Chevron Left
返回到 Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics

学生对 俄罗斯国家研究型高等经济大学 提供的 Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics 的评价和反馈

4.8
258 个评分
98 条评论

课程概述

Geopolitics is all around us, it happens every day. The course shows the connection between geography and international relations, the origins of geopolitical concepts and ideas, how countries view the world around them, why their views are different and how space and distance determine economic ties and security concerns. Students, employees of public and private companies involved in international activity, as well as simply curious people can find this course basic, but interesting and useful. This course introduces geopolitics – one of the ways to interpret and explain international relations in the modern world. To do this, you will study the origins of this discipline, as well as its concepts that determined foreign policy decisions in the XX century. After that, we will look at the most recent versions of geopolitics and how some of them can be used for critical analysis. The main goal of the course is to understand the geopolitical approach to international relations and learn how to use it to explain and predict events taking place at the regional or global level. This includes studying theories, using them for case studies, passing tests to assess knowledge and correct understanding of the geopolitical approach. The course has no prerequisites, though it is desirable that the listeners have an interest in international politics, know the world map well and the changes that took place there in the XX century. The course "Political Geography and the Modern World", which is held at the HSE before studying Modern Geopolitics and which was created to prepare students for the study of theories of international relations, can help you with this. The course is for: • Those who are interested in international relations • Students in Politics, Regional Studies and Social Sciences • Those who want to find links and causalities between geography and international politics • Students who like history and who want to know the nature of major international events in the XX century • Those who prefer online format and a quick and basic explanation of international processes • For everyone who wants to know about the world around us The course consists of short video lectures from 6 to 11 minutes, in which invaluable questions are included. An estimated test of 10-15 questions will take place every week. In the end of the online course there is a final exam in the form of test. The course allows you to interpret international events in different ways, evaluate and predict them from perspective of different geopolitical approaches....

热门审阅

GS
Jun 10, 2020

I found this course very well organized, informative and knowledge enriching. I really enjoyed doing this course. Thank you very much to coursera and the college for providing this oppoetunity.

SI
Jun 10, 2020

The course is indubitably informative, and of great help in understanding the evolution of geopolitics as well has the historical context behind many of the present-day geopolitical equations.

筛选依据:

76 - Introduction to Contemporary Geopolitics 的 99 个评论(共 99 个)

创建者 Rajat N

Jun 25, 2020

Great course. Detailed to the core..

创建者 Marco G

Nov 20, 2021

Excellent course, I learned a lot

创建者 Alessandro S

Jul 17, 2021

Great Course ! Great value !

创建者 FRANK A

Aug 4, 2020

A VERY INTERESTING COURSE

创建者 Zhengyi X

Sep 6, 2021

very interesting course!

创建者 Francisco A G B

Aug 29, 2020

Excelent profesor!!!

创建者 Zaylobiddin T S u

Oct 18, 2021

thanks for lecturer

创建者 Md. M M

Jul 16, 2020

It's tremendous

创建者 SANTOSH K S

May 18, 2020

Good experience

创建者 SIEVFONG O

Apr 21, 2021

Great course!

创建者 POLICHRONAKIS D

Oct 3, 2021

fantastic!!!

创建者 Roberto X J V

Nov 21, 2021

E​xcelente

创建者 Khaoula E

Dec 27, 2021

excellent

创建者 José L E T

Nov 6, 2020

Excelent!

创建者 Claudio C

Jul 2, 2020

Very good course, very good introduction to geopolitics. It gave the theories, case studies and provided the students with good background materials (articles and books) as well as references to go deeper. It would be good if in the future students can get also, as they do in other MOOCs, the pdf of the slides. I appreciated it very much to be able to take the quizzes, which is not very common any longer as it used to be, unless one pays for the certificate. Thank you.

创建者 Marc P G

Mar 24, 2021

Overall, a good course to get started in the field of geopolitics. It provides an overview of the history of geopolitics, from the imperialist era to our world today. The course is well-structured and follows a time-linear path, so it is quite easy to follow. Quizzes are a little bit challenging, but this course is definitely a must for those interested in the major current geopolitical actors.

创建者 Toni S

Aug 11, 2020

I found the course challenging since it's been many years since I had to study International Relations at this level. I noticed that some of the suggested readings were not available but taking thorough notes and using the Internet made up for the missing readings. I enjoyed the lectures and learned a great deal.

创建者 Fernando P D

Feb 20, 2021

Albeit a little repetitive at times (to be expected from an introductory course) all of its lessons were very interesting and rigorous, and the teacher mr. Skriba was clear and concise. I'd highly recommend this course to anybody interested in getting introduced in Geopolitics. Good job!

创建者 German C

Jun 28, 2020

Engaging and informative course. Good introduction to the field which makes you feel like wanting more. In this sense the professor accomplished his goal. On the constructive side, the quizzes sometimes marked the correct answer as incorrect. Overall outstanding!

创建者 Justin K

Aug 3, 2020

Great course to explain goverment actions from 1850 to 2020.

HSE is a great school and I would take other online courses.

创建者 Joshua A

Dec 28, 2021

i​mpressed with the course content and the lay out of the course...............

创建者 Catherine T

Feb 7, 2021

This was an enjoyable course, particularly the majority of the course that dealt with the history and development of Geopolitics. The slides were really extensive and I ended up with a surprising amount of notes from taking this. The supplementary readings are also really great.

I ended up pretty bothered by the final few modules of the course that focused on geopolitical history and strategies of the US, Russian and China. It fairly transparently painted Russia and China in an overly favorable light despite those two regimes currently being dictatorships and kleptocracies, and the framing of China's Belt and Road initiative was actually shockingly dishonest. Anyone who carefully follows that will be really taken aback by how they present it. The anti-US rhetoric was also way over the top, painting the US and to a lesser extent Western Europe as being a bully of these two countries rather than acknowledging the more uncomfortable fact that the west is responding to unfavorable behavior from Russia and China. The presenter really lost credibility with me there as it seemed to lose objectivity and move to trying to impart a political message favorable to the Russia/China relationship specifically. The guest presenters in the China module, particularly the second guy, showed a very deep political bias. The earlier modules dealing with the history and development of geopolitics were much more objective and enjoyable.

I'm giving this 3 stars because while the historical portion of it has really flushed out the context for my understanding of current geopolitics and given me a lot of launching points to continue my own reading, I wasn't really able to get over the overt political bias of the last third of the course.

创建者 Tudor U

Feb 28, 2021

Had some problems understanding the lecturer due to his accent. Had different expectations regarding instructions on how to research what I want to know. However I got to keep some books and that is a good thing. Thank you

创建者 Tan K

Jun 25, 2020

There are lectures missing and correct answers are marked incorrect. This course needs to be edited.