Chevron Left
返回到 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

学生对 Google 提供的 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的评价和反馈

4.7
37,336 个评分
8,506 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

热门审阅

AY

Dec 30, 2020

The course had some ups and downs, but it was a good challenge and I did it! I learned so much and I never knew I could do this kind of course. I have gained so much knowledge now from when I started.

SK

Feb 18, 2021

This was really time-consuming but it was really worth learning. Although in the end, it seems to be very basic things, they would be essential through whatever you want to accomplish in the IT field.

筛选依据:

6676 - The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的 6700 个评论(共 8,610 个)

创建者 Alex M

Apr 25, 2020

This course was very depth and I definitely understand the fundamentals of computer networking. I have purchases books to help me expand my knowledge for this subject. I feel that this course would benefit from including some of the interactive assessments from course 1 however. I feel that having the opportunity to log into a VM and put into practice what this course is teaching would be a great way to 'learn by doing' in a training environment.

创建者 Dawn G

Jan 6, 2019

Many of the concepts were VERY challenging. It would be nice if they could be explained a little bit slower so all of the information could be grasped easier. I had a very difficult time comprehending some of the concepts. Perhaps this would be a good place for a lab, or more "hands-on" type of practice quizzes instead of 2-3 random questions about what was learned. Overall, there was an extensive amount of information. Very detailed.

创建者 Francis L

Nov 30, 2020

This one is a bit more technical in terms, and definitely needs your utmost attention. There will be times where I felt lost but after re-reading my notes and watching videos again it became more clear. There were parts of this course that felt slow then all of a sudden threw a lot of technical aspects to it. It will definitely be different from person to person but I believe this still gave a lot of valuable information and insight!

创建者 Kristi L

Oct 25, 2020

I enjoyed this course, though I recognize that the information is presents is the tip of the proverbial ice berg. The wireless channel quiz is not difficult, but does not work correctly and is therefore very frustrating. I looked at the discussion boards to find that many others had the same problem of it giving a 0% score when everything was done correctly. Their tips for submission were helpful, but that plug-in needs to be fixed.

创建者 Carolyn O

Dec 15, 2020

I'm very much enjoying this program. Only 2 things are missing. 1) It would be great to provide a glossary at the end of each course. There are so many acronyms and terms. It would be great to have them all in one place, for easy reference. 2) It would be nice if there was more troubleshooting examples reviewed, with the steps to take in resolving common issues. There is so much information, that how to resolve something gets lost.

创建者 PAULA M

Sep 21, 2019

Overall, very good course. The instructors kept me motivated to continue. However there were some sections that were not explained adequately enough to do the quiz. There were steps left out of the explanations of subnetting and routing that I had to learn from other online youtube tutorials. What would be helpful is to have some nitty gritty examples that are worked through step by step that get the student prepared for the quiz.

创建者 Jude E

May 26, 2020

I did learn a lot from this course. Some of the course work were challenging and I loved that. However, while I feel like I gained a lot of theoretical knowledge, I was hoping to get more practical skills as well. Since computer networking is such an important aspect of IT today, I would have loved for the course to have incorporated more simulated lab experiences where students can practice some of the skills they learned about.

创建者 Leevi B

Aug 8, 2020

Awesome course! You guys have done very well.

Recommendations for the future is to add labs to really get some of these protocols "demystified" and en-grained into the minds of individuals hungry to learn and grow. I have been in Video Production for 20 years and already this is building confidence in me to approach Cyber Security. Thank you! 5 star program but wanted to reserve a Star to add the Labs. Thanks for your time!

创建者 Sterling H

Jun 30, 2019

Wow I learned a lot about computer networking. The instructors were energetic and shared career advice.The one area of improvement would be the supplementary readings. Instead of Wikipedia articles I want google to write their custom content for the course. The content should cover more about the day to day tasks and responsibility of network engineers and more troubleshooting tips. Overall I really enjoyed the course .

创建者 Dan H

Mar 11, 2022

very complex concepts for me to understand but I do believe I have alot more understanding than I expected to after taking this course. I would like to say that it did seem like some of the questions on the graded assignments seemed difficult to find the answer for when reviewing the material and could of swore I had the right answer a few times. Started to think the correct answers were not actually the right answers.

创建者 Francisco S

Aug 22, 2021

Very informative course. To be honest, I struggled keeping up with the course because so much information was thrown at once. But just keep up with it. I came from a background with pretty much no IT experience. I'm learning a lot but I would say to not expect that you will get through the course in days or maybe even a few weeks if you don't have much of a background in the field. But so far I am loving the courses.

创建者 John M

Aug 1, 2019

Great section! Someone really needs to proofread both the script below the video and the closed-captioning though - throughout the bulk of these presentations.

