Chevron Left
返回到 Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 的评价和反馈

4.5
831 个评分
200 条评论

课程概述

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

热门审阅

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

DP

Oct 07, 2016

This instructor is fantastic. He is exceptionally thorough and his delivery is very good as well. This is a course definitely worth taking if you are interested in learning more about the cloud.

筛选依据:

176 - Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 的 194 个评论(共 194 个)

创建者 Darren

Dec 18, 2017

It's too difficult to me. But the interview is good

创建者 David C

Mar 30, 2018

This course is totally not for the beginner, even you pass the prerequisite with 100% score easily.

I understand the distributed algorithms could be hard, but the instructor didn't seem to teach in a beginner-friendly way, he just read the PPT without emphasis. In my opinion, this course should just be a little harder than the Algorithm course. (BTW, I couldn't find another alternative yet, maybe other people could suggest.)

Just as lots of other reviewers mentioned, the C++ Gossip assignment is really a mess for a non-C++-expert, even you are an experienced non-C++ programmer.

Hope I could pass this course after I gain lots of insights from other places in the future.

创建者 Zihao C

Jul 21, 2019

Actually this course contains decent material, as long as you don't pay for homework and programming assignment. The homework and final test ask about very detail of a concret implementation, instead of some concept or idea. When it comes to vector timestamp/unicast/multicast, the cases presented in the tests and homeworks are presented in an unnecessarily complicated way. Also the starting code in the programming assignment is written in a bad way, both in codeing style and design decision, and takes you more time to get started with it.

Basically I like the course content. But I won't recommend you to pay for the homework/programming assignment.

创建者 Vitaliy G

Aug 06, 2016

The course is not for beginners and WinForm lovers. This is real re-branding yourself. I would say path to reborn to what real open source world is living in. Low or no help from course instructor, community or google. Course comes in huge amount of concentrated videos. 7 hardest assignments. I would give up on the beginning but commitment is top of all. I respect anyone who has completed.

创建者 Mark S B

Nov 28, 2016

Course lectures don't seem to match up with the questions on the quiz. It is also not clear if the typed in answers are not read by the program correctly or if the answers do not match what the instructor is looking for, in any case the 3 weeks quiz is very difficult to figure out.

创建者 Tushar G

Sep 02, 2018

The response time at discussion forums are disappointing! It'd be helpful, if Mentors could be prompt at resolving doubts. Moreover, I felt that the programming assignment was poorly documented.

创建者 Qiankun X

Jun 22, 2016

the test is terrible and teacher is just reading the ppt. boring

创建者 Yiqing L

Feb 26, 2020

very hard

创建者 John S

Mar 20, 2020

Thought it was a waste of my time- made it halfway and quit, Primarily because what is covered in the lectures doesnt give you enough answers to pass the homework quiz - you can ace the knowledge checks in the lecture and fail the homework miserably.

Also, the instructor to be a bit unfocused - he only read the slides. The homework it was maddening. Much of what was in the homework was never covered in the course. For example in Homework 3 there are 4 or 5 questions about Ternary trees in Gnutella which is NEVER mentioned in the lectures.

I thought this might be a useful course but it turned out to be highly theoretical focused on the details about things like detailed approaches to Peer to Peer (which might be useful in context but seemed to be better served in a Cloud Computing Theory class.

创建者 Anthony B

Dec 31, 2019

Overall it was a terrible course. The overly simplistic examples in the lectures didn't prepare you for the weekly quizes. The programming assignment was a huge waste of time dealing with poorly within C/C++ code, famish instructions and memory handling like it was the 90' and very little with cloud base algorithm or logic. I saw the same complains over and over for the last three years on the forums and that were for most of it ignored. Where is the professor? A very poor publicity for the University of Illinois

创建者 Ayoub M

Sep 23, 2016

The slides are unclear and very very ugly and old style.

The assignment is very specific to Linux based machine.

Only one programming assignment.

More theory than practices.

The QCMs don't really help understand. They are just about remembering values.

I woudn't recommande this course since it is more like a book then it is like a course.

创建者 Prabhat S

Jun 11, 2018

This course was a time wasting struggle. The instructor is not available for any kind of help. The course lectures need to be in sync with what is being asked in the weekly quiz. Instructor really needs to be available for help.

创建者 Anik

Jun 09, 2018

Extremely boring with lots of academic stuffs. I am totally disappointed. Even the instructior fails to make the course interactive. The course materials are not good enough.

创建者 Margherita S

Jan 25, 2017

Too much technical. I would have preferred high level generic concepts. Also, the exercises were quite tricky for a beginner.

创建者 Judy M

Dec 31, 2019

This is not what I thought it was going to be. I don't care about big ) notation, etc.

创建者 Alejandro A N

Dec 16, 2017

Too technical and not really learning the overall picture.

创建者 ahmed-sillah

Jul 03, 2018

it really hard

创建者 Muhammad S M

Nov 27, 2019

Poor Teaching

创建者 paramala D

Jun 23, 2016

best infor