Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的评价和反馈

4.5
1,213 个评分
351 条评论

课程概述

At the center of a good story are the characters in it. In this course aspiring writers will discover how to build and bring to life complex, vivid and unforgettable characters. We will study the choices a writer makes to bring all characters to life on the page, and we will perform written exercises in order to develop a variety of writing and pre-writing techniques, in order to create a variety of characters. We will learn how to use our own life experiences, and the people we know (and how not to!). We will develop inner (thoughts and feelings) and outer (appearance, habits, behavior) lives for our characters and see how that can lead us to richer and more interesting stories. We will breathe life into our characters and let them surprise us....

热门审阅

SS

Aug 11, 2016

I loved this course! Extremely useful and hands on. The course instructor was really impressive, both informative and empathetic, both arty and to the point. Totally admired her style of instruction.

NF

Nov 25, 2019

The information I need to craft compelling characters. Wouldn't have learned this information just by reading books! Amy is an excellent instructor, and the work is challenging but not unreachable.

筛选依据:

251 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Character 的 275 个评论(共 346 个)

创建者 Eve B

Dec 02, 2017

I really enjoyed the lectures of the course and found Amy Bloom to be an informative and relatable writer and lecturer. The assignments were a bit odd, in my opinion, but maybe that's the way writing assignments are in general?

创建者 Noha D

Nov 08, 2017

Good course, i have learned few very useful concepts, thanks to Amy.

The last assignment was genius, helped us to really recognize differences between two POV,.

However, first assignments were a little bit confusing.

创建者 Andrea G G

May 06, 2020

The course improved my skills on writing the stories from different perspectives and points of view. It pretty much complement the other course about plot. I am very satisfied with the things I've learnt so far.

创建者 Jane D

Jul 31, 2019

I enjoyed the lectures, but perhaps there could be more examples in writing. Like parts of stories we could read, especially with idiosyncrasies. I felt like I needed to see those things in action, on paper.

创建者 Sharon

Mar 15, 2016

I enjoyed Amy Bloom's guidelines and am keen to create some well rounded characters. Thank you for enabling me to follow along without having to pay ( no evaluation of the assignments).

创建者 lisa r

Jun 17, 2016

This course was very interesting and the assignments were good. I thought it relied too much on conversations with other authors but overall it was enjoyable and I learned new skills.

创建者 S. J W

Mar 20, 2016

I do not understand why these courses over lap. I finished #2 today, tried to start #3 but found that I had 10 hours to complete the first weeks assignment? Who is in charge out there?

创建者 Mohammad S

Jun 25, 2017

The assignments tend to be very confusing, I understand that they make sense for making characters, the difficulty might just be with the characters, but they are quite confusing.

创建者 Tomilyn R

Sep 30, 2018

Coursera technology should improve since many people don't take the critiques seriously, and there's no way to measure someone who just writes 'yes' in every box.

创建者 Kimberly F

Aug 22, 2019

I liked this class, but would have gotten more out of it had there been less conversation videos. I like some direct lecture to cement new knowledge.

创建者 Kaitlyn B

Aug 08, 2019

This was a good course that helped me broaden my POV writing style, though the assignments were difficult to do, and one was difficult to understand.

创建者 Keith G

Oct 03, 2019

I found the content useful but was irritated by how parochial the references to other writers were. There is a big wide world outside of the USA!

创建者 Geoff N

Feb 27, 2017

A well thought out course that was very illuminating. Not sure about the complexity of week 2's assignment, but overall good value.

创建者 Catalina v w

Oct 17, 2019

I found this course less informative than the Craft of Plot. A lot of the assignments seemed to have little to do with the videos.

创建者 Andrea G

Mar 23, 2016

I liked it overall, though there were some glitches and I was hoping that there'd be at least some feedback from course organizer.

创建者 Fernanda B

Oct 25, 2017

I loved this course, but sometimes the assignments weren't quite clear. Apart from that, the teacher is genius and it's great.

创建者 Iryna A

Aug 09, 2017

Even though I enjoyed the course, I found the description of the assignments sometimes very confusing and lacking in details.

创建者 J-Man

Oct 24, 2019

A helpful overall look at character but not particularly deep, still useful even for a refresher when writing something new

创建者 Chew W Y

Jun 22, 2016

The material is interesting and relevant. I found the assignments challenging and the review questions slightly lengthy.

创建者 BAVISETTY V P

May 08, 2020

Very good course..i loved the way the instructor handed this course.Especially,i felt the tips she had given were Gold.

创建者 Max H

Jun 29, 2017

the assignment descriptions are very confusing so I'd recommend looking into the forums for help. decent videos

创建者 Ali N

Sep 19, 2018

Enjoyed the lectures, but the assignments were poorly explained and definitely could have been better.

创建者 Sandra D

Jan 29, 2019

The course could have been delivered better, but I enjoyed the challenging assignments.

创建者 Esther Z

Jul 30, 2019

A little boring at times but lots of valuable information on how to build a character.

创建者 Robert M H

May 04, 2018

n

e

x

c

e

l

l

e

n

t

w

o

r

k

s

h

o

p

t

h

a

t

m

a

d

e

m

e

t

h

i

n

k

m

u

c

h

m

o

r

e

a

b

o

u

t

m

y

c

h

a

r

a

c

t

e

r

s

a

s

c

o

m

p

l

e

t

e

beings