Chevron Left
返回到 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking

学生对 Google 提供的 The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的评价和反馈

4.7
30,604 个评分
7,097 条评论

课程概述

This course is designed to provide a full overview of computer networking. We’ll cover everything from the fundamentals of modern networking technologies and protocols to an overview of the cloud to practical applications and network troubleshooting. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to: ● describe computer networks in terms of a five-layer model ● understand all of the standard protocols involved with TCP/IP communications ● grasp powerful network troubleshooting tools and techniques ● learn network services like DNS and DHCP that help make computer networks run ● understand cloud computing, everything as a service, and cloud storage...

热门审阅

AA
Mar 25, 2020

Great course. It is great for beginners and for people that may have forgotten a thing or two. The way it was taught makes it so much better than reading man pages or something else as dry and boring.

WW
Nov 8, 2020

Great overview of the technical aspects of networking that, once again, started from the very "I know nothing basics" and moved to more advanced topics at a rate that this beginner could keep up with.

筛选依据:

151 - The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking 的 175 个评论(共 7,105 个)

创建者 Svetoslav B

Feb 17, 2020

I liked the course at it basic, all the small bits to the large ones, but there is place for improvement, how are we supposed to learn all the acronyms and remember every single one of them, I know we are supposed to, but sometimes it's confusing. The questions, there were a lot of confusing ones that didnt make sense to me, even at this last part I got two identical questions with the same result using the same answers but different words, need a fix for that. All and all I enjoyed listening to the Elections and getting most of it from the lector itself. Will recommend!

创建者 Rebecca G

Apr 6, 2021

This is a great program that has a lot of different components to keep you alert and on your toe's, with a mix of video's, reading, and hand's-on experience, your mind will always be engaged. It will put thing in a neat and organize layout so it's easy to follow. You have an almost unlimited source of reading materials and any questions you have starting out will surely be answered along the way. Tasks that seem so advance become easy and the process of hands-on training helps you retain the information long after the program is over. I really enjoyed the experience.

创建者 Christina J B

Oct 25, 2020

I can just say that at the beginner level this is really hard material to comprehend, they assume some parts of the network bits that you understand, which as you will notice that is not the case, now for someone who has some network background this might come off more familiar.

For me, it was difficult to understand and grasp the technical aspects of the content.

A lot of information, but i feel like i fully understand core networking concepts. A lot of this info has helped me comprehend what will be required for me when I take my Network + certification exam.

创建者 Antony J

Aug 14, 2020

This is a very dense and comprehensive course covering essential foundational material in networks. The presenter does an excellent job of explaining the material with enthusiasm. This course has met all my expectations and I am looking forward to the next course in the series. The key piece of advice I would give learners when taking The Bits and Bytes of Computer Networking is to actively learn, making sure to take notes and practice explaining the more complicated material such as the 5-layer model in your own words. This is a challenging course.

创建者 Jim O

Sep 3, 2020

I learned that Networking isn't scary, way above my head, and unlearnable. I am A+ certified and have avoided Network+ like the plaque. Maybe now I will try it. This is no small thing for me!

This was a challenging and enjoyable experience. I learned a lot. I gained more knowledge in Networking with this course than in my A+ certification.

Victor did a good job conveying the course material. The videos were engaging. I would recommend this course to those who want to gain a solid foundation of Networking concepts.

So, that's my experience!

创建者 Eduardo M

Mar 31, 2018

this course was more difficult than the first course. Overall , I would say the only thing that could be improved would be to somehow let us know what are the most important subjects to learn to help preparing for the quizes . sometimes i dont know what specifically are the key topics. i could be wrong but it seems like sometimes the intro video doesnt always highlight what are the most important subjects to learn. the course itself is becoming more challenging. hopefully this leads to that 30/hr job they said this will prepare you for .

