Chevron Left
返回到 Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age

学生对 多伦多大学 提供的 Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age 的评价和反馈

4.8
1,776 个评分
692 条评论

课程概述

Communication has changed! The traditional rules for speaking and presenting, meeting coordination, influencing people, negotiating and selling ideas no longer apply in a world of skype, messenger, video and teleconference. This course will act as an overview on several concepts each of which could be a course of their own and our goal is to give you tools that you can practice and perfect on your own. By the end of this course, you will be able to: • Apply communication principles and techniques for in-person and virtual teams • Use a science based approach to create impactful presentations • Refine your communication style to better persuade and influence others • Run more effective and impactful meetings • Incorporate strategies to have positive difficult conversations and make people feel valued and listened to *** This course will require you to record yourself speaking. Therefore you must have a phone/computer with a functional camera and microphone.*** WHO SHOULD TAKE THIS COURSE? Anyone looking for professional and/or leadership development. This class mainly uses examples from the professional, business environment. If you are looking to advance at your current organization or to enhancing your personal value for potential employers this course is for you. WHAT MAKES THIS COURSE EFFECTIVE? Many educational experiences describe and explain, but in this course we will apply and demonstrate. We teach practical and proven concepts, show you how to apply them and give you opportunities to practice them in a safe and supportive environment. This course is full of opportunities to put the ideas presented into practice and test their effectiveness for yourself. WHY SHOULD YOU TAKE THIS COURSE? We will challenge the preconceived ideas about what it means to be part of a virtual team, and support you to be a dynamic team contributor no matter where you work. In this course you can expect to be both energized and uncomfortable – like in most experiences that result in positive growth and change! This course is offered through the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies (https://learn.utoronto.ca/)....

热门审阅

AT

Jun 10, 2020

Communication Strategies transformation is going to be the backbone of all organizations and the pandemic has simply accelerated this shift. This is a MUST course for everyone. 5Star's for this... :)

YR

May 11, 2020

The course was really helpful to strengthen communications skills and I got a chance to learn many new aspects. Thanks a lot for making this course available. I really enjoyed learning something new.

筛选依据:

1 - Communication Strategies for a Virtual Age 的 25 个评论(共 694 个)

创建者 David S

Apr 11, 2020

The course was actually fairly good and educational. However, the final assignment requires you to present your presentation to the class...of 20,000+ people. In this age of cybersecurity issues and facial recognition software, I am here to learn and demonstrate that learning, but anonymity is paramount. I don't need my face posted all over the web. I keep my social media settings private for a reason. I suggest this course learn to do the same.

创建者 Carla H

Apr 06, 2020

I've learned some great presentation tips from this course, it allowed me to step out of me comfort zone and I had fun doing it!

创建者 Viktorija

May 03, 2020

Before reviewing content, I'd like to point out a huge issue I faced on the platform - peer review based assessments would not be a bad idea if learners were not complete random. Unfortunately, I have to resubmit my assessment (in this and other courses) multiple times due to some individuals not taking it seriously and with respect to other peers and just clicking all 0 points without even opening a file submitted. This is a major factor making the whole platform incredible and learning experience extremely frustrating. CONTENT: The content was actually good and useful. Although it might seem at first that we already know it, but most of the times us and our colleagues aren't aware of such delicate details. I'm personally very passionate about communications, social behaviours and people motivation in both professional and personal life, so it was a pleasure to hear more about it in a structure ways. Videos aren't too long and time used very efficiently, with great real life/ work examples and explain in easy to digest ways even for someone with a little experience in presentations and business communications. I agree with other reviews noting the security and privacy aspect of sharing your face recorded with anonymous "peers".

创建者 Amanda H

May 12, 2020

Ivan is a fantastic presenter. I never felt overwhelmed by the content or that I couldn't follow along. I see a tremendous value in the easy to digest modules in this course.

Thank you so much!

创建者 Rahul R B

May 01, 2020

This is truly an exceptional communication course. The instructor is the one of the best instructors I've ever seen. His teaching style and his engagement level is brilliant. The course videos are really helpful.

创建者 Joan W

May 24, 2020

This was an excellent course. Ivan Wanis Ruiz was amazing, great instructor. I really enjoyed and learnt a lot from module 4. Learning about Area 47, the Lazy Rule and the Belly Button Rule were all new and are the highlights that I will be walking away with. I am quite confident that I will drastically improve in my presentations.

创建者 Nouha B A

Jan 25, 2020

This course was very informative and helpful

创建者 Rebecca A W

Apr 10, 2019

This course was good as an arena to practice your digital presentation skills. There wasn't anything particularly new discussed, but it's good to think about techniques that you may use every day, in a practical, objective way to understand why they are or are not effective.

创建者 Kai S

Sep 16, 2019

The communication strategies taught in this course were too practical and superficial for my taste. The course features a lot of very basic instructions on how to communicate. While receiving and practicing with a toolbox is certainly always an element in a good course on communication, in my view, I expect a lot more when it comes to communication.

First, what I missed in the course was the role of genuineness and authenticity in communication and how to ensure this in a virtual age. The impression I received of the instructor was that he was at all times very aware of the way he presented and my impression was that that focus was stronger than establishing a connection to the viewers of the video. I would like to see a little more courage to imperfection, for instance.