Also, the final tests are demonstrably more difficult than the in-between quizzes. I do not mind the difficulty level (that is how one learns), but I feel like I am not learning anything through the quizzes which makes me woefully unprepared for the final.

创建者 Evan L

Apr 11, 2018

Lots of good information in the course, but there were a number of assignments that were incredibly frustrating from a technical standpoint. Taking 3 hours to do a 20 minute assignment due to tech issues is an incredibly frustrating experience. For any future learner, make sure you set aside time for the Qwiklabs and the small tertiary assignments (usually the practical assignments after the 15 question quiz).

创建者 Balwinder K

Jun 13, 2020

It was really a great learning experience. Teacher is very articulate. Nice slides and to the point info. Only thing was hard week 2 Quiz, about network connections, I did the assignment without understanding it by trial and error. I think, teacher should make an extra video to take thru few scenarios, how to calculate the network addresses for the routes for data transmission. Thank you Coursera and Google.

创建者 Eddie B

Jul 9, 2019

Maybe a more detailed, physical construction of the five-layer network model would help more. Maybe something like an assignment that isn't weighted heavily instead of a multiple choice quiz. Something like a puzzle if that makes sense. Connect each layer in order, construct the encapsulation by hand, etc. Overall great course. May have to refer back to it but I know it has most of everything I need to know.

创建者 Serina B

Feb 20, 2018

Great course. I wish there were more visuals to accompany the video lessons. I had to refer to a lot of outside sources, YouTube videos, to fill in some of the gaps I had in understanding the lesson material. Overall, I learned a ton from this course and far more than I could have learned anywhere else, I think. So I'm grateful I had the chance to complete this course. I'm looking forward to the next course.

创建者 John P

Apr 12, 2022

There were very little examples of real life scenarios. Theoretically everything makes sense. But, I couldn't connect to a real life situation. Maybe it's just me.

For example : When are we going to use IPv6 compression, and why can we use a calculator that does it for us.

(I spent 3o mins on the IPv6, because i couldn't compress one, and it kept reapeating)

Overall, I definetely now know more than before :)

创建者 Bruce T

Mar 8, 2021

There were many great subjects and lectures. My only complaint involved a few areas that could have benefitted more from hands on practice or examples. Areas such as subnetting or IPv6 compression required external videos and material to get a handle on it. Maybe provide this at the end of sections for practice or inbetween where the supplemental material is. Otherwise thank you for the continued learning

创建者 Tyler O

Aug 14, 2020

Very good and informative course. I feel like some of Week 2 and Week 3 could use some refinement to improve the course experience. Very heavy in information, terms, and concepts but not a lot of reinforcement activities like we saw in the Technical Support Fundamentals classes. Video pauses that pop up with quick question quizzes can slow the monotony of the course and ensure key concepts are reinforced.

创建者 Irene C G

Oct 26, 2018

I contains a lot of technical information that can be difficult to process and assimilate in one go; depending on the person, the videos might need to be watched more than one time. It would be nice if they had more graphics or images relating to what is being said, as well as more interactive exercises and maybe more examples related to the real world and daily life that most users might encounter.

创建者 Chad W S

Mar 14, 2018

A very good introduction to networking. Only reason one star is taken away is because of the low quality of some of the exercises. Often they were unclear as to what you are supposed to do, the grading system was buggy or inconsistent, and there is no participation by the mentors or any Google staff at all. Otherwise the depth and detail of the course is just right for the level and role intended.

创建者 Mateusz W

Apr 3, 2018

Great course, but in some cases there were drawbacks, mostly in the Graded Assessments, where I couldn't just correct one error like missclick for instance, but I just had to reset the whole thing. That's very frustrating, especially when you are in the last task and boom missclick go back and do the whole thing once again. Also the last task: deleting zeros. God damn it was like Where's Waldo...

创建者 Casey A

Jun 22, 2021

The IPv6 compression quiz needs to be checked due to the number of times that I took it and answered all questions correctly but after submitting the quiz, I would receive a grade of 0. This resulted in me being late on an assignment. This issue is also the subject of many threads in the forum, some over a month long.

https://www.coursera.org/learn/computer-networking/exam/SpTgG/ipv6-compression

创建者 Chelsea R

Jun 8, 2020

I very much enjoyed the course, but often I felt lost in all the complicated material. The subnetting section was extremely hard for me to grasp and had to find other material outside of the course (YouTube) to help me better understand. I think for more complicated sections/modules it would be helpful to maybe explain or give more time to go over concepts. I felt it was a bit rushed at times.

创建者 Joseph F

Feb 24, 2018

It's okay for a non-technically minded person. I think this part could use much more video of how things work as the speaker is explaining the concepts. Many people taking this course are not technically minded, which means they need it broken down into layman's terms or in a way they can relate to it. I think it would be better with more step by step video "art" while the speaker is taking.