Chevron Left
返回到 Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

学生对 哥伦比亚大学 提供的 Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control 的评价和反馈

4.7
822 个评分
161 条评论

课程概述

This course introduces the types of cost estimation from the conceptual design phase through the more detailed design phase of a construction project. In addition, the course highlights the importance of controlling costs and how to monitor project cash flow. Students will work on a break-even analysis of construction tasks in a project....

热门审阅

AS

Dec 16, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed explanations provided by Professor Odeh and the professionals from Turner & Townsend. My most favourite part was the lectures of Sam Spata and Ben Miller.

VG

Feb 01, 2019

Very interesting course with substantial and important information and knowledge to get you familiar with cost estimating and cost control. Very practical and close to reality examples.

筛选依据:

1 - Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control 的 25 个评论(共 158 个)

创建者 Joel T

Apr 18, 2018

This is my second time through this course. The first time through I failed the peer graded assignment because a peer didn't agree that one of the four answers was correct. The second time through a peer counted a different answer as being incorrect and I failed again. I believe my answers are correct, I've asked for the correct answer and have not received a reply. There is no learning benefit to submitting peer graded assignments and just hope peers come up with the same answer and never knowing the correct answer. Without feedback from the instructor, I guess I'll have to take this course for a third time and hope that a peer agrees with all of my answers.

创建者 Tuna Y

Aug 26, 2018

Dear Mr. Ibrahim,

First of all thank you for all your efforts and all professionals who are contributed to preparations of this specialization. As a construction professional experienced in airport projects for 10 years and electrical construction manager i found this course useful to refresh information and catch up with up to date trends of construction. I would like to make only a suggestion regarding to this particular Cost Estimating and Cost Control course, May be you can consider to add a session about MEP estimating roughly mentions about mechanical requirements, power requirements and possible cost estimating methodologies on MEP Bids. Another session may be mentioned in LEAN section for Target Value Design.

Thank you very much again for your efforts.

Best Regards

Tuna Yekeler

创建者 Simin S

Jul 22, 2018

This great course is really helpful to my work, thanks to all professors of this course, and really appreciate yours knowledge!!

创建者 Luis G Z

May 23, 2019

Course should include more exercises. Questions in quizzes were many times unclear and just an exercise of memory, not for real learning/understanding concepts. Last section on "Lean" is poor, very confusing, with far too many mixed concepts, very difficult to understand, even though the concept itself looks simple.

创建者 Server B

Jun 28, 2018

first few week Presenters are just reading from prompters.. no enthusiasm.. no interactive learning… boring.. examples they use as if it is from an ancient text… very outdated.. They could have at least shared the slides or fıles they show for example. very dry... need much improvement

创建者 Karl B

Jan 30, 2017

You need to be working in a specific discipline to do each line item on a spreadsheet for detailed estimating. Here several ways of estimating are presented from budget to detail. Also Lean philosophy is incorporated. Owner cost protection and project specification, with respect to cost and ROI are addressed.

In short if you are already an engineer, then these concepts are job applicable Right A Way (RAW).

If you are learning, then this is also the right place to start. It may open a new door for your next job.

You can list this achievement to your CV/Resume.

I recommend you take all 4 parts of the Construction Management program thru Coursera, course work created by Columbia University.

创建者 Renata B F

May 04, 2017

Este curso apresenta algumas ferramentas para a elaboração de orçamento. Quais itens devem fazer parte do orçamentos, quantas fases temos na elaboração do orçamento, desde do inicial até o detalhado. Apresenta também um pouco sobre a gestão de orçamento nos EUA, que parece ser bem parecido com o que encontramos no Brasil. Para quem tem experiencia na área vale a pena para conhecer a estratégias nos EUA. Para quem não tem experiencia, e não conhece o vocabulário em português terá dificuldade em entender em inglês, porque a tradução "ao pé da letra" não funciona. Eu gostei bastante do curso e indico a quem tem experiência na área que faça.

创建者 Mustafa S O

Oct 04, 2017

As a Cost Control Engineer I have learned new things and enforced my knowledge, thanks to this class I will have a more systematic approach to cost controlling. The speakers were very good and informative. as a constructive critique the the BIM or 5D class was a little vague for people not acquainted with the software. and although I have learned very useful things in the lean class, it would have been really good if there was an example on operational cost control during the project construction. I would like to thank all of the speakers.

