Chevron Left
返回到 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

学生对 Google 提供的 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的评价和反馈

4.7
30,604 个评分
7,097 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

热门审阅

AA
Mar 25, 2020

Great course. It is great for beginners and for people that may have forgotten a thing or two. The way it was taught makes it so much better than reading man pages or something else as dry and boring.

WW
Nov 8, 2020

Great overview of the technical aspects of networking that, once again, started from the very "I know nothing basics" and moved to more advanced topics at a rate that this beginner could keep up with.

筛选依据:

51 - The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的 75 个评论(共 7,108 个)

创建者 Ken L

Apr 4, 2020

So many terms and so little explanation. The courses are like dropping a term after another.

创建者 JMF

Jul 7, 2018

I wish this course had a more professional name-- all the courses in this series have cutesy unprofessional names and I don't like putting them on my resume like this.I feel like the spent more time writing puns for the lectures than they did on the actual material or the assignments. It's hard to follow the path the material is taking, it's extremely wordy (so it's easy to zone out before you get to the actual facts and info you need), the puns don't help (especially if you're struggling with learning disabilities or if English is not your first language), the rattling off of IP address after IP address becomes impossible to tease out the actual facts, and heaven forbid you have a little dyslexia. There aren't enough useful slides/diagrams/visual aids in the lectures. The quizzes (especially the interactive exercises) aren't helpful, and are slow or don't load properly, and when they do load, they're hard to use with a high magnification setting, and often the color choices aren't great if you're colorblind. The phrasing of the questions in the quizzes tested you more on whether or not you followed every lecture rather than the actual material. I honestly expected a lot better from Google and this course is not the same quality as other Coursera courses I've taken, and this course needs a lot of work before I'd suggest it to anyone. Less puns, more quality, please.

创建者 Matt

Jun 29, 2020

95% of all these videos was a person at a table just talking. This was the WORST way for this information to be explained. I'm into computers and want to learn IT because of the hands on nature of it, so to see video after video of just a person spouting acronym and definition after definition was painful. Every so often there would be a graphic, that would help, but other times the graphic was only partially explained, or by the time it came up it was nowhere near helpful. Again, you could use any visual method to get this information explained, and I hated every minute of this course. If the next one is anything like this I expect to drop Coursera altogether.

创建者 Amber S

Jun 5, 2019

Since the "upgrade" the diagrams and updating have me at my wits end. I also respect the knowledge of the courses guided instructor.... But his voice is ambien.

创建者 Angel M

Jun 20, 2021

Learning about IPv6 and IPv4 was interesting to me. However, I do have some complaints about the course that I think should be addressed.

First of all, the IPv6 Compression quiz is bugged. If I clicked the restart button displayed during the quiz, it would tell me that I was on the 10th question, and even if I got it correct and submitted it, it would give me a zero. Why would I want to reload the quiz anyway? This is because I had incorrect questions and I had no idea why. I simply assumed that the course was wrong. Now I know that it is because compressing an address using rule 2 only applies to the first time 0's are displayed in consecutive order. At least, that's what I think. I can't be sure since the course didn't cover it, but it did quiz me on it.

Second of all, this may not be an issue with the course, but it is an issue with Coursera. My certificates do not display the correct name. My name is Orlando Angel Magana, and it displays my name as E N Orlando Angel Magana. I don't know why the ID Verification decided to give me 2 additional names, but it is an issue that I have looked into and still cannot solve. I recently found 3 steps on the Coursera website that I am told to follow to resolve this issue. Step 1 tells me to go to my settings page. I click the word "Settings", which takes me there. Step 2 tells me to click a Request a Name Change button. Such a button does not exist. I typed ctrl + f, and there was no such button to be found. A separate piece of information tells me that they do not support updating my information after verification. This is most unpleasant. It feels like my achievements are undermined, because it is under some other name. Other than that, I enjoyed learning from this course. I love how they would have inspiration videos that would tell me about other journeys that IT members took.

创建者 Ian M

Aug 4, 2020

Holy cow! I have a Ph.D. and have taught coding for years. I never truly understood how networks... worked. I can tell I have only scratched the surface, but I'm stoked! I couldn't stop learning this stuff! Thanks for an amazing course!

The good: it's not easy! I didn't pass several of the tests the first several times I tried. I had to go back and learn more. Brush up and do some research online. Rather than dissuading me, it convinced me that what I was learning was "real" content. This isn't a fluff Coursera course. Thanks! It made me prouder when I did succeed! Also, the instructor is likable, which is huge in online learning. Not pompous. Not tangential. Just perfect.

What could be better -- hey, I'm a professor, so there is always room for improvement:

The scripts were good, but more visuals would be helpful. Also, more description of some of the vocabulary would be nice. Perhaps a glossary. Several of the test questions were ambiguous: one referred to fiber being laid to a "cabinet." Does this mean cabinet for utilities, server cabinet, the cabinet where my grandma keeps her wifi router?

Overall, awesome job, Google, and great work Coursera! Now that I work in online education at my university, promoting it broadly, I know that the competition is fierce from you guys. I think this is a good thing. Learning should be affordable and mobile.

Very impressed!

创建者 D D

Mar 30, 2021

This course is a big step up in difficulty from the first course. They will throw a lot of terms and definitions at you all at once. That being said, the information is well-organized.

