Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,343 个评分
385 条评论

课程概述

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

热门审阅

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

ND

Aug 08, 2016

Excellent teaching, be aware the meat of this course is in the interviews. If you read and watch them then the assignments are self-explanatory. The discussion boards were however a disappointment.

筛选依据:

226 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的 250 个评论(共 379 个)

创建者 Cara C

Jan 06, 2019

Wonderful, inspiring.

创建者 Hoang T B N

Apr 21, 2020

It's really helpful.

创建者 Cieara W E

Jun 08, 2020

Very informative

创建者 Alina

Jun 04, 2020

Excellent course

创建者 Esther M

Nov 03, 2016

Good job Brando.

创建者 Florencia P

Oct 16, 2017

Extrordinary!!!

创建者 LEEEEEO

Jan 29, 2018

要是有中文翻译就更棒了。。。

创建者 xiaoqiang

Aug 14, 2016

learned a lot!

创建者 Ismael P M

Apr 14, 2016

vbcbbcbcbcvbcv

创建者 Amruta B

Apr 27, 2020

Great session

创建者 Остапец Д Д

Aug 31, 2018

Thank you :-)

创建者 Julian M

Jul 25, 2017

Lovely class.

创建者 Mary B P

Aug 28, 2016

Great course.

创建者 JOHN Q

Jun 25, 2016

great course!

创建者 Yunus Ç

Jul 27, 2020

thx for all

创建者 Molly G

Jul 09, 2018

Brilliant!

创建者 Patricia R

May 16, 2017

excellent!

创建者 Lily

Jan 26, 2017

very great

创建者 Daniel C

Dec 15, 2016

Excellent.

创建者 Iris R

Jun 29, 2016

Thank you.

创建者 josé c l h

Jul 21, 2018

A vibrant

创建者 Viktoryia

Mar 29, 2017

Amazing!

创建者 Joey L

Oct 06, 2016

Typically writing courses deal with either the business of writing, or the pretentious art and literature side of writing. Almost nobody deals with the science of writing. Where is the talk on motivational arrows? Character likabilities like being unrelenting? Where is the meta-analysis of good techniques in writing? meta-data is the future of defining the science of writing, but it's not mentioned here even slightly. What about will he/won't he moments? Backstory interacting and being relevant to the plot? What about fish out of water? This course doesn't even touch upon foundational pillars and tenets that make good writing. I couldn't imagine paying for this course, since I've already paid too much with my time. As it stands, I could have taught a better course than this, and maybe some day I'll be so fortunate as to move writing studies in the right direction, towards the truth that older generation teachers are unwilling to accept: that good writing is empirical, and therefore can be learned.

创建者 Lyn S

May 17, 2020

I am ok with everything about this course EXCEPT that I have had to critique pieces written in Spanish and just got my first "my submission" comments in Spanish--my name is not Hispanic and this should not have happened. And although I've tried very hard to be tolerant and supportive, some of the non-English as first language speakers are writing pieces that are barely passable as English. I got the feeling that first-language English speakers were a minority in this and other Creative Writing Block courses I've taken on Coursera.

Lyn Sedwick Shuster, lasmd925@aol.com

创建者 Sophie S

Aug 06, 2018

I didn't love the videos in this course very much – they just weren't very helpful. They had some interesting thoughts, but for the most part they felt repetitive and for someone who hasn't written much creative writing.

However, I really liked the assignments and peer editing. This course challenged me to create characters I wouldn't have otherwise, and made me think more about how the heart of a story is really in the character's hands. I got a lot more out of challenging myself with the assignments and getting surprising feedback than watching the videos.