创建者 Shawky G

May 26, 2017

I liked the material I learned in these classes. Although I have been life time (35+ years) in the field of construction -Started as a designer architect and then switched to a field engineer and a construction manage-I found so many topics in these courses new to me specially in the Construction Finance class. I do appreciate the chance which introduced me to Coursera - University of Columbia classes.

创建者 Gabriel M

Feb 13, 2018

Very informative course which covers the basics and foundations of Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control. The Earned Value Method module was very interesting and useful. In addition, all professors are extremely qualified and experienced. To wrap it up, I recommend this course to anyone interesting in learning the foundations of Cost Control and Cost Estimating.

创建者 Jeffrey R

Sep 11, 2018

Provided easy-to-follow, in-depth instruction on best-practices and tools used in the Cost-Estimating / Control for commercial construction projects. The guest lecturers bring in great real-world expertise that gives valuable insight into managing error margins and the overall flow of a project. Highly recommend this course.

创建者 Geder M J

Oct 07, 2019

Excellent course! Convenient at the right pace. I will highly recommend this course to anyone who will like to enhance their cost estimating and control skills. In addition, anyone interested with the willingness to learn about Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control will benefit from this course.

创建者 Muhammad A

Mar 10, 2019

Its a perfectly designed course. I learnt how to control cost in construction industry. Effective ways of cost control and latest technology which are used for effective cost control. Recommend to join this course. Keep Learning. Thanks to Coursera and all the respective professors.

创建者 ajay k

Dec 27, 2018

This course enable you to have better undertaking of cost estimation methods, factor influencing the cost estimation, cost control and representation method on graphs. I suggest this course for all civil engineers who are either working with general contractors or with developers.

创建者 ANA L E J

May 24, 2019

Buen curso, me gustaría recibir retroalimentaciòn o hacer preguntas a los profesores, que tuviera material para descargar y mas tareas, tambièn que profundice mas en algunos temas, pero en general es un excelente curso que me ha hecho decidir a tomar educaciòn formal en el tema.

创建者 Kaustubh K B

Sep 19, 2019

A huge information disintegrated part by part with a thorough sense of construction technique and knowledge. I would like to thank all Lecturers for enlightening us with the precious knowledge and making it simple for us to grasp it and implement in our careers..

创建者 Bishoy G G A

May 26, 2019

It was a very helpful and dynamic course which contained many useful knowledges regarding cost estimation and cost control aspects. I gained many important information that will help me a lot.

I would like to say thanks to Coursera and to my Instructors.

创建者 shahid a

Apr 02, 2018

I am feeling honour and prestige to get this interesting and knowledgeable course . The course was complete and properly organized and arranged with justified course content, modules, slides, videos, text, assignments , suggestion and quiz sections.

创建者 Vikas M

May 18, 2019

I learned a lot about estimating and cost control. I liked the 5D Cost Estimating concept. I liked the use of Lean in Estimating and Cost Control. The presentation on Program Cost Control was very good and all the presentations were very good.

创建者 Paul S

Feb 04, 2019

This course was really interesting for me to get an understanding on the various tools and methods for making estimations, the degrees of design, how quantity take off is done and how finance is managed in projects and programs.

创建者 Terron J D

Jun 13, 2019

Excellent course on Cost Estimating and Cost Control! Learn new techniques and also resharpen existing knowledge on budgeting, procurement and earned value model. The S-Curve and the Lean method were the biggest takeaways.

创建者 John M A M

Apr 27, 2018

The module is very detailed that you tend to research more on the topics being discussed. As a quantity surveyor, this is very helpful especially if you are still in your junior years. The speakers speak very clearly.

创建者 Ajay S

Dec 16, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed explanations provided by Professor Odeh and the professionals from Turner & Townsend. My most favourite part was the lectures of Sam Spata and Ben Miller.

创建者 Vyron G

Feb 01, 2019

Very interesting course with substantial and important information and knowledge to get you familiar with cost estimating and cost control. Very practical and close to reality examples.

创建者 Suyog P

Jun 18, 2018

One of the important course in specializations. Many useful tools can be found in this course which are used in construction industry and project management.