I passed this course in just over a week. All I did was watch the videos, and pause every time a new definition came up. I would copy the definition into a google document along with notes and screenshots of the visuals. I read over some of the supplemental reading out of curiosity, but most of it wasn't relevant to the quizzes.

If you come across a concept that you find difficult, just pause the video, and read the transcript carefully. Sometimes the choice of words are very specific, but could be misinterpreted. I read other reviews where people mention they had to learn the material elsewhere; but all of the questions on the quizzes are in fact covered by material in the videos.

Overall, it was very enjoyable. I love this material. It's clear the presenter is passionate about the material and it prevents the detailed/mundane concepts from becoming too boring. I only wish there were more interactive troubleshooting techniques (more labs), but I'm thinking the purpose of this course instead is just to give you a detailed technical overview of how networks work.

创建者 LaGayla B

Feb 11, 2020

Each topic in the course has been very challenging, however, the encouragement received along the way is so motivating and appreciated. Also, the real comments shared from various co-workers along the way are very encouraging as well.

Only once in my life have I worked for a great corporation. I do have my degree but after leaving the large corporation I soon realized how much I valued working there! Since then, I have worked for companies that expect you to have great learning agility but they never allow you to use it in an environment that will allow you to establish a career. So, when I came across this training opportunity, I am working smart, hard and I am eager to hopefully obtain the certification and gain employment with a large established corporation where I am allowed and encouraged to grow into a stable career.

Thank you,

创建者 Ann

Jun 14, 2018

My schedule is extremely challenging in my personal life as a home care aid nurse to my aging parents. This course gives me the opportunity to make the first steps in pursuing a career path in IT before Coursera I would not be able to pursue. The flexibility of this program makes it possible because I find it difficult to commit to a rigid, more structured schedule of education classes. The content and fluidity of how the subject is presented and the instructors administering the topics does not discourage someone who has no experience, knowledge, or background in IT but may have a great foundation of skills like customer service, trouble shooting, problem solving, and a love of technology for an IT career.

创建者 Moises A G G

Aug 22, 2020

I wish slides were included or per video. Would have been much easier than reading transcripts. To pass the course I had to constantly refer back to the videos and to Wikipedia. Maybe this was the intension. If so, I guess I should up my rating from 4 to 5 cause it did create that skill in me to go out there and research this stuff on my own

创建者 Amos G B

Jun 18, 2021

This is a very high volume course that is full of information and knowledge. You will have a books worth of notes and websites to reference when you are done. Thank you for all of the time and effort put into making this amazing course.

创建者 Steven C

Jun 17, 2021

V​ery informational course. There is a lot of knowledge thrown at you, but the instructors do a great job and helping you see the big picture so that you can make sense of why things work they way they do.

创建者 Wm. T W

Nov 9, 2020

Great overview of the technical aspects of networking that, once again, started from the very "I know nothing basics" and moved to more advanced topics at a rate that this beginner could keep up with.

创建者 Sri P G

Nov 25, 2020

The Course is presented in a nutshell. Would be nice if more scenario based quizes are there so that can get the idea of the real time troubleshooting.

创建者 Jonathan S

Jun 17, 2021

Very informative and immersive in knowledge needed to understand how the networks communicate and the backbone of the modern internet.

创建者 Zohair A

Jun 15, 2021

Loved the course. At times some of the content would get a bit dry but Victor's networking puns kept me engaged.

创建者 Tyler A R

Aug 4, 2020

Kinda tough on this course through some parts. But I made it through. That’s all I needed. Thanks Coursera!

创建者 Raj N D

Aug 4, 2020

I learned the basic knowledge behind networks and operations with very easy modules.

创建者 DIVYA K

Jun 17, 2021

Great course! Acquired knowledge of Internet functionalities

创建者 Mitchell N

Jun 17, 2021

This is a little bit of a tough segment. Enjoyed it though!

创建者 Rajan G

Jun 15, 2020

a

创建者 Zoe Z

Jun 20, 2021

I really found the instructors for this course great, and it was an excellent overview of networking. I have needed to do a fair amount of supplemental reading however, in order to get a better understanding of the material. I found this course briefly touches on a lot of really complex topics that are difficult to get your head around, but doesn't quite go into depth enough about how these different components will effect us as IT professionals. For example, I would love to see more information about troubleshooting at different layers in the model, and identifying where the source of the problem is. While this was very informative regarding networking, I'm not sure there was enough information about troubleshooting networking issues, which I would really like to learn!

创建者 Bína M

Jun 17, 2021

I​'ve taken detailed notes throughout the course, just shy of transcribing everything that was said, and still during tests I couldn't find the answers in my notes sometime. I suppose it's just one of the skills of an IT support person to look things up, but I still felt unsure whether that was the goal, or not. Still, I feel like I've learned a LOT.

创建者 Romaine A M G

Sep 19, 2020

About 40 percent was hard for me because of work and the questions where kinda hard if you don't remember every single thing! But my favorite part was the cloud and IPV6 if I have a chance I would have gotten it done faster in a few weeks, not two months. I did the first course in like 3 days!

创建者 Daniel P

May 25, 2021

The course had a lot of good material, but could have had a little better support for memorization. It is phenomenal how much you can learn though.