Chevron Left
返回到 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

学生对 Google 提供的 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的评价和反馈

4.7
36,582 个评分
8,308 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

热门审阅

JP

Jan 25, 2018

A lot of information, but i feel like i fully understand core networking concepts. A lot of this info has helped me comprehend what will be required for me when I take my Network + certification exam.

AM

Mar 29, 2020

what an amazing course, so much information and yet so easy to understand, would recommend going over a few of the videos and supplemental reading a few times, take the time needed, it'll be worth it.

筛选依据:

51 - The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的 75 个评论(共 8,397 个)

创建者 Rob C

May 7, 2020

I definitely feel like I've learned the material, but it many ways it feels in spite of the course and not because of it. The rest of this certification program felt so natural and well structured, but this one felt like having someone read a textbook off a teleprompter. Understanding how any of it goes together was something I pretty much had to accomplish myself by finding better sources and explanations elsewhere. And the biggest strength of the course before it--the use of virtual desktops and cloud technology to actually practice interacting with the material--was nowhere to be seen here. So... I need to remotely connect to a WIndows 10 VM to learn how to make a folder, but don't need any practice doing ANYTHING network related aside from rewatching the videos...? Just strange decisions all the way around. I hope they consider restructuring and expanding this course. It's a relief to be through it, and I usually don't feel that way, even with highly technical material.

创建者 Sean B

May 24, 2019

I believe that there was an overload of information presented. I felt as though it was a continual run on sentence, just way to much and at some points it was just rambling it seemed like.

创建者 李可頎

Apr 4, 2020

So many terms and so little explanation. The courses are like dropping a term after another.

创建者 Grechykhin A

May 21, 2021

During the course we see some guy, reading networking documentation from the TV sufler. And that's all. The same information you can read from Wikipedia for free, or you can even listen it from Wikipedia. So why you should pay for image of some guy, reading the same information? :-)

创建者 Deleted A

May 1, 2020

total a waste of time, i completed this certification and in the end Coursera provided me a certificate with a strange name FAJOF .

tell me what should i do now .

a worst experience.

and there is no option of change your name.

i request Coursera to look upon my issue.

创建者 Brandon M

Mar 2, 2018

Some of the interactive quizzes could have been better explained and administered in a more efficient way. For example, the final quiz converting IPv6 to IPv4 shortened address - you should not have to continually redo answers that you already had correct. The way the quiz is administered is 10 random IPv6 numbers. It should have been done in such a way that once you get one correct, it won't generate again. A lot of the interactive quizzes were given this way and it just made them more time consuming. Imagine getting 9/10 right and you make a small error on the 10th. You then have to redo all 10 again despite having gotten 9 right previously. It's just inefficient. Other than that everything else was great. I'd like to see a mix of multiple choice and fill-in-the-blank on the quizzes instead of just one way or the other but that's not that big of a deal because there are flaws with both types of questions. I'd also consider doing away with the peer graded essays. I get the purpose for them, but I also don't think people were grading them fairly or thoroughly. I know for a fact that I did not include one of the items that was asked and 2/3 people gave me a passing mark on that particular item which shows flat out that they did not take the time to read through my submission. Overall great job, I'm enjoying the courses so far.

创建者 D D

Mar 30, 2021

This course is a big step up in difficulty from the first course. They will throw a lot of terms and definitions at you all at once. That being said, the information is well-organized.

I passed this course in just over a week. All I did was watch the videos, and pause every time a new definition came up. I would copy the definition into a google document along with notes and screenshots of the visuals. I read over some of the supplemental reading out of curiosity, but most of it wasn't relevant to the quizzes.

If you come across a concept that you find difficult, just pause the video, and read the transcript carefully. Sometimes the choice of words are very specific, but could be misinterpreted. I read other reviews where people mention they had to learn the material elsewhere; but all of the questions on the quizzes are in fact covered by material in the videos.

Overall, it was very enjoyable. I love this material. It's clear the presenter is passionate about the material and it prevents the detailed/mundane concepts from becoming too boring. I only wish there were more interactive troubleshooting techniques (more labs), but I'm thinking the purpose of this course instead is just to give you a detailed technical overview of how networks work.

