Chevron Left
返回到 Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 的评价和反馈

4.4
1,014 个评分
255 条评论

课程概述

Cloud computing systems today, whether open-source or used inside companies, are built using a common set of core techniques, algorithms, and design philosophies – all centered around distributed systems. Learn about such fundamental distributed computing "concepts" for cloud computing. Some of these concepts include: clouds, MapReduce, key-value/NoSQL stores, classical distributed algorithms, widely-used distributed algorithms, scalability, trending areas, and much, much more! Know how these systems work from the inside out. Get your hands dirty using these concepts with provided homework exercises. In the programming assignments, implement some of these concepts in template code (programs) provided in the C++ programming language. Prior experience with C++ is required. The course also features interviews with leading researchers and managers, from both industry and academia....

热门审阅

VT

Aug 21, 2016

Very useful course. It built my Cloud Computing basis from scratch. Fisrt course gives me the enthusiasm to start the later ones. A good place for studying and sharing with course mates. Thank you!

MR

Jul 15, 2017

Great course, I would recommend to everyone who wants to understand the basics of cloud computing. The course material is excellent, the instructor Indy is phenomenal and the exams are marvelous.

筛选依据:

26 - Cloud Computing Concepts, Part 1 的 50 个评论(共 247 个)

创建者 Carmine L

Jul 25, 2017

The lessons are a bit boring, an interactive blackboard or animated examples could help.

创建者 Aman S

Jul 6, 2018

Nice overview of all the cloud concepts but lags in difficulty level for beginners

创建者 ViciOs

Jul 26, 2017

这人说话总是爱绕弯,也可能是我英语太差,听他这些停顿,无数多的从句感觉很头疼。

创建者 Rui P

Aug 9, 2021

The lectures are amazing, I love Indy, but I have three very big issues with this course as listed below. Otherwise, this is an overall good class!

(1) The design of the quizzes. It is really difficult for students without an ipad to work on some of the problems (with figures) because first, coursera does not support printing the quizzes using chrome, so most if not all of the graphs need to be hand-copied on paper, and second, the questions change across attempts, so they use different figures, and therefore students need to spend a whole lot of extra time on copying the figures and re-doing the calculations. If I were to redesign the course, I would have used a fixed set of figures, but different questions, for each attempt. (2) The design of the final project is very poor. A lot of the feedback can be seen in the forum. IMO, it requires a significant re-design. (3) The forums are not being monitored by the instructors, and not a lot of people take this class, so it's really difficult to get valuable feedback from the instructors and my peers.

创建者 Luis C

Jun 18, 2020

I would not recommend this course. Weekly tests are too long and the programming assignment is absurdly difficult.

The course is very interesting as an introduction to Cloud Computing. You learn many concepts related to distributed systems and several protocols on them. Theory and practice are balanced, including practical exercises in the weekly tests and a programming assignment.

However, the weekly tests are very hard from week 3 on, having to spend 1-2 hours to finish them as you need paper to do some drawings. The programming assignment is very difficult, unfair and purposeless. The template is written in C++ and it is not very helpful. You spend 80% dealing with C++ issues rather than learning the protocol concepts. I think you get the whole idea of the protocols without having to spend more than 20 hours creating such a complicated program. Many people didn't complete the course just for not being able to finish the program.

创建者 caleb T

Mar 21, 2021

The programming assignment is a disaster.

创建者 John S

Mar 19, 2020

Thought it was a waste of my time- made it halfway and quit, Primarily because what is covered in the lectures doesnt give you enough answers to pass the homework quiz - you can ace the knowledge checks in the lecture and fail the homework miserably.

Also, the instructor to be a bit unfocused - he only read the slides. The homework it was maddening. Much of what was in the homework was never covered in the course. For example in Homework 3 there are 4 or 5 questions about Ternary trees in Gnutella which is NEVER mentioned in the lectures.

I thought this might be a useful course but it turned out to be highly theoretical focused on the details about things like detailed approaches to Peer to Peer (which might be useful in context but seemed to be better served in a Cloud Computing Theory class.

创建者 Anthony B

Dec 31, 2019

Overall it was a terrible course. The overly simplistic examples in the lectures didn't prepare you for the weekly quizes. The programming assignment was a huge waste of time dealing with poorly within C/C++ code, famish instructions and memory handling like it was the 90' and very little with cloud base algorithm or logic. I saw the same complains over and over for the last three years on the forums and that were for most of it ignored. Where is the professor? A very poor publicity for the University of Illinois

创建者 Bryan Y

Aug 11, 2021

T​he course material is high level, which is perfect for an entry level course. The Part 1 programming assignment in C++ is non-realistic for a beginner. In the forums, some have recommend other courses of up to 40 hrs of C++ as a refresher or intro. I'm a non-programmer, but can code. Not at this level for an entry level course. Sadly, 1-star until the course can be updated with realistic goals and content for an entry level student looking to learn cloud.

创建者 Prabhat S

Jun 11, 2018

This course was a time wasting struggle. The instructor is not available for any kind of help. The course lectures need to be in sync with what is being asked in the weekly quiz. Instructor really needs to be available for help.

