Chevron Left
返回到 Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++

学生对 伊利诺伊大学香槟分校 提供的 Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++ 的评价和反馈

4.8
490 个评分
118 条评论

课程概述

This course teaches learners how to write a program in the C++ language, including how to set up a development environment for writing and debugging C++ code and how to implement data structures as C++ classes. It is the first course in the Accelerated CS Fundamentals specialization, and subsequent courses in this specialization will be using C++ as the language for implementing the data structures covered in class....

热门审阅

EQ

Jan 13, 2020

Honestly, this is a great crash course in OOP for C++ (though the ideas can be applied to any language). Previous experience with C++ is almost a necessity, the lessons can be complicated for novices.

AR

Mar 17, 2019

So well designed course! Should be named c++ made easy. I specifically liked the challenge problem and Week 4 programming assignment. Thanks professor Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider and Eric!

筛选依据:

1 - Object-Oriented Data Structures in C++ 的 25 个评论(共 119 个)

创建者 Amar R

Mar 17, 2019

So well designed course! Should be named c++ made easy. I specifically liked the challenge problem and Week 4 programming assignment. Thanks professor Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider and Eric!

创建者 Jonathan K

Mar 27, 2019

The content was presented well. However, the assignments and quizzes were very simplistic and not very challenging. This course is ok if you're very new to programming concepts, but you'll want to skip it if you understand the basics.

创建者 Raul C

Mar 24, 2019

-Lectures were well made and very informative.

-Instructors and staff were very knowledgeable and were able to answer all questions asked by the students in a timely manner.

-Final project was very fun to work on and had a nice level of difficulty.

-Thoroughly enjoyed this course!

创建者 Prashant D

Aug 11, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I especially loved the way the lecturer presented the material with all example code made available as a git repo. The challenge with some of the other C++ course I have tried before is that they get into too much detail too soon, or never get into the more "C++" features such as classes and inheritance till much later in the course. This course on the other hand is perfectly paced. The material is easy to digest and the exercises are challenging without being daunting.

I would definitely recommend this course to students who have a reasonable experience of programming in either C or Python, but who have never done C++ and are fascinated by it.

I am definitely doing the remaining two courses in this specialization.

创建者 Ezekiel Q

Jan 13, 2020

Honestly, this is a great crash course in OOP for C++ (though the ideas can be applied to any language). Previous experience with C++ is almost a necessity, the lessons can be complicated for novices.

创建者 Oscar G

Nov 20, 2019

Very well constructed course, gives a very concise and clear run-through of a lot of fundamental concepts in computer science and how those concepts are expressed in the C++ language.

创建者 Tang K D N

Sep 16, 2019

This is a very intuitive course and great to review all C/C++ knowledge. Thank Professor.

创建者 Xiaojiao Z

Mar 14, 2019

The course covers a lot of materials and practice problem. The challenging quizzes and projects are pretty challenging and may need more detailed illustration from the lecture videos. The course is overall great. But I think we'll need to know more fundamental concepts in C++ by reading some supplementary materials and practice more in coding problems in the future.

创建者 Aren T

Nov 26, 2019

Superb course.

Starts off with an in depth analysis of the different types of memory storage in C++ (and how they are used by a computer in general). After this detailed start, using very minimal but precise code, It then rapidly starts developing the all the other fundamental data structures in C++, moving at quite a fast pace until one has a nice broad overview. It then culminates in a substantial project, where the requirement is not so much to add a large amount of new code, but instead to assimilate the code base and use very precise logic to implement the functions.

The course develops a rigorous approached to coding based on unit test/test frameworks.

The multiple choice quiz questions are challenging and very well thought out, such that you will really have to think carefully about them, and in so doing will consolidate your knowledge.

Overall, I've really enjoyed this first course in the Specialization and look forward to progressing onward through the rest of it.

If you have no prior coding experience, or are new to Computer Science, you will probably find this course tough going, so I'd advise you perhaps do a couple of easier introductory courses first.

The fact that this course is based on C++ is a major PLUS in my view, as far too many courses are now dominated by Python, yet C++ is an industry standard language used for serious software engineering projects and major systems due to its extreme power and performance. (This does come at a price in terms of complexity, however!).

创建者 Joel S

Oct 12, 2019

This course provided a great learning experience and really helped open up my understanding of data structures. This is a very good course for someone who is not too easily frustrated and is willing to persist despite not feeling total mastery after the first exposure to the material. There were many times that I reviewed a video 10+ times or looked up C++ syntax, lexis, and concepts in other references, but in the end, I was always able to puzzle out the problems when they came up. I was stumped for a couple of days on one aspect of the final task, but eventually I was able to work my way through. It was a nice feeling of accomplishment when my functions finally passed all the tests -- felt like I'd finally 'beat the level'.

Anyway, many thanks to the development team and instructor(s). This has convinced me that I'm capable of moving forward with my CS learning -- a great outcome!