创建者 Ashley A

Feb 18, 2021

This course was very informative! It was packed with so much information, but they did a really good job at breaking down the information in a way that makes more sense. I really enjoyed that they included a lot of visual and interactive aspects, to help you better understand how and why things work the way they do. It's A LOT of information, and can sometimes feel a bit overwhelming, but it was so worth it! I learned so much taking this course, and have already begun to apply some of the course material to some smaller scale tasks.

创建者 Erin B

Feb 25, 2019

I absolutely LOVED this course! It was interesting throughout, although I seemed to light up particularly in the troubleshooting section as well as where we're headed next in terms of cloud services and IPv6. I had to spend some extra time getting the practice of subnetting. I searched for other explanations with sample problems to ensure I really grasped it. The course was written well, and Victor delivered it masterfully. I am extremely appreciative of my newly gained knowledge, and am excited to build on it even further. Thanks!

创建者 David E T

Jun 21, 2019

I found this course vigorous and stimulating, yet satisfying. Having had some educational experience in some of the subjects of this course, I found there was more to learn. I learned much more about IPv6 and dealing with shrinking the address down to a lower common denominator. It had me scratching my head for a little awhile. Still, I'm grateful for learning more after coming in than what I had before coming in.

I'm looking forward to the upcoming courses so I can improve myself and become a better tech.

Thank you so very much.

创建者 Gena L

Feb 21, 2021

While I absolutely loved the instructor and his way of explaining the content, I did find the information to be very challenging and not always shown in a way that would easily translate into where and how to utilize the information in real life scenarios. However, there was lots of valuable takeaways and it did shine a lot of light onto the intricacy and detail that goes into computing and the behind the scenes of transmitting even the smallest piece of data. Take lots of notes and study often, the graded assessments are tough!

创建者 Adan N

Jul 17, 2020

This course was very good in explaining to me all of the technicals and complicated intricasies that go into computer networking. Wow, I was just blown away by how complicated yet seamless computers talk to each other. From the 5 layer application model, to the differences between TCP and UDP, to WPA2 vs WEP, to Adhoc Networks, to Frequency Channels that Mobile devices operate on, it was incredible in closing a lot of information gaps I had. This course, although very tough in some parts, was very good! I highly recommend it.

创建者 Luis S

Sep 15, 2020

Well designed course. I enjoyed watching the videos and the instructor inspired confidence and enjoyed "the blue skies and the clouds". If you are new to the field, all the terms (protocols, packets, datagrams, traceroute, nslookup and the like) will seem overwhelming but all pieces fall into place at some point. Just keep practicing and don't give up. Soon you will find yourself translating the terms when you see them in your daily life.....Now I know what that MAC address mean in my printer....Kudos Victor Escobedo.

创建者 Alice C

Nov 17, 2020

As a largely self-taught computer professional (training and systems operations) I was really happy learn all this information about networking, which I knew very little about, and which seemed to me like an arcane and mysterious field. This was a great overview. While I may not ever delve more deeply into the depths of networking (i'm more interested in moving into software development than networking) I feel better having learned this information. It was taught clearly, and the diagrams were very helpful.

Thank you.

创建者 Anastasia M

Feb 15, 2020

I work in Tech Support and lots of things I heard before, but I was missing the understanding of the physical and transport layer stuff. I really liked this course, it was not hard for me, but still very useful. Taking a CompTIA certification is not necessary for me, so I saved a ton of money by taking this course, which covers only what I need. Also, I found out that no one on my team heard of the Test-NetConnection command for Powershell. I will coach them and we all will be working a little bit more efficiently.

创建者 Noah B

Mar 20, 2019

So far, the difficulty has been upped by a notch and providing a challenge but it is rewarding in the sense that I am really challenging the knowledge I'm obtaining and making me want to comprehend it in the fullest. I am opening Pandora's box of knowledge and seeing where my cap off point is. I like the challenge and what it brings forth to the plate. But, I know there's more to be uncovered and more to know so it is very much rewarding and gratifying once I put all the pieces together and complete the puzzle.

