Chevron Left
返回到 Computational Thinking for Problem Solving

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Computational Thinking for Problem Solving 的评价和反馈

4.8
242 个评分
79 个审阅

课程概述

Computational thinking is the process of approaching a problem in a systematic manner and creating and expressing a solution such that it can be carried out by a computer. But you don't need to be a computer scientist to think like a computer scientist! In fact, we encourage students from any field of study to take this course. Many quantitative and data-centric problems can be solved using computational thinking and an understanding of computational thinking will give you a foundation for solving problems that have real-world, social impact. In this course, you will learn about the pillars of computational thinking, how computer scientists develop and analyze algorithms, and how solutions can be realized on a computer using the Python programming language. By the end of the course, you will be able to develop an algorithm and express it to the computer by writing a simple Python program. This course will introduce you to people from diverse professions who use computational thinking to solve problems. You will engage with a unique community of analytical thinkers and be encouraged to consider how you can make a positive social impact through computational thinking....

热门审阅

J

Dec 19, 2018

Excellent course for beginners with enough depth, programming and computational theory to increase their computer science knowledge to a higher level. It builds a good foundation of how computers work

AA

Feb 04, 2019

The course is very well-designed and it helped me develop understand how to apply computational thinking in solving various types of problems as well as acquire basic skills of programming in Python.

筛选依据:

1 - Computational Thinking for Problem Solving 的 25 个评论(共 82 个)

创建者 Quan M T

Mar 04, 2019

The course is generally good. However, the assignment content and the lecture are not really getting along, especially the Python part. I suggest more "bridging" materials.

创建者 Michael

Apr 21, 2019

Really great course. The professors do an amazing job teaching the fundamentals that can be transferred across all of computer science. Instead of learning one programming language, they instead teach you how to think like a computer scientist, which is far more valuable because it will enable you to "connect the dots" from one language to the next.

创建者 Levi T S

Mar 13, 2019

This course surprised me. As a programmer by trade these are my thoughts...

Week 1 (Problem Solving) - Good for beginners (and scatter brained intermediates).

Week 2 (Algorithms) - This was interesting and professionally useful. Algorithms include: Linear, binary, greedy, and brute force.

Week 3 (Computer Architecture) - Basic outline of how the cpu deals with information and a brief history of computing. Overall not professionally useful, but interesting.

Week 4 (Python Programming) - Brief intro to python and applying what you have learned by writing python scripts. This was the easiest module for me (and probably for anyone with coding experience).

创建者 Natalie D

Feb 11, 2019

I thought this course was excellent except for a few small things. I've done a handful of online "learn to code" courses and this was by far the best one to help understand the foundations and actually what you are doing when you code. The videos were really helpful as well as the assignments which I thought were a good balance of challenging but not too challenging. There were two specific things I didn't like as much, particularly the quizzes at the end of each lecture and the format of the delivery of the assignments. I thought that the quizzes were so short that they didn't deliver a ton of value. With respect to the assignments, I thought that the assignments themselves were excellent but the long multi-page PDFs for each coding assignment were overwhelming and often had details buried within them that were really important. I'd recommend a short bulleted summary of requirements up at the top or something to make it clearer. Other than that, I thought this was an excellent course!

创建者 jenn

Jun 25, 2019

Overall, great. However, I think the programming assignments were too hard to just do right off of the lectures. Needed extra research.

创建者 Yongchao Q

Jun 23, 2019

Fabulous course. I truly like how the content was structured and the instructor's approach of delivering theoretical concepts with real-life examples. Highly recommend for anyone who wants to have some basic understanding of computing:-)

创建者 Mingming Z

Jun 16, 2019

The instructors explains the concepts of programming very well. Love this course. A great compact programming 101 class for beginners!

创建者 Nicholas J D I

Jun 13, 2019

This class provides an approach to problem solving that everyone should learn.

创建者 Antony

Jun 11, 2019

Great course

创建者 Danielle J

Jun 10, 2019

Really great course. I found the wording of a couple homework problems to be confusing, but overall really enjoyed the course

创建者 Craig D

Jun 09, 2019

Great Course!!! I would highly recommend this fo anyone. I have bachelors

and masters degrees in engineering and I found this course very helpful and plan to apply what I learned at my place of work. Thanks!

创建者 Dirk X

Jun 02, 2019

Neat and clear

创建者 Martin

May 31, 2019

Boring, not application based.

How this help me on the job?

创建者 Yan L

May 28, 2019

Very excellent introduction course, especially for the concept of computational thinking. The contents are well-organized and easy to follow as a beginner. The MCIT program sounds like a good track to keep the learning process. I will definitely apply it!

创建者 Yee S L

May 27, 2019

Great introduction to computer science and programming. Tried a couple of other course, but found this one the most helpful.

创建者 Yacine B

May 25, 2019

Excellent foundational knowledge for problem solving, especially as it pertains to computer science, while not limited to it. Highly recommended.

创建者 Tomas L

May 25, 2019

Great! I learned the value of planning before coding. However, I would like this course to be more challenging.

创建者 Harsha v P

May 23, 2019

please go with more technical and logical thinking.

创建者 Pauline A G H

May 19, 2019

Even just after finishing week 1, I have noticed an improvement in how I go about the challenges in my work as I was already able to apply the basic concepts of computational thinking. The simplicity of their lectures even as they go through detailed explanations has helped me in understanding the concept and application of this course. I would definitely recommend this. In fact, I already did recommend it to some of my colleagues as I was taking it.

创建者 Ethan L

May 18, 2019

What a great introduction to Computer Science. I've been a programmer for a couple of years and know Python pretty well. This course was helpful for understanding the more fundamental concepts I experience every day, e.g. sorting lists. Most of Python logic is abstracted away from the user so it's great to take this course to see what's under the hood.

创建者 Nathan S K

May 13, 2019

This was an excellent course. The instructors are very thorough and patient in their explanations of the topics. Having taken online courses previously, I felt that the approach of learning first how to think like a programmer, then finally executing code once that foundation was laid, helped me better understand how these concepts could be scaled and structured to fit a variety of real-world scenarios. Thank you!

创建者 Jared A

May 10, 2019

The most frustrating learning experience I have ever had. I should not have to google for 70% of what should be taught in the lessons. Quizzes and exercises use material not covered in the lectures.

创建者 Robel A

May 03, 2019

Its a really nice class, clear presentations, and good workout

创建者 Russell F

May 02, 2019

Leaps and bounds better than an introductory CS class at a traditional university.

创建者 Steve

Apr 28, 2019

Solid foundational course for thinking through problems like an engineer.