Chevron Left
返回到 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

学生对 Google 提供的 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的评价和反馈

4.7
16,074 个评分
3,662 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

热门审阅

BC

Jun 24, 2018

I loved this course. When I had issues support was awesome sauce. I really enjoyed the puns this instructor used to keep you from going off in a daze. I really wish I would have found Coursera sooner.

AM

Mar 30, 2020

what an amazing course, so much information and yet so easy to understand, would recommend going over a few of the videos and supplemental reading a few times, take the time needed, it'll be worth it.

筛选依据:

51 - The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的 75 个评论(共 3,653 个)

创建者 Vivian W

May 01, 2020

This was definitely much more in-depth than the first course of the Google IT Support cert series, and had a lot of great information and I definitely came out of it more knowledgeable of certain terms and concepts that are important to networking and to building a strong foundation.

If improvements to the course were to be implemented, I would suggest adding more visuals to better understand some of the concepts like subnetting, datagram encapsulation steps/routing in relation to the 5-layer model (at which layer X happens etc) .

In particular, I had a very difficult time understanding binary - converting decimal to binary and vice versa, which I think is important to understanding CIDR notation and applying it to then understand how to do well on one of the assessments. After rewatching the videos, I ended up having to use some outside resources to get it, which I understand is part of the learning process in general in this field, but I also think those outside resources could be included as they were more clear and concise.

I also struggled with the Wireless Channel activity - while I understood the importance of trying to configure channels with as little interference as possible, it wasn't explained how to do so in as fast and efficient manner as possible. I also think this course could benefit from adding in more practical applications/real-life scenarios, like explaining and providing examples of when to use ping vs traceroute vs nslookup, examples of common problems or things to look for in the output to help resolve the problem.

Lastly, I felt that the Mock Interview video was extremely helpful and useful so kudos for including that!

Overall a great course, and thank you for providing this resource to people like me with no traditional background or academic foundation for this type of field.

创建者 Lisa K

Jun 29, 2020

I was surprised to see so many negative reviews of this class, so that's why I'm writing this positive one. In my opinion, the course is excellent, and so are the instructors. Even their jokes are ok. I did watch each video at least twice, and I took lots of notes and reviewed them. The text of the instructor's talk was below each video, so it was easy to cut and paste pertinent talking points, or to shorten them. I think it would be difficult to learn the material only by watching the videos. I also read the Supplemental Materials, and sometimes watched YouTube videos on the topic (especially for Subnetting and masking). I am pretty much of a beginner, except that 14-15 years ago I took some Networking classes at a local community college, so I had some prior knowledge of the topic (but no actual hands on experience).

I agree with the criticisms of the Subnetting quiz. I misinterpreted the instructions (even though I read others' comments about them before I took the test). I finally figured it out. The test was hard even once I understood the instructions, but that's b/c I had a very hard time understanding subnetting & masking.

It would be helpful to have more hands-on quizzes, but I'm not sure how that can be accomplished in a class in this format: online and at-your-own-pace. I think the next course includes command line instructions and practice, and this may help us all to get hands-on practice on our own computers, using some of the tools we've learned.

创建者 Amanda C

Apr 15, 2018

Great course and a great instructor! One of the tests didn't want to load on Firefox, but loaded properly on Chrome. There have been a few technical difficulties in this and the first course with some loading of material, but if you're having trouble there is a solution to be found on the message boards. I haven't found the issues to be too troubling when I refer to the boards to work them out.

The course instructor is very engaging and the delivery of material is excellent. Some have mentioned the material moves quickly. A tip I would offer is to not just watch the videos straight through and expect to get it. Transcripts are available to read through, or I've found pausing and replaying to take notes while I watch to be considerably helpful. The tests are finicky in that minor spelling errors will give you a wrong answer. Since testing yourself is one of the best ways to solidify material, I didn't find taking retakes for this reason too frustrating, it was just an opportunity to get the material better ingrained.

创建者 LaGayla B

Feb 11, 2020

Each topic in the course has been very challenging, however, the encouragement received along the way is so motivating and appreciated. Also, the real comments shared from various co-workers along the way are very encouraging as well.

Only once in my life have I worked for a great corporation. I do have my degree but after leaving the large corporation I soon realized how much I valued working there! Since then, I have worked for companies that expect you to have great learning agility but they never allow you to use it in an environment that will allow you to establish a career. So, when I came across this training opportunity, I am working smart, hard and I am eager to hopefully obtain the certification and gain employment with a large established corporation where I am allowed and encouraged to grow into a stable career.

Thank you,

创建者 Stevens, T

Sep 27, 2019

This course like the first one I took is very well done. The way the Google has presented the course is amazing. The videos do a really good job of laying things out in a way that makes the learning fun. At no time do I feel that I cannot do something because they are always rooting for you to succeed in the videos. To be honest it is almost like a good book that I do not want to put down. I just want to keep going in the course to learn more. It is actually kind of sad it is over in a way. Getting started on my next course has me pretty excited after going through this one. Completing my Google IT support certificate will be something I am looking forward to with eager anticipation. Thank you for putting together such a wonderful course.

