Chevron Left
返回到 Combinatorics and Probability

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Combinatorics and Probability 的评价和反馈

4.6
724 个评分
158 条评论

课程概述

Counting is one of the basic mathematically related tasks we encounter on a day to day basis. The main question here is the following. If we need to count something, can we do anything better than just counting all objects one by one? Do we need to create a list of all phone numbers to ensure that there are enough phone numbers for everyone? Is there a way to tell that our algorithm will run in a reasonable time before implementing and actually running it? All these questions are addressed by a mathematical field called Combinatorics. In this course we discuss most standard combinatorial settings that can help to answer questions of this type. We will especially concentrate on developing the ability to distinguish these settings in real life and algorithmic problems. This will help the learner to actually implement new knowledge. Apart from that we will discuss recursive technique for counting that is important for algorithmic implementations. One of the main `consumers’ of Combinatorics is Probability Theory. This area is connected with numerous sides of life, on one hand being an important concept in everyday life and on the other hand being an indispensable tool in such modern and important fields as Statistics and Machine Learning. In this course we will concentrate on providing the working knowledge of basics of probability and a good intuition in this area. The practice shows that such an intuition is not easy to develop. In the end of the course we will create a program that successfully plays a tricky and very counterintuitive dice game. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

热门审阅

SP
Feb 26, 2021

Special thanks to Prof. Vladimir Podolskii and Prof. Alexander S. Kulikov for their amazing explanations and diligent visuals of the concepts as well as problem sets. You Rock!

KB
Dec 25, 2019

Great course, lots of good info, not too long. Some of the coding assignments and quizzes are challenging, but the staff respond very quickly to questions in the forums.

筛选依据:

51 - Combinatorics and Probability 的 75 个评论(共 158 个)

创建者 James M

Mar 21, 2020

I've covered these topics before but there were a lot of great problems and extensions of concepts in this course. Worth doing.

创建者 Yash

Feb 22, 2020

the course was very good. it improved my overall knowledge in the area of probability and combinatorics.

创建者 Juan L O

Oct 30, 2017

This one is a bit more 'mathy' than the first one, it has a good pace and the exercises are really cool

创建者 Hossam S

Aug 19, 2020

Fun and Intuitive. I believe the probability week's last parts were a little confusing but good too.

创建者 Ashish D S

Jul 13, 2018

Content of this course is excellent. Basic Python programming skill is required for this course.

创建者 Mariam M

Oct 20, 2020

Very well paced, great explanations and the difficulty level is challenging yet not impossible.

创建者 Manikant R

Jun 11, 2020

This one was good but I still liked 1st-course exercises and puzzles. This one was quite boring

创建者 叶罗鑫

Feb 19, 2021

the course is splendid,the programming task plays an important role in my study process.

创建者 Kuldeep K

Apr 26, 2020

A must-do basic level course for combinatorics and probability for beginners

创建者 Dmytro N

Nov 1, 2017

I like the course very much! Thanks a lot guys, keep creating new courses!

创建者 Zhaowenzheng

Jun 17, 2020

Very helpful with my combinatorics and probability!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

创建者 PURVA G

Aug 31, 2020

A very well structured and beautiful course made my concepts very strong

创建者 Juliano P

Jan 2, 2021

Very nice course on the topic, lots of helpful exercises and practice!

创建者 Chen Y

Jan 24, 2020

Good course and help me a lot with a certain degree of difficulty

创建者 Abhilash J

Oct 5, 2020

Great experience. Used a lot of thinking skills in this course.

创建者 Ankith u

Aug 29, 2020

was very useful, gave new insight towards probability theory

创建者 Xiaoyuan C

Jan 11, 2018

Excellent course! Thanks for the effort of the course team!

创建者 Vamsee M K

Dec 2, 2017

A very nice introduction to probability and combinatorics.

创建者 Neelam U

Oct 7, 2020

I really liked the content and the design of the course.

创建者 Javier O

Dec 15, 2017

Excellent and complete course. I completely recommend it

创建者 Jayanth C

Feb 14, 2021

Nice explanations and a great introduction to Python!

创建者 Gary M

Sep 20, 2020

Extremely enjoyable course. I gained valuable insight

创建者 Umesh S

Nov 16, 2020

nice built up and different ways to explain things

创建者 Nick S

Jun 12, 2020

Python knowledge is a must for the final projects!

创建者 Ziqi Y

Dec 31, 2018

Great! Challenging final project but worth trying!