Chevron Left
返回到 Concurrent Programming in Java

学生对 莱斯大学 提供的 Concurrent Programming in Java 的评价和反馈

4.5
511 个评分
91 条评论

课程概述

This course teaches learners (industry professionals and students) the fundamental concepts of concurrent programming in the context of Java 8. Concurrent programming enables developers to efficiently and correctly mediate the use of shared resources in parallel programs. By the end of this course, you will learn how to use basic concurrency constructs in Java such as threads, locks, critical sections, atomic variables, isolation, actors, optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections, as well as their theoretical foundations (e.g., progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability). Why take this course? • It is important for you to be aware of the theoretical foundations of concurrency to avoid common but subtle programming errors. • Java 8 has modernized many of the concurrency constructs since the early days of threads and locks. • During the course, you will have online access to the instructor and mentors to get individualized answers to your questions posted on the forums. • Each of the four modules in the course includes an assigned mini-project that will provide you with the necessary hands-on experience to use the concepts learned in the course on your own, after the course ends. The desired learning outcomes of this course are as follows: • Concurrency theory: progress guarantees, deadlock, livelock, starvation, linearizability • Use of threads and structured/unstructured locks in Java • Atomic variables and isolation • Optimistic concurrency and concurrent collections in Java (e.g., concurrent queues, concurrent hashmaps) • Actor model in Java Mastery of these concepts will enable you to immediately apply them in the context of concurrent Java programs, and will also help you master other concurrent programming system that you may encounter in the future (e.g., POSIX threads, .NET threads)....

热门审阅

PS

Sep 02, 2017

Great course. With minimal effort you can learn about important concepts and see immediate results regarding the actual speedup you can achieve using concurrent programming.

SM

Nov 12, 2017

This was a good course and covered all the topics relevant to the course. I liked the Optimistic Concurrency in week 4 - that was an area I was not exposed to before

筛选依据:

51 - Concurrent Programming in Java 的 75 个评论(共 91 个)

创建者 Vaibhav j

Sep 24, 2017

Great

创建者 Partha B

Feb 14, 2019

Good

创建者 Donghao F

Sep 09, 2017

nice

创建者 Xiao X

Mar 15, 2018

The feedback will be similar to the first course, parallel programming in java, such that the course contents are good. The lecturer can explain the theory very well. But the homework is just repeating of the demo video. I hope we can have the opportunity to practice the actual thread creation, joining, etc. instead of using the API call.

创建者 Fu S W

Aug 09, 2017

some suggestions: *the assignment is too easy.*

perhaps make more mini projects with different situations to solve:

parallelize simple program (more!!) / identify and fix deadlock / livelock / improve performance for bad implementation)

thanks for your great effort in offering this course! GREAT JOB!

创建者 Konstantin M

Dec 10, 2017

Generally, provided material is very usefull in modern programming experience.

Something I would change in the course program are instructions to use custom PCDP library. This hardly can be used in real-life projects in future. Some original Java constructions is a better choice for me.

创建者 Jimmy C C

Jun 30, 2020

Good refresher on concurrency from my OS class. The concurrent minimum spanning tree was interesting, but the assignment for it has a pretty bad grading system. Lectures are clear, except the linearizability part.

创建者 Ankit M

May 18, 2020

Actors could use a bit more time and i would add like small coding exercises in the middle may be ? Also, grading could be a bit ore lenient with speed up. I had to submit multiple times with very minor changes.

创建者 Andrew D M

Jan 26, 2020

Course content is well-structured and covers basic topics of concurrent programming.

However, code quality and tests for exercises could be better. Usually to pass an assignment you have to send it many times.

创建者 Josefine L

Jul 09, 2018

Very good, but I'd like more practical examples and walk-troughs. If you don't get it the in the only example or the demo, then you're left on your own to Google for more examples and a deeper understanding.

创建者 André F L C

Jul 04, 2019

Este curso depende del curso de Paralelismo, por esta razón se debe tomar los cursos en orden. Debería tener mas ejemplos de código para un mejor feedback de la teoría.

创建者 Travis W

Jul 30, 2018

A lot of my time has been wasted due to a very poor explanation of actors. All it takes is "Actors have their own threads and that is how they are concurrent.

创建者 Junqi X

Mar 17, 2020

The course overall is good, but the autograder of assignment can be improved so that the students will not get frustrated to their answer for such long time

创建者 Shruti

May 01, 2020

It was a really interesting course where the things were presented in a very simplified manner in which I could learn the topics in a short span of time.

创建者 Yuhao W

Oct 24, 2019

content with just naming and simple theories of terms, is oversimplified. Actually Concurrent Java is harder and can be taught much more deeply!!

创建者 Sohit S G

Jan 27, 2020

The course was niece. It could have made of use of a programming language from scrath rather than depending on the pre-built library.

创建者 Luciano F

Jan 28, 2019

Lo consiglio a tutti, Vorrei soltanto che gli argomenti fossero affrontati più approfonditamente dal punto di vista teorico

创建者 Samuele M

May 06, 2018

Good course, with relevant basics of concurrency, even if I expected deeper and detailed contents.

创建者 John O O

Aug 06, 2019

This course is great!... But... it could be better if code explanations are giving in the videos.

创建者 Cong X

Nov 10, 2017

It's a good introductory course. The programming assignment are indeed too simple though...

创建者 Guillermo D

Jan 03, 2019

Excelent course, just some mixups with the concurrent API used in the assignment for Week3

创建者 Atsuya K

Feb 06, 2018

A good primer to concurrent programming. Week 3 and Week 4 assignments are well-designed.

创建者 Omkar N

Apr 01, 2020

Needs more assignments and would benefit from prescribing optional real world projects.

创建者 Lakshmanan P

Aug 12, 2019

It was a great course introducing the learner about various aspects of Concurrency .

创建者 prabhakar k

May 28, 2020

i learn new way to solve java concurrent programming questions.thanks to Coursera.