Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的评价和反馈

4.7
3,656 个评分
1,225 条评论

课程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

热门审阅

BM
Nov 4, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

MM
Nov 30, 2016

Great course to take as the first step in the sequence of the "Creative Writing" certification. Exercises are fun, professor provides useful methodology, load is manageable for someone with a day job.

筛选依据:

1001 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 1025 个评论(共 1,202 个)

创建者 Arvind N V

May 23, 2016

I learnt invaluable things in this course. I never knew of the Freytag's pyramid or the 21 point act structure etc and little by little, after doing the exercises, I feel I have learnt to edit my manuscript well enough. That has been my achievement as a learner of this course. Thanks a lot for the course. :)

创建者 Sijmen V

Jan 14, 2021

The background and theoretical information was really usefull. Also the interviews with the writing professors offered a lot. The assignments however lacked true depth. Peer reviewing the work of others proved to be hard. 50% of the works I reviewed were unreadable because of the level of english presented.

创建者 Samala K

Sep 30, 2017

As the first class that I've done on Coursera, I really enjoyed the online videos and assignments. The only issue is that I would've like to have had a real professor read my work. Though I see the value (and logistical ease) of peer reviewers I didn't get credit sometimes and I didn't think it was fair.

创建者 Pam N

Jun 9, 2017

The course has very focused elements of structure and helps the student to learn how to use different elements to understand and evaluate her own story structure. For me, this made it much easier to understand some reasons why a story might not work or how it could be edited to good effect. I enjoyed it.

创建者 sanika s

Apr 29, 2019

A great well detailed course with interesting assignments. It really got me writing, gave me constructive feedback and confidence in my writing style. The technicalities involved in creative writing were nicely explained in a fun way. Heartfelt thanks to the instructor and all the guest authors.

创建者 Ajay C

Nov 13, 2017

The course was great, learned a lot and enjoyed the assignments.

From the reviews it seemed that some of my peers understood certain terms differently. I am pretty certain the way I understood things were correct and also think my peers feel the same way. That's the only drawback I experienced.

创建者 ANGEL Y S V

Jul 28, 2020

Sé que no debería ser así y las personas que tomamos este curso ya estamos grandes, pero muchos no hacen las correcciones y observaciones pertinentes: simplemente dicen cosas como "Sí", "Bien", "¿Por qué no?" y nos dejan sin una retroalimentación correcta. Dejando eso de lado, excelente curso.

创建者 LaShaunda C

May 13, 2019

It filled in a few of the blanks that I felt I was missing. I was able to collect resourceful notes to help throughout writing my first epic urban fantasy fiction novel book series and I recommend this course to anyone that wants to learn just a bit more about Plotting in Creative Writing.

创建者 Amanda L P

Aug 26, 2020

I learned quite a bit, as this is my first creative writing course. I was able to get some hands on practice and peer feedback...4 only though because i found some of the peer reviews to be lacking (one word, no feedback) the course should have some sort of panel to rate these as well

创建者 Shreshta B S

Jun 21, 2020

It's good, one understands how should a story start and progress to make a reader indulge and enjoy the reading. The structures and advices drastically improves one's writing abilities, in fact your change in the way you write can be noticed between your first and last assignment.

创建者 Miguel B

Jul 6, 2017

Excellent content and course design. Mr Skyhorse material and his personal touch make it informative and throughly enjoying to have this very first incursion in the writing world.

The several technical issues with the app subtract a star from the otherwise excellent course

创建者 Anna B E

Oct 11, 2020

I found the course interesting. Half of the work is reviewing other students writings but not everyone is taking this part seriously. I only had 1 review done correctly, the other 11 where useless with short answers to the questions as "yes", "no", ".", "good", "like".

创建者 Anwesha N

Aug 5, 2020

The course instruction was superb. Assignments really helped us push our limits. The only complain I have is the discussion forum. It hardly offered any good discussion. All were about assignment reviews. The Week 4 assignment reviews+submissions were the best ones.

创建者 Abhishek T

Jul 17, 2018

Gives an idea of structure.

Assignments provide challenging and restrictive setups that compel creative forces to find their rhythm in all scenarios.

Feedback is really morale boosting as well as useful critique, some angles come up that the author never looked into.

创建者 Michelle Y

Dec 21, 2020

An easy-to-follow course that is great for anyone, whether you're a beginner or experienced and in need for revisiting the fundamentals of creative writing. I especially enjoyed listening to the interviews of other authors and hearing their advice for this craft.

创建者 Sophie S

Aug 18, 2018

I really liked the writing exercises...they were a good challenge and the peer review was a great feature....I didn't find the videos extremely helpful though. There were a couple good ideas in them, but overall not too interesting for an experienced writer.

创建者 Michael H

May 24, 2016

A good introductory course to the craft of plot. Covers the basics, though I would appreciate some more complex assignments. Perhaps offer some more advanced course in the future? Maybe an advanced fiction specialization? Either way, good introductory course.

创建者 Faith E

Nov 10, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It re-freshed a lot of my knowledge on the writing process/vocabulary while challenging me to write in a new way. Sharing my writing with peers and learning to give thoughtful, helpful feedback was also a great learning tool!

创建者 Scott M

May 21, 2020

Interviews were well done. Reviewing the work of other students was marginally useful. Many students would have benefited from grammar and spelling check as mistakes in those elements were distracting. This might be that English is a second language.

创建者 Abrar A A

Mar 11, 2018

I loved the course as it got me back to writing with agenda and a goal. the words limit was a good challenge and the time to fit in the deadline were a bit difficult as I work full time on demanding job.. but i truly enjoyed the course and the lectures

创建者 John F

Nov 19, 2020

The instructors offered good insights and perspectives on plot-making. However, I didn't like the peer reviews since some students were strict with the instructions and didn't leave room for artistic creativity, which I often employ in my exercises.

创建者 cat b

Feb 21, 2018

This is a well-structured and engaging set of videos and writing exercises that serves as a great introduction to the basic practice of writing fiction. The assignments were challenging but fun and increased my confidence in being able to write.

创建者 Kirsty R

Oct 24, 2019

This course has been really helpful in thinking about the way I shape my stories and my narratives. Easy to follow lectures and relevant assignments, it is definitely a useful tool for those of us who are looking to improve our writing skills.

创建者 Laura D

Jan 10, 2020

Good course, I enjoyed it. Would have liked to have seen more reading with the class that illustrated more of the concepts. Also, the concept of "rising action" was not sufficiently explained and one of the assignments was a little lame.

创建者 James B

Mar 15, 2016

It's a good course. The explanations of plot and scene have made me understand for the first time what writing fiction is all about, and for the first time I was bale to write fiction that is better than anything I had ever written before.