创建者 Matthew R D

Feb 05, 2018

The teacher really cares about the content they're teaching (and it shows). The background teachers also did a great job.

My favorite part of this section is that the quizzes have fill-in-the-blank (for almost the entirety). I've done pretty much every class/module and this is the only teacher that did that. While sometimes I disagreed with memorizing certain question/answer pairs (proprietary or trivia questions) and lamented the lack of multiple answers (LAN vs local area network + link-local unicast vs link-local unicasts), I still felt that I learned far more from it. I'm sure some students had tons of trouble from this section's tests but I still feel that some number (maybe not 100%) of open-ended questions should be included.

创建者 Sudheera S

Jan 15, 2019

I have 15+ years experience in IT. Back when I started my career, I did not have access to online courses. I discovered this course and immediately enrolled. Although, I had a good understanding of most of the topics covered in the course prior to enrolment, the course served as a good refresher. The quality of video lectures, well thought out quizzes and assignments delivered a good learning experience. I recommend this course for anyone starting their career in IT support. Even if you have some experience in IT, don't hesitate to enrol to learn the things you might have missed earlier in your career and prepare to take your career to the next level! This is an exemplar course. Thanks to Google and Coursera!

创建者 Ann

Jun 14, 2018

My schedule is extremely challenging in my personal life as a home care aid nurse to my aging parents. This course gives me the opportunity to make the first steps in pursuing a career path in IT before Coursera I would not be able to pursue. The flexibility of this program makes it possible because I find it difficult to commit to a rigid, more structured schedule of education classes. The content and fluidity of how the subject is presented and the instructors administering the topics does not discourage someone who has no experience, knowledge, or background in IT but may have a great foundation of skills like customer service, trouble shooting, problem solving, and a love of technology for an IT career.

创建者 Harsh M

May 13, 2020

The course was too good and in conjunction with what you would expect of a practical course offered by google.

Unlike academic course on Computer Networks offered by universities this course focused on the creating a deep understanding on the working of Internet so as to enable people to explain every aspect of its working. Rather than focusing on the implementation based protocols it focused on what is the foundations of the modern networking infrastructure and how it has evolved and is continuously evolving over time.

Loved it!!

And would recommend this course to anyone who want to acquire a strong foundation in

"The bits and bytes of Computer Networking"

创建者 O D

Apr 11, 2020

Big thanks to all the teachers who endlessly help me achieve such a great thing. I can now say without any doubt that I'm not novice in computer troubleshooting areas . I'm now getting deeper and deeper in my objectives which is to master all technical terms in computer technical support and be able to resolve all problems for end users and kindly transmit what I've learnt with these unqualifiable teachers who slowly explains everything as if we were physically together in classroom.

Big up to you guys!

I'll for sure continue with the rest of six courses without any problem and can't wait to gain more skills with you.

创建者 Simone R

Jul 13, 2019

Although I passed the last quiz, I was frustrated with the first question activity. I knew the two "rules" for shortening IPv6 addresses, but I could not revise any of the IP addresses on my computer. It just wouldn't work! I couldn't make it move. Maybe I misunderstood the directions, but I thought I could just revise or delete or highlight and delete numbers, then check my work. I tried everything: highlighting the correct zeros, making it bigger and smaller--nothing. Even though I was in Chrome. I feel I should've received a 100 percent since I got the answer about the rule correct on question 13.

创建者 Kumar R

Mar 09, 2019

Awesome learning and recapping on past knowledge ! The presenter with his with punchlines made the dense material bearable ! Kudos to this awesome presenter and his patience and diligence in delivering the material. Some hands on labs on certain areas where tools are used for better reinforce what is being learned. Just the lectures and quizzes may not suffice other then that awesome job to everyone involved in developing , preparing and presenting these information. On a small note some of the diagrams present could be provided as PDFs so as to serve as visual reminder of key concepts and takeaways.

创建者 Anthony R

Jul 10, 2019

I've always felt like networking was my weakest skill set. I understood the basics and could diagnose basic problems but I honestly lacked the fundamental knowledge needed to diagnose systemic problems that major companies or business users may face. This lack of fundamentals also hindered me in other fields like cyber security. I think this is a fantastic course and out of all of the Google Professional IT Certification courses I believe this one was the most valuable to me and will make a significant difference in my ability to troubleshoot and effectively resolve common issues.

创建者 Svetoslav B

Feb 17, 2020

I liked the course at it basic, all the small bits to the large ones, but there is place for improvement, how are we supposed to learn all the acronyms and remember every single one of them, I know we are supposed to, but sometimes it's confusing. The questions, there were a lot of confusing ones that didnt make sense to me, even at this last part I got two identical questions with the same result using the same answers but different words, need a fix for that. All and all I enjoyed listening to the Elections and getting most of it from the lector itself. Will recommend!

