Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.8
459 个评分
149 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS
May 13, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB
Mar 12, 2019

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

筛选依据:

76 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 100 个评论(共 149 个)

创建者 Erik C

Apr 12, 2021

Batalle un poco al principio, pero conforme va avanzando, las piezas se van uniendo y, con práctica, el aprendizaje es excelente.

创建者 Тугов С А

Jan 12, 2021

This is an absolutely incredible course. I couldn't have hoped for better one. My endless admiration and gratitude to authors.

创建者 Kuirong W

Aug 21, 2020

This is a great course with heavy loaded homeworks which is definitely help if you like to get the best of the course.

创建者 Sreejit C

Jul 11, 2020

Quite a nice introduction to Programming and Java . Thank You lecturers for this interesting course and assignments .

创建者 Meysam A

Nov 2, 2019

It's a prefect starting point for those who want to learn programming or those who wants to refresh their knowledge.

创建者 Deleted A

Aug 6, 2019

Awesome course. Very challenging even for experienced programmer. Prof. Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne do a great job.

创建者 Gopala V R

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent. Wish I had this professor teaching when I first started learning programming quite a few years ago.

创建者 Jack H

May 20, 2020

Great intro level course, I really enjoyed it. I look forward to the Instructors' other courses on algorithms.

创建者 John C

Jul 20, 2020

Interesting programming exercises.

Well-structured course and automatic evaluation of exercises very good.

创建者 Arshad

May 13, 2020

It is always a privilege to learn from someone who is the best in his field. Thanks for the lectures.

创建者 Nguyen D L

Jan 22, 2021

It's amazing how an introductory course in programming can show student many fundamental skills.

创建者 Christos N

Sep 25, 2020

Great experience. Of course a lot to learn, and big effort to complete but provided new ideas!

创建者 Tassianna T

Dec 29, 2019

This course is excellent; It provides a robust framework to build on programming practices.

创建者 Ahmed A

Nov 1, 2020

amazing course, it covers a lot of programming principles and how to think computationally

创建者 chenqi77

Apr 11, 2021

This course is very good for java beginner or someone who wants to learn a programming.

创建者 Romain F

Sep 2, 2020

I loved the course's rigor and how the auto grader guided me through the assignments.

创建者 Edison A R M C

Dec 23, 2019

Excelente curso, muy concreto y excelente para iniciar en java y en computer Science

创建者 sobit t

Nov 11, 2020

Best java course on Coursera. Really help me built Clear concept of programming.

创建者 Jon H

Aug 6, 2020

This was a really great course. I learned a lot. The lectures were excellent.

创建者 Yi S

Sep 6, 2019

fun homework assignments that keep me motivated to write efficient code

创建者 Philippe G

Jan 16, 2020

Very effective course with automated and immediate students graduation

创建者 Maksym G

Jul 21, 2020

Knowledge and confidence you get are well worth time and effort.

创建者 Malquiel J B H

Sep 28, 2020

Muy completo. Una muy buena introducción a la programación.

创建者 Anand N

Feb 27, 2020

Best course to learn about fundamentals of computer science