Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.8
459 个评分
149 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS
May 13, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB
Mar 12, 2019

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

筛选依据:

51 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 75 个评论(共 149 个)

创建者 Marvie

Nov 3, 2020

I learned more by completing this course in a week compared to what I learned in 4 months time in one semester at my University 's introduction to computer science course. The programming assignments kept me engaged and were very fun. I would definitely recommend this course 10/10 would love to take up a course like this all over again.

创建者 Keiji I

Dec 9, 2020

This was an amazing course. The instructor demonstrates programs that can do incredible things yet are simple enough to fully understand from a ten minute lecture. The autograder is excellent and tells you exactly which failure modes your code has. The provided libraries make seemingly difficult tasks much simpler.

创建者 Pankaj S

Sep 13, 2020

This Course is a perfect blend of Mathematics, Science and Programming. This course will definitely upskill you. Prof. Sedgewick's teaching style is very unique. Programming assignment will challenge you to think you out of the box. Overall absolutely amazing learning experience. Thanks to Princeton University.

创建者 sergio p

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.

创建者 Parthasarathy B

Nov 15, 2020

Lecture slides have been well structured to make a difficult topic easy to understand and learn. The presentation provides a good conceptual outlay and it does not overwhelm you. Needless to say that writing code is the difficult part in the course as it is part of the learning process.

创建者 Izhar A

Dec 22, 2020

This course teaches the fundamentals of Java, as well as the advance levels, in an extremely easy and practical way. The lectures are great and the real-life examples on offer are just transfixing! This is a wonderful resource for me to learn Java as a student of computer science.

创建者 Ricky I S

Jan 13, 2021

This course was at a good difficulty level where one doesn't feel like they are being spoon fed, nor does one feel overwhelmed. The machine problems(programs) are fun to work on and it's very satisfying seeing the auto-grader feedback after you have completed the programs.

创建者 Alex K

Dec 14, 2020

The course was perfect for my needs, which were to get acquaintance with Java programing.

The course is built in a step-by-step manner, allowing people with no background at all to be able to learn and understand the course materials.

Great course!

Highly recommended.

创建者 Aleksei V

May 6, 2020

The course itself is great - it is easy to comprehend and the amount of useful information is immense. Some typos are present in the materials, namely on slides. Overall, I can recommend the course to anyone interested in serious programming learning.

创建者 Zhang Y

May 10, 2020

I am new to Java, and am glad to have chosen this course as my java introduction course. I learned a lot and I really enjoyed doing all the assignments! Now I think I can read and write simple Java code, and have a brief understanding about OOP.

创建者 Stefan M

Jun 20, 2020

Very good introductory course to JAVA; completing this course will help with the more advanced course Algorithms I and II since it exposes the necessary JAVA language features and makes you familiar with the autograder functionality.

创建者 Petar M

Dec 14, 2019

This was great course with very enjoyable delivery. The reference to the Book was very helpful if you want to learn more. I liked the heavy inclusion of intersting extercies. I want to see the more in debt next levels taking place.

创建者 itamar G

Dec 10, 2020

excellent course. Really helpful in understanding the basics of programming. although the assignment in the recursion was a major step up in the difficulty level, causing a mild frustration. other than that - Great job!

创建者 Alex R

Jan 10, 2021

Very enjoyable class. Would definitely recommend to someone interested in Java programming. Also, for anyone like me who intends on majoring in Computer Science and would like a jump start before college.

创建者 Mostafa H

Jun 25, 2020

What i most liked about this course. Is how the instructors showed us what those little programs we built. Can be used to build further programs and its application in different fields in Computer Science

创建者 Lok T N

Oct 18, 2019

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.

创建者 Praveen K

Oct 10, 2020

Very useful for programmers, especially beginners. Examples taken to explain the concepts are real-time application oriented which reinforce importance of the concepts!!

创建者 Eddy P

Jan 28, 2021

Definitely a great course abound with lots of supporting materials including informative website, book, guidance and auto-graders for each programming assignment.

创建者 Meridel E

Mar 28, 2021

This course is very helpful and useful especially that i am in the field of teaching. While im learning my student also learning. Thank you! And Godbless!

创建者 Debasis B

Jul 24, 2020

Really fun and challenging exercises! Had a great time solving them. The book site a lot more interesting problems and students should check it out.

创建者 Grazyna K

Aug 22, 2020

I expected to review all java basics but found myself working hard with high level, challenging projects that set up a growing environment for me.

创建者 J H

May 20, 2020

It did not just teach coding, but taught efficient coding and how to think about performance issues, and separation of program parts into objects

创建者 L H

Feb 10, 2021

Challenging but doable. Highly recommended for those with slight experience with programming; this course is not for complete beginners.

创建者 赵凌乔

Feb 5, 2020

This course is full of the fundamentals that one should learn in programming, especially how everything works in OOP. Excellent course.