创建者 Moises A G G

Aug 22, 2020

I wish slides were included or per video. Would have been much easier than reading transcripts. To pass the course I had to constantly refer back to the videos and to Wikipedia. Maybe this was the intension. If so, I guess I should up my rating from 4 to 5 cause it did create that skill in me to go out there and research this stuff on my own

创建者 Milind M J

Aug 23, 2020

OMG learned a lot, so many things got covered which i don't even know even if I in second Year in Computer Eng. Glad I found this course. Really Help a lot.Now im not the same person in my class. I have very solid foundation of networking. Yeahh

创建者 Zoe Z

Jun 20, 2021

I really found the instructors for this course great, and it was an excellent overview of networking. I have needed to do a fair amount of supplemental reading however, in order to get a better understanding of the material. I found this course briefly touches on a lot of really complex topics that are difficult to get your head around, but doesn't quite go into depth enough about how these different components will effect us as IT professionals. For example, I would love to see more information about troubleshooting at different layers in the model, and identifying where the source of the problem is. While this was very informative regarding networking, I'm not sure there was enough information about troubleshooting networking issues, which I would really like to learn!

创建者 Iftekhar M T

May 3, 2020

Thanks to Google for coming up with such an awesome course. If you're new to networking, you've got to stick to your guns & deal with the course patiently. Just one area of improvement, the course would've been x10 effective had they provided practical & more visual stuff. It's all theory & there's only so much you can remember. But anyway, I've definitely taken away a ton of value from this course. I would recommend it to any beginner just heading out with networking.

创建者 Yunhua J

Jun 23, 2019

Great contents, but I feel that the way these contents are delivered can be significantly improved in two ways.

1. For more than half contents of this course, it is delivered in the logic follow/pipeline of "theory followed by examples". However, I feel the other way around, i.e. "examples followed by theory" would make it way more effective.If theories are shown before examples are presented, students will be very confusing until they see the examples, which they are very familiar in daily life ---- Everyone is "familiar" with the Internet (in terms of examples).The other way, "examples followed by theory" will be way more intuitive. Through examples (that you have seen in your daily life) you will know what problems you need to solve, and then followed by the theories or methods about how to solve it. In this way you know your target at the very beginning through something you are familiar with. It will be more comfortable to look into the theories and terminologies afterwards.

2. Show the slides instead of the instructor for most of the time, and use clean background without characters/letters for the instructor. All the terminologies are very new to students, seeing them visually at the same time (especially when they have an inner connection) will make the learning experience for new theories/terminologies much smoother. Currently, the terminologies only occasionally show up in a distracting background with fancy lights of other characters, which is really confusing, making students lost until the slides with examples shown up.

创建者 Brent R

Aug 14, 2020

Easily 1/2 of the information that this course covers is USELESS, POINTLESS when the scope of the program is for people wanting to get into IT. I have been in IT since the early 80's, and I'm going for the certification to prove to prospective employers that I'm serious about returning to my roots--support. I can assure you that for someone just starting out in IT, it is utterly pointless to spend any time at all on datagrams, counting in binary and compressing IPv6! Jesus!!! spend more time going from the top down (i.e. troubleshooting fundamentals, etc.) and a hellova lot less time coming from the "bottom up." If I were training to become a carpenter, I would Hnever take a course that included an in depth history of the nail!! (who gives a S....t about what happened to Netscape Navigator!) This is a course for people trying to get into IT not trying to become a professor of networking traffic.

创建者 Anthony H

Apr 11, 2020

The quiz has excellent knowledge for beginners and covers a variety of topics that one would need to learn for either Comptia Net + or later down the road their CCNA. My issue with this course is with the graded quizzes. The wording of the questions act almost as if they are trying to trick the tester by playing semantics. For example there was a question I encountered covering DHCP, paraphrasing it asked what would the type of IP be classified if you attempt to assign it to the same machine every time. "This would be "Static" being the IP is not being selected out of a pool of IPs. but the answer was labeled incorrect. Also in Week 5 there was a "1" Question graded quiz that has you move the wifi frequency to prevent interference. 1" the instructions are out of date and do not clearly identify what the course sees as "Least frequency interference". Also while interpreting the instructions you are given only 3 tries which will prevent you from completing this course. Not only do I think this should have been a interactive activity no graded. This is not how you perform a site survey. If you have overlap you modify the channels broadcasting (1,6,11) or move the direction /type of antennas.