创建者 Eddie M

Mar 31, 2018

this course was more difficult than the first course. Overall , I would say the only thing that could be improved would be to somehow let us know what are the most important subjects to learn to help preparing for the quizes . sometimes i dont know what specifically are the key topics. i could be wrong but it seems like sometimes the intro video doesnt always highlight what are the most important subjects to learn. the course itself is becoming more challenging. hopefully this leads to that 30/hr job they said this will prepare you for .

创建者 Erin B

Feb 25, 2019

I absolutely LOVED this course! It was interesting throughout, although I seemed to light up particularly in the troubleshooting section as well as where we're headed next in terms of cloud services and IPv6. I had to spend some extra time getting the practice of subnetting. I searched for other explanations with sample problems to ensure I really grasped it. The course was written well, and Victor delivered it masterfully. I am extremely appreciative of my newly gained knowledge, and am excited to build on it even further. Thanks!

创建者 David E T

Jun 21, 2019

I found this course vigorous and stimulating, yet satisfying. Having had some educational experience in some of the subjects of this course, I found there was more to learn. I learned much more about IPv6 and dealing with shrinking the address down to a lower common denominator. It had me scratching my head for a little awhile. Still, I'm grateful for learning more after coming in than what I had before coming in.

I'm looking forward to the upcoming courses so I can improve myself and become a better tech.

Thank you so very much.

创建者 Anastasia E

Feb 15, 2020

I work in Tech Support and lots of things I heard before, but I was missing the understanding of the physical and transport layer stuff. I really liked this course, it was not hard for me, but still very useful. Taking a CompTIA certification is not necessary for me, so I saved a ton of money by taking this course, which covers only what I need. Also, I found out that no one on my team heard of the Test-NetConnection command for Powershell. I will coach them and we all will be working a little bit more efficiently.

创建者 Noah B

Mar 20, 2019

So far, the difficulty has been upped by a notch and providing a challenge but it is rewarding in the sense that I am really challenging the knowledge I'm obtaining and making me want to comprehend it in the fullest. I am opening Pandora's box of knowledge and seeing where my cap off point is. I like the challenge and what it brings forth to the plate. But, I know there's more to be uncovered and more to know so it is very much rewarding and gratifying once I put all the pieces together and complete the puzzle.

创建者 Dheepak J

Aug 18, 2019

This is a great course that is tailor made for students and professionals aspiring to ramp up on their networking skills. Networking skills require quite a different mental mapping to understand how your thinking must be to understand intricate concepts. The history, current trend and the future evolution too have found a place in this phenomenal course - thanks to the efforts put in by the creators. There are inspiration videos embedded in between to boost your morale. Don't miss to check this course out.

创建者 Kevin P

Jun 18, 2020

This course was well balanced in theoretical and practical aspects. This course definitely made my fundamentals strong in the networking field. It was difficult for me to understand some concepts like DNS resource record and DNS zones which I feel should be taken in more depth. The examples of the ping, traceroute, and other commands in the real world networking scenario would have been an absolute knowledge booster. Anyway, I am thankful to Coursera and Google for helping me to guide learn this.

创建者 BHARATH M J

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to specially thank the instructor Mr. Victor Escobedo, who is the best course instructor I have ever come across on Coursera! The eternal smile on his face, friendly tone and frequent Networking puns make the course all the more interesting and easy. All the other Google employees who made special appearances in this course also seemed so cool, that made me wonder what an amazing experience it would be to work with such people around everyday.

Thanks a lot to , Google and Coursera!

创建者 Alfred C

Aug 07, 2019

The amount and way the information was presented was amazing! They made some very complicated concepts understandable for ordinary people to understand. Obviously, you won't be able to remember and digest everything in one go, which is why taking great notes is essential if you want to get your money and time worth. Simply watching this and nodding along without any prior knowledge to networking will be ineffective in understanding the material. Overall, would recommend to anyone.

创建者 Elizabeth B

Feb 10, 2020

This course was a bit more difficult than it's predecessor, but that was to be expected. Overall I found this course both amazingly informative but also interesting. Like the previous course the instructor took the time to explain things in simple laymen terms before using esoteric terms. The course did not feel rushed nor was the information so dense that it was overwhelming. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is a beginner but would like to know more about networking.

创建者 Kirill S

Jun 05, 2020

Informative, with links to great resources. An easy listen with pretty clear explanations of the materials. There were some moments in the quizzes where wording made it difficult to understand what was being asked, but otherwise very good! I would suggest adding some of those interactive quizzes as practices during lessons (the broadband one is a great example, it was rather difficult to do because I didn't get a visual demonstration during the lessons.

Thank you very much!