个评论(共 146 个)

创建者 Dr S S - P

Aug 12, 2020

Good

创建者 Philip O O

Mar 22, 2018

Good

创建者 Manasvi N

Apr 22, 2019

-

创建者 Niels R

Jul 7, 2018

This course provides a lot of poorly structured information in quick succession. You're bombarded with acronyms and technical designations without recaps of what they stood for. At the end of each weekly session there is a very short quiz with questions that are weakly related to the course content and have subjective answers like "which application is best for purpose X". You can complete the quizes easily by retrying and won't typically come away from them feeling like you understood all of the material, let alone were able to prove that you did. It's kind of a worst of both world situation where the provided material is challenging, but the examination is not and you end up with a certificate that really doesn't stand for anything.

创建者 Miklós A R

Jul 16, 2017

The content is very good, the course gives a wide overview on the topics. On the other hand for me it was a bit slow and found many repetitions in the course videos, the exams could have been harder and could have helped to deepen understanding a bit more. I was lacking the programming assignments, as well.

创建者 Amit P

Feb 9, 2019

The course covers lots of areas and you hear lots of keywords. But it doesn't cover any of the aspects in depth. For me it was very basic course and having some practical aspects would have made it a much interesting course.

创建者 Alexandre C

Jun 12, 2018

I think that some topics were handled a bit too superficially, obviously we can dig for more information, but I was expecting a little bit more, considering that I really liked the previous courses on the track.

创建者 Katsiaryna S

Oct 31, 2016

This course is ok, but it gives only high level overview of cloud technologies. I will do the second part, but I will do a free version. I don't think that it's worse this money.

创建者 AJ C

Jul 13, 2019

Relevant topics, bad lectures. Lots of Jargon, not enough context. Went straight into "how" technologies work without properly explaining why technologies were needed.

创建者 Michael M

Jun 7, 2018

There are very small quizzes in the course, few examples, and unavailable background for old technologies. I have completed this course only for specialization.

创建者 Apeksha S

Jul 15, 2020

Good course but explanation could be better.A little more dive into detail and explain each point with diagrams would be of much help.

创建者 Daren T

Sep 27, 2016

Consider adding a programming assignment to the course curriculum. Please address content issues in a timely manner. Thank you.

创建者 Srinivasa R C

Jan 19, 2017

There should have been more examples and more use case and more applied rather than just a theoretical discussion

创建者 Anup K

Oct 20, 2017

Delivery of the lectures could be improved by additional real life examples.

Course is not well organized .

创建者 Dhiraj s

Jan 15, 2017

Highly recommended .Wonderful course and good content but a bit slow ..Could have been faster.

创建者 gaurav

Jul 11, 2019

Should include some progrmming assignment. Also, some practice on the real cloud.

创建者 Margerite B

Jan 29, 2018

Very theoretical course. Lots of information. For me it was a little bit to much.

创建者 ShiBo Z

Oct 4, 2016

Wish there will be some lab assignments, for example doing some real work on AWS.

创建者 Javier Y M

Apr 3, 2017

The content was interesting, but it was too much theory, sometimes a bit borring

创建者 Chau N

Jul 7, 2017

Lectures are a bit long, causing me to lose focus sometimes.

创建者 Iga R

Feb 15, 2019

interesting topics but explanation is sometimes unclear

创建者 Rakesh C

Jan 6, 2018

Good subject. The pace of the course is a little slow.

创建者 Aditya K

Jul 31, 2018

I would have loved less content and more deep dive.

创建者 Alex T

Jan 14, 2017

Not enough depth.

创建者 Ishrat T T

Jun 5, 2020

this is helpful,