Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.7
565 个评分
184 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS
May 13, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK
Jun 15, 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

筛选依据:

76 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 100 个评论(共 185 个)

创建者 Alex K

Dec 14, 2020

The course was perfect for my needs, which were to get acquaintance with Java programing.

The course is built in a step-by-step manner, allowing people with no background at all to be able to learn and understand the course materials.

Great course!

Highly recommended.

创建者 Aleksei V

May 6, 2020

The course itself is great - it is easy to comprehend and the amount of useful information is immense. Some typos are present in the materials, namely on slides. Overall, I can recommend the course to anyone interested in serious programming learning.

创建者 Zhang Y

May 10, 2020

I am new to Java, and am glad to have chosen this course as my java introduction course. I learned a lot and I really enjoyed doing all the assignments! Now I think I can read and write simple Java code, and have a brief understanding about OOP.

创建者 Stefan M

Jun 20, 2020

Very good introductory course to JAVA; completing this course will help with the more advanced course Algorithms I and II since it exposes the necessary JAVA language features and makes you familiar with the autograder functionality.

创建者 Petar M

Dec 14, 2019

This was great course with very enjoyable delivery. The reference to the Book was very helpful if you want to learn more. I liked the heavy inclusion of intersting extercies. I want to see the more in debt next levels taking place.

创建者 itamar G

Dec 10, 2020

excellent course. Really helpful in understanding the basics of programming. although the assignment in the recursion was a major step up in the difficulty level, causing a mild frustration. other than that - Great job!

创建者 Michał Ł

Sep 5, 2021

Excellent course. I gained better understanding of java as well as more general programming skills that I can use in other programming languages. Great option for anyone who is starting his/her programming journey.

创建者 Alex R

Jan 10, 2021

Very enjoyable class. Would definitely recommend to someone interested in Java programming. Also, for anyone like me who intends on majoring in Computer Science and would like a jump start before college.

创建者 Mostafa H

Jun 25, 2020

What i most liked about this course. Is how the instructors showed us what those little programs we built. Can be used to build further programs and its application in different fields in Computer Science

创建者 nglokting

Oct 18, 2019

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.

创建者 Alinaswe C

Nov 13, 2021

The Course was fantastic and really fun! The lecturer was top-notch and He made the course really amazing. Thank you Cousera and Princeton university for this wonderful course, it really helped me a lot!

创建者 Hiền G T

Nov 26, 2021

This is my first course in Coursera. If you are beginner, you should watch videos, read the booksite and the book that covering this course. It simply needs a lot of hard work !

创建者 Ica H

Oct 23, 2021

It's easy to follow. And all the programming tasks help me to understand the content better. It's an friendly CS course with amazingly high quality. Thank you Professor!

创建者 Praveen K

Oct 10, 2020

Very useful for programmers, especially beginners. Examples taken to explain the concepts are real-time application oriented which reinforce importance of the concepts!!

创建者 Eddy P

Jan 28, 2021

Definitely a great course abound with lots of supporting materials including informative website, book, guidance and auto-graders for each programming assignment.

创建者 Amrit D

Aug 30, 2020

Fantastic course with a strong focus on assignments.Very helpful regardless of programming experience. The professor is very nice and provides key insights.

创建者 Debasis B

Jul 24, 2020

Really fun and challenging exercises! Had a great time solving them. The book site a lot more interesting problems and students should check it out.

创建者 Grazyna K

Aug 22, 2020

I expected to review all java basics but found myself working hard with high level, challenging projects that set up a growing environment for me.

创建者 J H

May 20, 2020

It did not just teach coding, but taught efficient coding and how to think about performance issues, and separation of program parts into objects

创建者 赵凌乔

Feb 5, 2020

This course is full of the fundamentals that one should learn in programming, especially how everything works in OOP. Excellent course.

创建者 Тугов С А

Jan 12, 2021

This is an absolutely incredible course. I couldn't have hoped for better one. My endless admiration and gratitude to authors.

创建者 Kuirong W

Aug 21, 2020

This is a great course with heavy loaded homeworks which is definitely help if you like to get the best of the course.

创建者 Sreejit C

Jul 11, 2020

Quite a nice introduction to Programming and Java . Thank You lecturers for this interesting course and assignments .

创建者 Meysam A

Nov 2, 2019

It's a prefect starting point for those who want to learn programming or those who wants to refresh their knowledge.

创建者 Deleted A

Aug 6, 2019

Awesome course. Very challenging even for experienced programmer. Prof. Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne do a great job.