Second, communication to me is about internalising a certain attitude. As an example, Rosenberg's non-violent communication is based on four steps. However, I will only successfully apply this concept, if I internalise the philosophy and attitude behind the concept and if I can identify with it. Having taken this course, I cannot tell what approach/ attitude/ philosophy is behind it or whether there's a common thread at all.

创建者 ALEXANDER M

May 05, 2020

The valuable elements of the course are the "tips" to incorporate while doing live presentations (or video) and PowerPoint presentations. More than offering some of the content as an "advice" the facilitator stated the content as a "must". Based on this course many TED Talks would be rated as ineffective which couldn't be farther from reality. Not all presentation approaches work for all situations and topics, he should know that. I definitely felt so uninspired and discouraged to do my final assignment.

One thing I definitely disliked and considered unethical is part of the content of Module 3, when dealing with the "Supportive" type person, which searches for the group approval. He stated that we have to approach the person by saying "everybody things X or Y about you" or "everybody told me to talk to you", literally he is asking the students to LIE, this represents a high level of hypocrisy and it a terrible part of any corporate culture. He even justified himself by saying something like it's just a matter of being "strategic" to obtain what we need, and that it's the reality we deal with nowadays. Really?! Basically, he told the audience that the ends justify the means.

I learned some useful tips but definitely I expected more of the course. As a suggestion, more than preparing a video (ok, maybe in addition to that) students can be presented with a complex problem and be required to write a strategy to solve the situation.

Thank you

创建者 Carolina M

May 11, 2020

This course is really interesting, and it has a lot of good matters about communication. However, I think it should have other ways to evaluate the students in the final task. Not everybody feel confortable about recording a video and it doesn't mean they didn't learn great things and deserve the certified. Other thing to be considered is the time we have to accomplish it. I think one of the reasons people choose an online course is because it should be more flexible and they can manage time, so this course should allow the students to accomplish it in their own time, and it doesn't happen.

创建者 Michelle B

Jun 01, 2020

The actual theories, videos, and instructor were great! This is exactly what I was expecting. However, I was disappointed with the final assignment submission which is basically a bribing competition among learners to get your assignment graded in order to complete the course. If no one reviews your assignment, than you are not able to complete the course even though you submitted on time. This piece should be graded by the instructor, not the learners.

创建者 Dee H

Apr 25, 2020

I need to drop this class. Please advise

创建者 Alexander K

Nov 25, 2019

It's a pity there is no initial task similar to the final assignment, so you can feel the difference of what you've learnt from the course. This set of lectures would be really helpful for either managers and their subordinates to communicate effectively, to reach the goals that depend on others, and to get pleasure from the communication. I'm happy I could learn a lot and I'm glad to apply it in practice -- it works!

创建者 Sharmin S

Apr 02, 2020

Well outlined and delivered. I would highly recommend it to anyone who runs a team or online training. It also helped me improve my presentation skills.

创建者 Michal M

Aug 07, 2020

The title of this course is not so catchy *my first impression was that this will be about using Slack/MS-Teams/Discord...*; but fortunately after reading the syllabus I've gave it a shot - and WOW! it is so good, that I'd make it mandatory for literally everybody who 'Talks to other people' - yes, you are reading it right. What is mentioned here applies to all types of communication forms: including offline-person2person & virtual-presentations/meetings/... as well.

10/10 Quality Course!

创建者 Shibli A K

Jun 01, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken online particularly because of the skills of the instructor. However at times, the structure and content are not in harmony with the title of the course. For example, the title suggest online (virtual) communication, but the last section focuses on traditional presentation.

An excellent course nevertheless.

创建者 SUNY L J A

May 06, 2020

Lovely!! The speaking pace, the dynamics of the topics and the importance of topics have really left a mark in me. When I alternated to a different course and the material was way more dense, it was hard for me to keep the pace, as I´m already used to the rhythm of this course and its lessons.

创建者 Md. S A

Apr 11, 2020

The course is precise and to the point. Ivan is a great instructor, whose style of teaching in this course may even positively influence your own dialogue delivery. By the end of this course, you will have the tools/weapons to master communication both virtually and in reality.

创建者 ANIKET T

Jun 10, 2020

Communication Strategies transformation is going to be the backbone of all organizations and the pandemic has simply accelerated this shift. This is a MUST course for everyone. 5Star's for this... :)

创建者 Yamini R

May 11, 2020

The course was really helpful to strengthen communications skills and I got a chance to learn many new aspects. Thanks a lot for making this course available. I really enjoyed learning something new.

创建者 Neerav G S

Apr 24, 2020

Sir does a wonderful explaining the topic and imparting his knowledge in this beautifully made course, this has tremendously helped me improve my presentations and communication. Thank you Ivan sir.

创建者 Md A H

Apr 15, 2020

The Journey was amazing i was never thought about that things that i have learned would beneficial. i truly must say if anyone wants to learn something must start with this.

创建者 Lok M T

Apr 20, 2020

This is the best presentation course I took, and it provides a comprehensive set of useful tips how to doing Ace in presentation at a business setting. Love it!

创建者 Suseela D

May 12, 2020

An interesting and fun ride to the road of effective communication...…..all cheers !