Chevron Left
返回到 Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 的评价和反馈

4.4
901 个评分
223 条评论

课程概述

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

热门审阅

VT

Aug 22, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR

Jul 16, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

筛选依据:

176 - Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 的 200 个评论(共 215 个)

创建者 nikhil n

Nov 09, 2016

Nice Course with Nice Tasks.

创建者 Weidong X

Sep 08, 2019

Great course.

创建者 Nguyen Q L

May 23, 2019

Good Course !

创建者 THOMAS V

Jan 14, 2019

Comprehensive

创建者 Patrick S

Jun 04, 2017

High quality lectures are brought down by a terrible programming assignment and unresponsiveness by staff regarding the assignment.

The professor has very good step-by-step explanations of the algorithms as well as detailed notes. Although it may seem abstract or unrelated, the content is very relevant to the state of cloud computing.

...now to the assignment... The assignment has unclear instructions, a bad C++ (not 11) code template that can even prevent you from running the code due to hard-coded buffer sizes and not actually using sizeof() properly, and a lot of the ugly code is in regions you are not allowed to modify. Expect to spend more time ( > 3x as much) trying to figure out the template than actually trying to apply the concepts of the course.

创建者 Nandhini

Jul 08, 2017

The course was very interesting and the assignment was good.

I had trouble submitting the assignment though I finished it a month back. The submission was tougher than the assignment and the course itself. I have only windows OS, and the assignment materials are for Linux and Mac users. I had to use Cygwin to compile and run grader script. Submission didn't work from cygwin. I would have rated this course 5 if not for the trouble that I encountered for submitting the assignment.

创建者 Keerthana S K

Jun 22, 2020

This course content covers lot of diverse topics but I would prefer the explanation to be more comprehensive and in depth so that a beginner can understand the big picture as well as the details more vividly.The assignment was pretty good which creates a good learning curve in C++(especially pointers) and understanding of the one of the most important concepts in cloud computing.

创建者 Roman P

Apr 29, 2020

Too bad the final exercise is in C++, and not even in the modern C++ with smart pointers and other improvements. Makes you spend more time on the language issues than on the cloud computing algorithms.

创建者 Rachana N A

Dec 03, 2016

The concepts are explained very well. The only issue was the Programming assignment, which could have been more descriptive. Also, they could've given us the option of choosing a programming language.

创建者 Tao Z

Feb 26, 2017

The course contents are composed of some superficial concepts of cloud computing. And the code framework for programing assignment written in c++ is probably the worst kind of code I've ever seen.

创建者 Patrick B

Apr 24, 2020

The course is interesting, however, advanced templated C++ code is far too heavy for most. I've dropped the class as I'm not even going to attempt the assignments after viewing the first one.

创建者 Bingqing M

Sep 24, 2018

I do like the material and lectures but the huge problem is there is no TA or platform like Piazza to ask questions. I think it would be nice to just have a TA or advisor to answer questions

创建者 Ben N

Jul 08, 2018

This is not about cloud computing but distributed systems. Feels like a bait and switch. This is not what I was looking to learn (because I've already done that!)

创建者 HUANG Z

Apr 28, 2020

I think the lecturer should not just "reading" the PPT. And the subtitle should not contain those words representing lecturer's sound ( e.g. uh).

创建者 Darko C

Sep 15, 2019

Homeworks are too much work, Proving that you know concepts should be done few times, not 5 times for each one.

创建者 Aman S

Jul 06, 2018

Nice overview of all the cloud concepts but lags in difficulty level for beginners

创建者 Raul K

Dec 08, 2017

It is alright. I was expecting some higher quality though. I do not recommend it.

创建者 mogahed m k y

Mar 22, 2020

I don't have more time to study but it will be in future

创建者 Darren

Dec 18, 2017

It's too difficult to me. But the interview is good

创建者 Srini

Jul 19, 2020

Some content is legacy.

创建者 Luis C

Jun 18, 2020

I would not recommend this course. Weekly tests are too long and the programming assignment is absurdly difficult.

The course is very interesting as an introduction to Cloud Computing. You learn many concepts related to distributed systems and several protocols on them. Theory and practice are balanced, including practical exercises in the weekly tests and a programming assignment.

However, the weekly tests are very hard from week 3 on, having to spend 1-2 hours to finish them as you need paper to do some drawings. The programming assignment is very difficult, unfair and purposeless. The template is written in C++ and it is not very helpful. You spend 80% dealing with C++ issues rather than learning the protocol concepts. I think you get the whole idea of the protocols without having to spend more than 20 hours creating such a complicated program. Many people didn't complete the course just for not being able to finish the program.

创建者 David C

Mar 30, 2018

This course is totally not for the beginner, even you pass the prerequisite with 100% score easily.

I understand the distributed algorithms could be hard, but the instructor didn't seem to teach in a beginner-friendly way, he just read the PPT without emphasis. In my opinion, this course should just be a little harder than the Algorithm course. (BTW, I couldn't find another alternative yet, maybe other people could suggest.)

Just as lots of other reviewers mentioned, the C++ Gossip assignment is really a mess for a non-C++-expert, even you are an experienced non-C++ programmer.

Hope I could pass this course after I gain lots of insights from other places in the future.

创建者 Zihao C

Jul 21, 2019

Actually this course contains decent material, as long as you don't pay for homework and programming assignment. The homework and final test ask about very detail of a concret implementation, instead of some concept or idea. When it comes to vector timestamp/unicast/multicast, the cases presented in the tests and homeworks are presented in an unnecessarily complicated way. Also the starting code in the programming assignment is written in a bad way, both in codeing style and design decision, and takes you more time to get started with it.

Basically I like the course content. But I won't recommend you to pay for the homework/programming assignment.

创建者 Vitaliy G

Aug 06, 2016

The course is not for beginners and WinForm lovers. This is real re-branding yourself. I would say path to reborn to what real open source world is living in. Low or no help from course instructor, community or google. Course comes in huge amount of concentrated videos. 7 hardest assignments. I would give up on the beginning but commitment is top of all. I respect anyone who has completed.

创建者 Mark S B

Nov 28, 2016

Course lectures don't seem to match up with the questions on the quiz. It is also not clear if the typed in answers are not read by the program correctly or if the answers do not match what the instructor is looking for, in any case the 3 weeks quiz is very difficult to figure out.