Chevron Left
返回到 Cloud Computing Applications, Part 2: Big Data and Applications in the Cloud

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Cloud Computing Applications, Part 2: Big Data and Applications in the Cloud 的评价和反馈

4.2
192 个评分
32 个审阅

课程概述

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the second part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this second course we continue Cloud Computing Applications by exploring how the Cloud opens up data analytics of huge volumes of data that are static or streamed at high velocity and represent an enormous variety of information. Cloud applications and data analytics represent a disruptive change in the ways that society is informed by, and uses information. We start the first week by introducing some major systems for data analysis including Spark and the major frameworks and distributions of analytics applications including Hortonworks, Cloudera, and MapR. By the middle of week one we introduce the HDFS distributed and robust file system that is used in many applications like Hadoop and finish week one by exploring the powerful MapReduce programming model and how distributed operating systems like YARN and Mesos support a flexible and scalable environment for Big Data analytics. In week two, our course introduces large scale data storage and the difficulties and problems of consensus in enormous stores that use quantities of processors, memories and disks. We discuss eventual consistency, ACID, and BASE and the consensus algorithms used in data centers including Paxos and Zookeeper. Our course presents Distributed Key-Value Stores and in memory databases like Redis used in data centers for performance. Next we present NOSQL Databases. We visit HBase, the scalable, low latency database that supports database operations in applications that use Hadoop. Then again we show how Spark SQL can program SQL queries on huge data. We finish up week two with a presentation on Distributed Publish/Subscribe systems using Kafka, a distributed log messaging system that is finding wide use in connecting Big Data and streaming applications together to form complex systems. Week three moves to fast data real-time streaming and introduces Storm technology that is used widely in industries such as Yahoo. We continue with Spark Streaming, Lambda and Kappa architectures, and a presentation of the Streaming Ecosystem. Week four focuses on Graph Processing, Machine Learning, and Deep Learning. We introduce the ideas of graph processing and present Pregel, Giraph, and Spark GraphX. Then we move to machine learning with examples from Mahout and Spark. Kmeans, Naive Bayes, and fpm are given as examples. Spark ML and Mllib continue the theme of programmability and application construction. The last topic we cover in week four introduces Deep Learning technologies including Theano, Tensor Flow, CNTK, MXnet, and Caffe on Spark....

热门审阅

UN

Apr 10, 2018

My understanding of Big Data technologies was really enhanced by this course. I have decided to pursue more of these underlying technologies after this course. Good job

MS

Nov 27, 2017

Very good introduction of application concepts of cloud data computing. Thank You!

筛选依据:

1 - Cloud Computing Applications, Part 2: Big Data and Applications in the Cloud 的 25 个评论(共 30 个)

创建者 Kumar A D

Sep 02, 2017

This course is only informative. It provides good information of current big data technology and tool. It would be good if course also provide some assignment to complete so that course gives some hands on on technology.

创建者 Manasvi N

May 02, 2019

-

创建者 Austin Z

Apr 26, 2019

Much better than Part 1. This course mostly shows the applications of the topics covered in the Cloud Computing Concepts course using the popular tools from when this course was recorded. There is a decent amount of redundant material from course overlap and this course could be made more concise, but there is still a decent amount of new material. You can probably pass most of the quizzes from knowledge gained in the other course though.

创建者 Joseph K

Mar 30, 2019

This is amazing

创建者 shashank

Nov 14, 2018

Great for learning

创建者 KimManSoo

Oct 05, 2018

good

创建者 Aditya K

Sep 05, 2018

Again, too much theory. More exercises needed.

创建者 Michael M

Jun 19, 2018

There are very small quizzes in this course. First two parts were much more better and more interesting

创建者 Eduardo B L

Jun 12, 2018

The content is quite complete and challenging.

创建者 Ricardo O P d T

Apr 16, 2018

The course is good, gives you an overview of many important technologies, although the last module is too superficial.

创建者 Uche N

Apr 10, 2018

My understanding of Big Data technologies was really enhanced by this course. I have decided to pursue more of these underlying technologies after this course. Good job

创建者 Shiva B

Mar 19, 2018

Good overview and jumping off points to go explore more. Great that a lot of tool sets were exposed to us. A list of all these tool sets in a document would be handy.

创建者 Mahendra S

Nov 27, 2017

Very good introduction of application concepts of cloud data computing. Thank You!

创建者 Yaron K

Aug 27, 2017

Introduces major Big data technologies and products and their use-cases. There are some "rough edges" as this course has clearly been built from videos from former courses, and as usual with Coursera - there are numerous errors in the subtitles/transcripts, Problematic if you're deaf or find following spoken English difficult. Still - the lecturers are very enthusiastic and you can see that they really tried hard to explain the Big data technologies - so 4 stars rounded to 5.

创建者 Nishant S

Aug 09, 2017

The course was focused too much on theory. It didn't have any programming assignments, which made the course less interesting.

创建者 Miklós A R

Jul 16, 2017

The content is very good, the course gives a wide overview on the topics. On the other hand for me it was a bit slow and found many repetitions in the course videos, the exams could have been harder and could have helped to deepen understanding a bit more. I was lacking the programming assignments, as well.

创建者 Murat K

Jul 05, 2017

Great course!

创建者 Gil S

Jun 21, 2017

course content is good, but the lectures are monotonous and put you to sleep.

创建者 Patrick S

Jun 20, 2017

This course is really useful to get an overview of the cloud technologies if you are ether curious know what's out there, or if you are trying to determine which technologies you should focus on for the problem you are trying to solve. I believe the course is a lot more relevant if you tried out some cloud framework (i.e. play with one of the Docker or Vagrant VM demos)

The lecturers are clear, and the audio and slides are of good quality. One of the most valuable pieces of information from this course (that you cannot easily discern from reading documentation on each framework) is how the lectures link strengths or weaknesses in a technology or algorithm to its inner-workings.

One small nitpick is that the quiz questions could be improved. A lot of them is regurgitation of definitions (or regurgitation of the order of bullet points in a slide somewhere), rather than analytical style questions that require the user to think of the concepts. The end result is that the quizzes are very easy but not valuable. I assume this course had assignments before, but they appear to have been removed.

创建者 Michał M

May 02, 2017

I've already written a review for part 1 and I have the same opinion about this one. The course is rather poor and not challenging. Only general information about relevant topics that as well read on wikipedia. No exercises, no code assignments. A lot of this content was repeated from first two parts of this specialization.

创建者 cong w

Apr 15, 2017

good course. I hope it can contain more contents.

创建者 Jörg S

Mar 15, 2017

Quizzes are trivial. Makes the certification worthless.

Prof. Campbell is not a good lecturer.

The topics are treated mostly superficially, then suddenly go into too much detail sometimes (how to use IntelliJ IDEA, machine learning).

Subtitles are very buggy.

I enjoyed Mr. Farivar's talks much more, it seems like he knows what he is talking about and his presentations are well structured.

创建者 Alex T

Jan 22, 2017

Not enough depth. Put another way not a CS course.

创建者 SUDHANSHU S

Dec 18, 2016

Better understanding of latest technology

创建者 Vinh Q T

Dec 04, 2016

good practical materials which help to better understand the theories from previous courses