创建者 Calasanz R Z

Feb 12, 2021

When I dive in on this learning journey, I programmed my mindset that it would not be easy. But it is worth investing my time to learn it. And the most important thing is I am enjoying this learning journey. And by the way, just to share with everybody, it is not about reaching the destination, it is all about the journey of having fun. :) A great course, and I am grateful and thankful for Coursera and Google. I am so excited for the next button to click on my next learning journey :) Try it and have fun!

创建者 Dheepak J

Aug 18, 2019

This is a great course that is tailor made for students and professionals aspiring to ramp up on their networking skills. Networking skills require quite a different mental mapping to understand how your thinking must be to understand intricate concepts. The history, current trend and the future evolution too have found a place in this phenomenal course - thanks to the efforts put in by the creators. There are inspiration videos embedded in between to boost your morale. Don't miss to check this course out.

创建者 Kevin P

Jun 18, 2020

This course was well balanced in theoretical and practical aspects. This course definitely made my fundamentals strong in the networking field. It was difficult for me to understand some concepts like DNS resource record and DNS zones which I feel should be taken in more depth. The examples of the ping, traceroute, and other commands in the real world networking scenario would have been an absolute knowledge booster. Anyway, I am thankful to Coursera and Google for helping me to guide learn this.

创建者 Michael M

Feb 1, 2021

I've taken a course like this once more about 15 years ago, and it literally took 3 months to teach a full class full of post adolescent kids how to understand this stuff and put it into practice. Because this portion was so heavy on technical details, I wonder if there is a more engaging way for students to really remember the material. Some of the projects could have included constructing IP Datagrams or Ethernet frames, or putting a network together from scratch. Otherwise, fantastic stuff.

创建者 BHARATH M J

Jun 17, 2020

I would like to specially thank the instructor Mr. Victor Escobedo, who is the best course instructor I have ever come across on Coursera! The eternal smile on his face, friendly tone and frequent Networking puns make the course all the more interesting and easy. All the other Google employees who made special appearances in this course also seemed so cool, that made me wonder what an amazing experience it would be to work with such people around everyday.

Thanks a lot to , Google and Coursera!

创建者 N R

Oct 16, 2020

I am always skeptical of online courses, but I would recommend this course to anyone, regardless of their career choice. The speakers are dynamic, the work is a great refresher and not too watered down, yet it also works great for someone who has no prior knowledge of computers or networking. Even if something drastic occurred and I couldn't use the certificate, it is well worth the time and money to learn about the technology we use everyday. Thank you for all of your efforts Google Team!

创建者 Sebastián F

Dec 31, 2020

I think it was a very interesting and technical course, it allows to understand how networks and communications work all in sync, basically it helps put a lot of concepts together. I suppose in the next courses we will see more of the troubleshooting and for example how to diagnose using DNS or some network configurations with examples. Though I think it would be useful to insert some real scenarios here as well. I think the example interview introduced in between is an awesome addition.

创建者 Alfred C

Aug 7, 2019

The amount and way the information was presented was amazing! They made some very complicated concepts understandable for ordinary people to understand. Obviously, you won't be able to remember and digest everything in one go, which is why taking great notes is essential if you want to get your money and time worth. Simply watching this and nodding along without any prior knowledge to networking will be ineffective in understanding the material. Overall, would recommend to anyone.

创建者 Elizabeth B

Feb 9, 2020

This course was a bit more difficult than it's predecessor, but that was to be expected. Overall I found this course both amazingly informative but also interesting. Like the previous course the instructor took the time to explain things in simple laymen terms before using esoteric terms. The course did not feel rushed nor was the information so dense that it was overwhelming. I highly recommend this course to anyone who is a beginner but would like to know more about networking.

创建者 Curtis W

Nov 10, 2020

Fantastic! Instructor was awesome. Tons of information to digest. I definitely will be referring back to this course for refreshers. I just can't wait to see how I apply this in the real world! I'm excited! Google, if you're getting this messages, you got yourself a dedicated IT person in the making! Please please please get me my first shot in a professional role or maybe a company you recommend! Thank you so much for building this course. I'm excited to learn more!- Curtis