Chevron Left
返回到 A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data 的评价和反馈

4.7
415 个评分
138 条评论

课程概述

We have all heard the phrase “correlation does not equal causation.” What, then, does equal causation? This course aims to answer that question and more! Over a period of 5 weeks, you will learn how causal effects are defined, what assumptions about your data and models are necessary, and how to implement and interpret some popular statistical methods. Learners will have the opportunity to apply these methods to example data in R (free statistical software environment). At the end of the course, learners should be able to: 1. Define causal effects using potential outcomes 2. Describe the difference between association and causation 3. Express assumptions with causal graphs 4. Implement several types of causal inference methods (e.g. matching, instrumental variables, inverse probability of treatment weighting) 5. Identify which causal assumptions are necessary for each type of statistical method So join us.... and discover for yourself why modern statistical methods for estimating causal effects are indispensable in so many fields of study!...

热门审阅

WJ
Sep 11, 2021

Great introduction on the causal analysis.The instructor did a great job on explaining the topic in a logical and rigorous way. R codes are very relevant and helpful to digest the material as well.

MF
Dec 27, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, the pace could be more even in parts. Sometimes the pace could be more even and some more books/reference material for further study would be nice.

筛选依据:

126 - A Crash Course in Causality: Inferring Causal Effects from Observational Data 的 139 个评论(共 139 个)

创建者 Lorena L

May 2, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and I appreciated the practice exercise in R.

创建者 Fernando C

Nov 24, 2017

They could offer more applied exercises in R. But, it was also great.

创建者 Lyons B

Sep 20, 2020

The lectures are good, and they might consider covering more topics.

创建者 Gavin M

Dec 4, 2020

It was well laid out, and overall helpful.

创建者 Javed A

Nov 27, 2020

A good course. Bit difficult for novices.

创建者 Juan C

Oct 7, 2019

Great

创建者 Andrew L

Nov 28, 2019

Clear deliver of engaging content. Very disappointed the course lacked an IV program or some capstone to evaluate learning. Why would you complete the course with a quiz compared to a practical assignment. I also do not understand why the slides are not available.

创建者 Robert S

Dec 17, 2021

I​ think it would be nice to have a bit of an overview how the methods compare to others in the field of causal inference. Also the slides could contain more illustrations. However, I liked the selection of the material.

创建者 Enrique O M

Sep 4, 2021

Good content. But irregular assignments, most with no feedback. Moreover some exercises could have errors, or at least ambiguous enunciates.

创建者 Kasra S

Aug 14, 2021

I think there are parts in the course where further discussion is needed.

创建者 Ignacio S R

Apr 30, 2018

The course is ok, but not having access to the slides is very annoying

创建者 Francisco P

May 30, 2019

Hard to understand

创建者 Siyu H

Feb 14, 2021

This is a very theoretical course with much math formula and less well-explained practical examples to better illustrate those formula. I came to this course hoping to learn about new ideas and techniques of experiment design for causal effect when randomized experiments are not possible. Unfortunately I did not achieve this goal. This is just my personal view. If you come with a different purpose, you might find this course more useful than I did.

创建者 Eva Y G

Sep 28, 2019

Can not download slides which make the source material very inaccessible