Chevron Left
返回到 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

学生对 卫斯连大学 提供的 Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的评价和反馈

4.7
2,927 个评分
963 条评论

课程概述

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

热门审阅

BM

Nov 05, 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

LB

Nov 16, 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

筛选依据:

101 - Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot 的 125 个评论(共 946 个)

创建者 robin b

Jul 06, 2020

I had a hard time with this one.

I understood the rules, but sometimes writing about something you yourself find interesting doesn't necessarily fit easily into the required format.

Also, on one of assignments, half my summary got cut.

Plot is hard. I appreciate all the learning modules, found them quite inspiring.

I myself have a long way to go.

创建者 Maria-Isabel C

Dec 06, 2017

This was the first subject of the Creative Writing Course I took and I recommend it to anyone who is starting to write. After completing The Craft of Plot I was encouraged enough to continue with the other subjects of the specialization. Prof. Brando Skyhorse is clear and his teachings easy to follow and to understand. I really enjoyed it.

创建者 Cecilia F

Aug 27, 2017

Highly inspiring, comprehensive and interesting course. I learned a lot from the interesting lectures and talks, and was challenged to develop as a writer. The level of the assignments worked well for the timeframe, and the peer reviewing added a lot of new insights. I would really recommend this course and am looking forward to next module.

创建者 Ma. C D

May 08, 2018

This course was really helpful. It helped get my creative juices flowing again and give me direction. I love literature and I know the basics, but application is different. The assignments helped me implement not just the basics but the advanced knowledge I gained about writing literary pieces in just the first course of the specialisation.

创建者 Stephanie F

May 13, 2020

Content was presented clearly and with great details and examples to refer to as well. The professor was easy to follow and his ideas were helpful. I really enjoyed the conversations with other authors in the videos. They all provided great insight and were able to teach, but still inspire since they are active writers'/authors themselves.

创建者 Sasha M

Aug 02, 2016

Putting aside the use of the Coursera apps on Ipad and Iphone (which are beyond awful and made the experience of taking this course utterly frustrating), this course was outstanding. The student will be given sold information on how to organize, structure, and edit a story. All of the material was approachable and extremely useful.

创建者 Najwat R

Apr 12, 2018

Great course for aspiring writers. I had never written even a few sentences of fiction and I felt this course very effectively introduced me to all the basic elements needed to put a story together. The assignments were especially thoughtful. Thanks Brando and fellow learners who shared their valuable feedback and their own work.

创建者 Shellie K

Sep 25, 2018

I enjoyed the assignments and felt the instructor, Brando Skyhorse, was clear in his explanations and assignments. This course helped me organize and pace my stories in a meaningful way. It also reminded me of the power of revision. If you have to pick 1 course out of the entire series, this one is probably the one to pick.

创建者 Andrea C C S

Jul 16, 2020

This course is really good for starting, getting to know and think about some aspects about writing. Most importantly, you get to actually start writing, week after week. It also really makes a difference when you not only do it, but also share it with other people. That's the actual craft of the story after all, isn't it?

创建者 Ibrahim N

Nov 11, 2016

An excellent course which will lead you to the significant entrance into creative writing. I am a beginner writer and I think this course helped me a lot to understand the general philosophy and some methods in creative writing. I strongly recommend this course to every person who is interested in any kind of text writing.

创建者 Kathryne A H

Jun 27, 2016

Fantastic class! The teachers is organized, charismatic, a respected author of such interesting subject matter. He brings relevant outside writers to interview about their viewpoints. The assignments are clear and really opened my mind to other ways of thinking. This series of classes is more than worth time and cost.

创建者 ChandraPerkins

Jun 12, 2016

The course is easy to follow and informative. Challenging assignments and guest speakers add variety, clarity, and creativity to the way you think about telling a story. It touches on important points like structuring and editing. Plus, the instructor compares much of what he's teaching to how it's used in popular novels.

创建者 Tanya B

May 09, 2016

Very well presented, clear and concise. I have always just flowed a story out. This course offers insights into why some of my stories work and others don't. I found I do many of these things subconsciously but am now able to apply a solid foundation to build upon to ensure more consistency with my writing. Thank you

创建者 Marilyn G

Apr 06, 2020

So far, this has been my favorite course in the specialization -- two more to go, including capstone. I liked the "feel" of the delivery, I felt more like I was in a lecture and Brando seems so at ease in front of the camera. I learned a lot in all the courses but preferred the delivery of this one the most. Thanks!

创建者 benard o o

Oct 06, 2017

A great guide to any aspiring writer and thespian. The course gives a new approach in understanding the basic fundamentals to get you charged for your get go in writing. It might seem challenging at some point but once you pass the threshold where you are about to give up you realize how simpler the journey becomes.

创建者 Liliane M

Jul 01, 2017

I have in these four weeks, learned far more than I expected, and my eyes have been opened up to a whole new world, A big thank you to Brando Skyhorse, but also to the wonderful mentors, that helps guide us through the in's and out's of the challenges, which face us, from used the homepage, to doing our assignments.

创建者 Christian M

Jan 15, 2020

Very interesting. I was totally new to the concept of creative writing - though I'm an avid reader and write a lot at work, but mostly on technical subjects - and it was enlightening to learn a bit about the mechanisms which help building truly believable, entertaining stories. I recommend this course, definitely.

创建者 Crystal C

Mar 18, 2018

Thank you professors for your time creating this course. It really empowered my writing... I've written over 100k words since starting this course. I gained the confidence to just start writing and not to worry about making it perfect the first time. Loved this course and have recommended to others. God bless you!

创建者 LAVANYAH A A

Jul 10, 2020

It's thrilling to have people read your work and tell you what they think. The best part for me was reading what others have written. Once or twice, I was unable to write the things that I could write best because of the parameters given by the assignment question. It was a challenge but I discovered my weakness.

创建者 Rebecca D

Aug 20, 2016

I absolutely loved this class. I found this course fun, interesting and informative. I feel that I have a better understanding on how to create interesting characters and how to make scene's that captivate and hold a reader's attention. I would highly recommend this class to anyone who has an interest in writing.

创建者 Poiema D

Jun 28, 2019

I learned a lot from this course because it required people to communicate with each other and be inspired by other people's work. Although I gave this five stars, I think there could be a more efficient note system. One thing I don't like about it is how you cannot take notes when at full screen in the videos.

创建者 Marianna M G

Nov 07, 2018

Curso de alto nível. Excelente para em especial, novos escritores e também, para escritores já experientes que queiram revisar e aprender ainda mais. Incrível! Mais ainda, pois temos a possibilidade de sermos analisados nas atividades após finalização das Semanas e também analisar trabalhos de outros colegas.

创建者 David H

Aug 11, 2017

This course is not easy and really opened my eyes to the dedication and understanding of what a writer is all about. Being assessed by my peers was the most useful for me, nothing better than to hear if ya got something or not. Thanks, I plan on continuing with my studies and become a very successful writer.

创建者 Hawra A

Aug 08, 2020

Short and sweet! I really loved the case study thing at the start of the course. I loved the interviews with authors. What you need to know is that this course consists of peer-reviewed assignments each week. So, you need to put effort into reviewing others' work so that the community as a whole improves :)

创建者 Kateryna N

Mar 10, 2017

This course is amazing because it really helps a lot. I've greatly improved my writing and discovered a new world of important structures that are very useful and make the writing process easier. This Creative Writing course is very helpful and I'm looking forward to completing the specialization. Thanks ;)