创建者 Miljen A

Sep 25, 2020

While the first course was pointless, this one contained actual useful information... encapsulated in an excruciating avalanche of filler, time wasting intros, and the most obnoxious puns I've had the displeasure of being exposed to. And that's not even touching on the multiple tests and quizes that don't function correctly. If I had to rate my Coursera experience overall, I'd give it negative stars if possible. I'd absolutely demand my money back if there was anywhere else to get this information. Your service is an abomination, and you should all be ashamed of yourselves for contributing to its existence.

创建者 Joshua C

Sep 18, 2020

Unbelievably disorganized. It feels like the instructors were simply told to type up definitions of terms on the fly with extremely, unnecessarily verbose and confusing wording. A huge sticking point was the fact that the instructor never pointed out the simple fact that subnets LOOK like IP addresses but are COMPLETELY different from them. This alone would have helped tremendously, but a friend and I taking the course were left in major confusion for a long time. There are other significant issues with this course, too, which has so far been easily the worst of the 4 out of 5 that I've done.

创建者 James B

Nov 6, 2020

Seemed like a lot of information that I didn't need to know and the quizzes asked questions about very irrelevant things that weren't emphasized enough in the lessons because going back to find the answers proved to be a chore. I understand the information and what was presented but the quizzes were a nightmare because they asked you stuff that I'm sure even seasoned vets don't have memorized but it's stuff you would have to memorize when there's no benefit to committing it to memory or barely to even write in my notes.

创建者 Adude601

Jan 18, 2020

Terribly formatted and extremely glitchy, which is very ironic considering this is an IT course. Tech support simply does not respond to any inquiries, even if they are as desperate as "this quiz does not function". On one of them, I literally had to drag boxes (which were either blank or had the text practically in another box!) at complete random until the quiz accepted them. The lectures themselves are horrible. You will learn more by just looking up YouTube videos on the subject.

创建者 Efrain V

Mar 14, 2018

I'm only on to the second week of this course and I have to second guess the the teaching methods used on this course. It seems that the designers decided to use the lazy approach of content dumping and useless memorization. Just by seeing the phrase "100% or more" to pass, you can understand the lazy approach to this course. Content its buggy having to close and reopen quizzes to complete them, and just uninspiring in general.

创建者 Salvador D

Oct 9, 2020

The information is all over the place! Trying to understand the whole complex networking process based on the (rather poor) information provided this course, is like trying to solve a puzzle with the pieces facing down. The most painful course I've learned in years...I am just praying the rest aren't as badly organized and poor in contents, however much overwhelming "bla bla bla"...

创建者 FreddieS21

Mar 8, 2021

The week 5 lab quiz on channel interference was a nightmare to to deal with even if you passed it would automatically fail you. after many attempts , and trying to troubleshoot I finally able to submit the lab completed and it finally accepted it and passed me.

创建者 ANIRBAN S

May 20, 2020

You won't get any certificate after complete this course. In catalog Coursera written you will get certificate after completion of this course, but actually you won't. Video of this course available on youTube. So don't spoiled your time in grade assignment.

创建者 Esther M

Apr 16, 2021

The content is dense and uninteresting. I don't care to memorize the structure of a datagram and how many bits are in every section. Not enough is done to really differentiate between the different networking layers. There are too many acronyms to remember.

创建者 Gurpreet S

Mar 25, 2020

Too many issues with Wireless Channels quiz. No one has fixed these issues in past 6 months. Support is very minimal.

I could have passed a while ago if I wasn't held up repeatedly trying to complete this one quiz, which in all, added no value to the course

创建者 Marisa J

Apr 10, 2021

This is a class is instructed horribly. The material is difficult and requires a lot more coverage. I have had to do additional research on almost every topic that is covered in this course. Google really needs to take some Teaching 101 classes.