创建者 José L F P

Oct 12, 2020

No adecuate to get business oriented knowledge. All theoretical and academical teaching.

创建者 Nalini A

Jun 28, 2017

A thorough conceptual overview of cloud computing, distributed systems and peer-to-peer systems and the way they function in failure-ridden circumstances. The course gives a holistic view of the various factors and considerations that go into the design and operation of large scale distributed systems involving thousand of discrete computers over an expansive and unreliable network. The course requires good knowledge of C++ in order to complete the programming assignment. The quizzes and homework are mildly challenging and require patience to carefully work out the problems but the programming assignment is the one that will take the largest time commitment and it helps to get started early with it.

创建者 Sunder R

Aug 13, 2017

The course is very well laid out. Prof. Gupta has a very clear voice and is easy to follow. The tests at the end of each chapter are non trivial and really ensure you understood the concepts thoroughly. The course is fairly old (2012?), for a rapidly developing field like cloud computing, I imagine several portions of the course are probably out of date. I suggest the relevant portions of the course be updated periodically. Even if the course is not entirely revised, at a minimum add an extra section highlighting the new changes.

创建者 Ruurd M

Sep 22, 2016

The course teaches a lot of core concepts of distributed systems (clouds included). The content is well delivered and the homework reflects the material very well. The homework is appropriately tough.

There is an optional programming assignment for setting up a distributed network of nodes with failure detection. I learned a lot about gossip based information spreading while doing the exercise. That said, the assignment is not clearly explained and it is hard to get started.

Overall I did enjoy the course and learned a great deal.

创建者 Edwin B

Aug 26, 2018

The presentations are very good, some of the best I've seen in a video lecture series. With this in mind, there were lectures where I felt a bit more explanation would have helped me. For those I found additional external resources.

I enjoyed the programming assignment; but, the assignment uses too many different ways of storing the address. One consistent way should be chosen between the Node / Emulation Layer / Member, preferably a non-char packed approach (unless the address is always handled as a plain text string).

创建者 Jerzy K

Nov 17, 2018

Great course overall, personally I've especially liked the programming assignment! It's not production quality code for sure, but it was fun to implement, although if you don't have C++ experience, then it can be difficult.

The homework quizzes were hard, especially in the final weeks, and required retrying multiple times at some points — but it's definitely worth it, since the difficulty helps with gaining better understanding.

创建者 Pablo T

Jun 9, 2016

The material is covered in depth and clearly, the content is very current while still covering the historic origins and the development of the current state fo the art. It comes with evaluations that are not aimed towards memorization, but rather towards understanding the subject. As a cherry on top, they allow you to take a verified certificate towards credit on the Masters degree.

创建者 Girish C

Jun 12, 2016

Cloud computing course provides an overview of the concepts of distributed processing. The algorithms behind real world distributed applications are well explained. The video lectures and quiz questions on various distributed protocols provide insights into the working of these systems. Highly recommended. Thanks Prof. Indranil Gupta and the Coursera community!!

创建者 Vaibhav A

Feb 25, 2018

The course was quite enjoyable, I love the assignment part I wish it was in Java. Struggled with the C++ memory manipulation part of the algorithm which was nothing to do with the actual implementation, having not coded in C++ over a decade was reason for the struggle. Overall all quizzes and final assignment was both challenging and enjoyable.

创建者 chace

Apr 3, 2020

Perfect! The professor explain concept clearly and easy to understand. The course cover the concept and the real product in industry, so you will not be boring. The programming assignment is interesting, and it's really a challenge for me as my poor C++ :( . It take me almost 12 hours to finish the programming assignment.

创建者 Esteban L

Nov 14, 2018

Excellent course. I'm looking forward to continuing in this specialization.

Do read the description of the course carefully before starting. It is not for beginners. However, if you can program in C or C++ and have a solid computer science background (Bachelor's degree or equivalent), this course will be quite easy.

创建者 Bhuvan A

Jul 6, 2020

Was looking for MOOC to start learning about Distributed Systems/Cloud Computing. After completing this course and going through the readings suggested, feel its a good start and i got an insight into the foundation concepts/primitives that make distributed systems work. Highly recommend this course!

创建者 Hugo G

Apr 15, 2017

Everything was really well explained, quizzes are hard as they need to be, but not impossible and the instructor has a really good personality.

The only "bad" thing was the programming assigment. It was really hard (but again, possible) and the specifications were poor.

In general, a five star course.

创建者 jingjing L

Jun 29, 2016

a very good course for cloud study. the content is colorful , a lot of examples to support deep understanding of the concepts. The biggest drawback is that maybe there can be some small programming assignment after each week's course. And the standard answers of the Week5 quizz have some bugs.

创建者 Monika S

Dec 10, 2016

The course is worthwhile. The instructor explained the concept clearly in engaging way that I rarely found on Coursera. The most I liked is the design of assignments. As well as, it has some interviews of academics and professionals which shapes your thoughts very well.