创建者 Nikhil K G

Dec 08, 2019

This is a really amazing course. I have been a hardware engineer for nearly 18 years. The last time I coded in C++ was in college. As I had a background in Python and Perl, it was a really good refresher. The professor is really the best. I was very skeptic when I started the course. I could complete the course in about 10 days. Never expected this. The fact that this course does not need addition books is really true. I did get a few books from the library just to refer but really one can complete this without any additional material. The assignments are also really good. They make you go back to the notes and slides. If I meet professor Wade Fagen-Ulmschneider, I will really thank him for this. The discussion forums are also a good source of information. It helps reading what others have asked and learn from their mistakes.

创建者 Tapojyoti M

Dec 12, 2019

I already had a basic understanding of C++ with if-else, functions. But I was struggling with OOP part of C++ with use of Classes, constructors, destructors etc. I am a Computer Engineering student with background in hardware hence I have had little experience in the OOP aspect of C++. I really liked the fact the course focuses directly on the OOP rather than starting from absolute basics which saved a lot of time for me as compared to other projects. Thanks to this course I am able to understand the syntax of much complex C++ code for my research. Thanks Prof. Wade :)

创建者 Ramanan S

Sep 30, 2019

It was a great learning and an eye opener to various ways of thinking while coding in a language. Unlike almost all other programming courses where only the syntax is the main focus, this course introduces a lot of compiler / memory related concepts which really take you into the crux of C++ and how to think in the language. Same method, if followed for other languages like Java/Python, would provide great insights into computer science languages and how computers actually operate! Great work! Thanks a lot for this course.

创建者 Sotos M G

Feb 10, 2020

Extremely useful and satisfying course. Great in depth explanations of the concepts and in the same time demanding quizes and assignments. You can easily let yourself spend hours on single questions and you will end up with a deep understanding of each one of them. A great introduction to object oriented programming for someone with little background on the field (although necessary).

Just do yourself the favor and install the linux compatible environment instead of trying with the windows MinGW versions.

创建者 Zhen Z

Dec 17, 2019

The instructor has put lots of efforts in the assignemnts to make things easier to operate. I really appciate it as a beginner in C++ (my previous experience with programming was limited to Python). The course is marked as intermediate but it would really help if you've already had some experience with basic C++ syntax. I spent some time in week one to go through as much C++ basics as possible to make the following materials more sensible to myself.

创建者 Yashodhan A P

Oct 13, 2019

I really like the course material emphasizing very minute details of C++ programming concepts. I enjoyed the quizzes and problem challenges which reinforce the understanding of a topic.

One improvement if I may suggest for future is, sometime I found instructor's talking pace too rapid which may take couple of iterations through video lectures for someone to grasp a new concept.

创建者 Andre A M

Dec 28, 2019

Covers accelerated C++ concepts. Not for new programmers, but those interested in learning C++ concepts and library API. Note people have had trouble with the difficulty with the final project but it's not too bad if you have programming experience. Recommended even if you are familiar with C++ because there are gold nuggets of new info everywhere (at least for me).

创建者 Joshua T

Dec 19, 2019

Really good course, and I will now continue to complete the other two courses to complete the specialisation. One comment is that I wasn't too much of a fan of seeing an extra paywall (using an Amazon product) when I've already paid for the Coursera course. I used my own bash and VSC for all the exercises on a Windows machine, so no (unsolvable) problems there.

创建者 Hovannes J

Aug 31, 2019

Had coded in python and java previously; was a great intro course and the final project provided a nice set of methods to test out coding skills learned. The instructor provides an efficient overview of the main concepts. Suggestion for minor improvement: pointers and memory are not immediately straightforward so more focus on them would be nice.

创建者 Michael V

Jul 28, 2019

Course is very solid at teaching some fundamentals of C++ and having you apply those fundamentals. It's certainly helpful if you come in with some basic understanding of C++ syntax, as the difficulty/complexity level hops around a bit, but overall it's a great course to kick of the Accelerated CS Fundamentals specialization.

创建者 manohar

Jan 30, 2020

An excellent introduction to C++! The course content and the delivery of the professor is great. Although I felt a lack of enough exercise problems to work on. My only suggestion to the course team is to provide a set of optional problems to solve, which you don't necessarily need to complete to get the certificate.

创建者 Mark C

Feb 24, 2020

This course and the 2 that follow in the specialization are exactly what I needed to fill in gaps in my understanding and knowledge between a BSEE and a MSCS. The instructor goes quickly through the material, though not excessively so. Plus, there are enough pointers (pun intended) to get further help if needed.

创建者 Xinlun Z

Jan 14, 2020

Obviously, this is not a friendly course for a novice of C++. And setting up the programming environment, like VScode and Ubuntu, also take a tons of time. But, if you succeed in completing this fist course in the sequence, you will be definitely allowed to say that at least you know a little bit about C++.

创建者 Dhruv S

Dec 16, 2019

This is a course which when watched as a follow up after Prof. IRA Pohl's C++ for C programmers Part A & Part B would serve as a perfect set of skills such as C++ development on Linux environment, Memory model, modularisation through file linking system of C++, Classess, OOP's, recursion etc.

创建者 Yuxin W

Oct 19, 2019

Very nice illustration of memory management, passing by reference, by pointer, by values etc. Coming from a Python programming background, the key idea is not hard to grasp and the assignments are not hard to complete, but overall the introduction was great.