Chevron Left
返回到 Combinatorics and Probability

学生对 加州大学圣地亚哥分校 提供的 Combinatorics and Probability 的评价和反馈

4.6
732 个评分
161 条评论

课程概述

Counting is one of the basic mathematically related tasks we encounter on a day to day basis. The main question here is the following. If we need to count something, can we do anything better than just counting all objects one by one? Do we need to create a list of all phone numbers to ensure that there are enough phone numbers for everyone? Is there a way to tell that our algorithm will run in a reasonable time before implementing and actually running it? All these questions are addressed by a mathematical field called Combinatorics. In this course we discuss most standard combinatorial settings that can help to answer questions of this type. We will especially concentrate on developing the ability to distinguish these settings in real life and algorithmic problems. This will help the learner to actually implement new knowledge. Apart from that we will discuss recursive technique for counting that is important for algorithmic implementations. One of the main `consumers’ of Combinatorics is Probability Theory. This area is connected with numerous sides of life, on one hand being an important concept in everyday life and on the other hand being an indispensable tool in such modern and important fields as Statistics and Machine Learning. In this course we will concentrate on providing the working knowledge of basics of probability and a good intuition in this area. The practice shows that such an intuition is not easy to develop. In the end of the course we will create a program that successfully plays a tricky and very counterintuitive dice game. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in IT, starting from motivated high school students....

热门审阅

SP
Feb 26, 2021

Special thanks to Prof. Vladimir Podolskii and Prof. Alexander S. Kulikov for their amazing explanations and diligent visuals of the concepts as well as problem sets. You Rock!

JC
Sep 8, 2020

It's a perfect introduction to combinatorics and probability, short, fun, and easy to understand. I would like to see more puzzles, those are extremely fun and interesting

筛选依据:

126 - Combinatorics and Probability 的 150 个评论(共 161 个)

创建者 Alikhanov A

Apr 4, 2020

Good course for people who forgot or never ever knew combinatorics and probability theory. A lot of applications and examples, but teachers pronounciation is not the best. I am russian but even for me it was difficult sometimes=)

创建者 Mark P T

Aug 1, 2020

Great course. The final Project unclear had instructions on how to provide input. I spent a lot of time trying to troubleshoot it even though I already have a correct solution

创建者 Umakant V

Jan 23, 2020

This course provided me with new ways to confront the problems of combinatorics. I am very grateful to the faculty for their content and coursera for giving me financial aid.

创建者 yk

Apr 9, 2020

Everything except Week 4 was great. Alexander Shen the instructor for week 4 cannot explain a concept without adding more confusion to the subject.

创建者 Juan P Y

Mar 1, 2018

Awesome course, good topics. Easy to get help. Some topics weren't that clear at first, but you'll eventually understand.

创建者 Malik T

Feb 18, 2020

In this course, the use of language is a huge obstacle for students to understand the teachers clearly.

创建者 giannisvasilakopoulos

Jan 31, 2021

Very good course. I learned a lot of things although I think it would be better to have more examples.

创建者 Rishabh A

May 10, 2020

The course had amazing content and everything except the probability had a top-notch explanation.

创建者 Ajit C B

Oct 19, 2017

I think the level could have been a bit more advanced. Overall a good course though.

创建者 Mahade H

Aug 28, 2020

English was not that much of good, but the contents were awesome. Learned so much.

创建者 Abhinav M

Jun 4, 2020

Probability courses could have been more structured and more about definitions

创建者 Афанасьев И В

Oct 26, 2020

Для новичков в теорвере на 4, чисто база которую нужно дальше развивать

创建者 Nikhil Y

May 1, 2020

it was really amazing to work on this course!!

创建者 Jinqiang Z

Dec 16, 2017

it's good in general. But slightly too simple.

创建者 Elton M

May 5, 2018

The probability section could be more visual.

创建者 Saurabh P

May 27, 2020

Great course with lots of exercises.

创建者 Michael K H E

Jan 21, 2019

Prof Vlad has really great examples!

创建者 Ramesh

Dec 9, 2017

Probability section was little weak

创建者 Lionel L R Q

Jun 24, 2020

The last assignment is fun :)

创建者 MANOJ B B ( i C

Jul 28, 2020

It was very good

创建者 Lakshman P

Oct 29, 2020

Awesome course

创建者 M. A

Jul 27, 2020

The course is fine, but there are some problems. First, the instructors' explanations in the video sometimes inaudible. One should be careful when watching the lecture video. Second, there are some grammatical mistakes, particularly in the last week (Week 6). As far as I know, die is singular and dice is plural. There is no word "dices", yet one of the instructors uses this terminology. Third, there are some notational differences in this course to those normally used in probability theory. I don't know why the instructors use the lowercase variables f and g (instead of the standards X and Y) to denote random variables. And finally, some of the proofs are not rigorously explained. I advise whoever taking this class to refer to any standard textbook in combinatorics and probability theory. Nevertheless, despite all these problems, this course combines mathematical thinking and programming in an interesting setting. Perhaps, this is how mathematics is delivered in Russia, which is renown for its competitive programming achievements.

创建者 Angelo F

Dec 6, 2020

Some exercises are challenging, but I think the course is not well organized. If you're newbie to probability, it's not the course for you, because it's not comprehensive. If you had already studied probability, like me, this course allows you to review some concepts, but not all.

If I'd take a course of combinatorics and probability I'd rather choose the MIT Course from Edx, if it were available. I've watched some classes as an audit and it's far better.

创建者 Luis M V F

Dec 29, 2019

This is course is informative, but the instructors in general are terrible. I do not like too much the approach the follow, and I cannot see a good mathematical background. In addition, some explanations are very vague. The contents of the course are great, but I strongly recommend reviewing materials by yourself if you really want to learn.

创建者 Tarun M

May 20, 2019

This course really brought the best out of me in terms of logical programming. The last task needed hours of hard work, but was a fun challenge. However, I felt that the instructors could have been a bit more responsive on the forums to help us clear our doubts.