Chevron Left
返回到 Concurrent Programming in Java

学生对 莱斯大学 提供的 Concurrent Programming in Java 的评价和反馈

4.5
406 个评分
66 个审阅

课程概述

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of concurrent programming in the context of Java 8. Concurrent programming enables developers to efficiently and correctly mediate the use of shared resources in parallel programs. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use basic concurrency constructs in Java such as threads, locks, critical sections, atomic variables, isolation, actors, optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections, as well as their theoretical foundations (e.g., progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability). Why take this course? • It is important for you to be aware of the theoretical foundations of concurrency to avoid common but subtle programming errors. • Java 8 has modernized many of the concurrency constructs since the early days of threads and locks. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on the forums. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Concurrency theory: progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability • Use of threads and structured/unstructured locks in Java • Atomic variables and isolation • Optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections in Java (e.g., concurrent queues, concurrent hashmaps) • Actor model in Java Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of concurrent Java programs, and will also help you master other concurrent programming system that you may encounter in the future (e.g., POSIX threads, .NET threads)....

热门审阅

PS

Sep 02, 2017

Great course. With minimal effort you can learn about important concepts and see immediate results regarding the actual speedup you can achieve using concurrent programming.

SM

Nov 12, 2017

This was a good course and covered all the topics relevant to the course. I liked the Optimistic Concurrency in week 4 - that was an area I was not exposed to before

筛选依据:

26 - Concurrent Programming in Java 的 50 个评论(共 65 个)

创建者 Benjamin G J

Aug 10, 2018

Much stronger in mini-projects than the first course.

创建者 Sudharaka P

Nov 19, 2018

Great course to understand the fundamentals of concurrent programming!

创建者 Jad C

Oct 09, 2018

Great course, it focuses on the basics and let you master them

创建者 Robinson S

May 19, 2019

The course is very good, teaching in simple way several complex questions.

创建者 Mahesh B G

May 31, 2019

I enjoyed doing this course more than the Parallel Programming in Java

创建者 Naveen L

Jul 15, 2019

The course is pretty good and lays down the basic theoretical knowledge about concurrency needed to begin developing expertise in this field. The quizzes and projects help you remember and understand the theoretical aspects while at the same time the projects also give you a glimpse of how the learned theory and aspects are applied in a more realistic coding setting rather than pseudo code.

创建者 Elias R

Jul 29, 2019

Very interesting and comprehensive. Maybe a little bit too easy.

创建者 Prabhakar K S

Aug 11, 2019

one best course to understand the foundation for threads and concurrent programming.

创建者 Ag I B A D

Sep 17, 2019

great course on concurrency topic

创建者 RAHUL T

Oct 17, 2019

Nice course!!

创建者 Amr H G

Nov 24, 2019

Amazing course to learn about concurrent programming

创建者 marcos h b p

Nov 11, 2019

Very practical course, it gave me understanding details about concurrency I've never heard before.

Thanks Professor

创建者 Luciano F

Jan 28, 2019

Lo consiglio a tutti, Vorrei soltanto che gli argomenti fossero affrontati più approfonditamente dal punto di vista teorico

创建者 Guillermo D

Jan 03, 2019

Excelent course, just some mixups with the concurrent API used in the assignment for Week3

创建者 vini g

Apr 12, 2019

Better than Parallel Programming

I would prefer more assignments.

创建者 Atsuya K

Feb 06, 2018

A good primer to concurrent programming. Week 3 and Week 4 assignments are well-designed.

创建者 Cong X

Nov 10, 2017

It's a good introductory course. The programming assignment are indeed too simple though...

创建者 Antonio J M G

May 13, 2018

Only thing I missed are more optional exercises, otherwise a great course.

创建者 Xiao X

Mar 15, 2018

The feedback will be similar to the first course, parallel programming in java, such that the course contents are good. The lecturer can explain the theory very well. But the homework is just repeating of the demo video. I hope we can have the opportunity to practice the actual thread creation, joining, etc. instead of using the API call.

创建者 Samuele M

May 06, 2018

Good course, with relevant basics of concurrency, even if I expected deeper and detailed contents.

创建者 Simon C

Oct 18, 2017

Very interesting! i hope that the third is the same

创建者 Konstantin M

Dec 10, 2017

Generally, provided material is very usefull in modern programming experience.

Something I would change in the course program are instructions to use custom PCDP library. This hardly can be used in real-life projects in future. Some original Java constructions is a better choice for me.

创建者 Fu S W

Aug 09, 2017

some suggestions: *the assignment is too easy.*

perhaps make more mini projects with different situations to solve:

parallelize simple program (more!!) / identify and fix deadlock / livelock / improve performance for bad implementation)

thanks for your great effort in offering this course! GREAT JOB!

创建者 Travis W

Jul 30, 2018

A lot of my time has been wasted due to a very poor explanation of actors. All it takes is "Actors have their own threads and that is how they are concurrent.

创建者 Josefine L

Jul 09, 2018

Very good, but I'd like more practical examples and walk-troughs. If you don't get it the in the only example or the demo, then you're left on your own to Google for more examples and a deeper understanding.