Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.8
459 个评分
149 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS
May 13, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB
Mar 12, 2019

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

筛选依据:

126 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 149 个评论(共 149 个)

创建者 Aleksandr D

Aug 3, 2020

really well made course

创建者 Nguyễn T V

Jun 25, 2020

Very helpful, Thanks!

创建者 Zhou F

May 25, 2020

That's a great course

创建者 harsha r

Jul 23, 2020

Best for beginners

创建者 Vladimir I

Jun 16, 2020

Just. Great course!

创建者 Salamat B

May 18, 2020

I like assignments!

创建者 AANSHIKA S

Jun 8, 2020

excellent approach

创建者 Amir N

Jul 6, 2020

Love this course.

创建者 Fotis S

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent course

创建者 Avinash K

Jun 25, 2020

Great course!

创建者 Kiko S

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent!!!

创建者 lxl1986

Oct 23, 2019

elegant.

创建者 Milind P

Jan 14, 2021

Not quite beginner level course when dealing with assignments so some students might find themselves little frustrated. But with the difficulty of assignments, the learning opportunity is great once you finish assignments successfully with help of forum and other research. Book-site could be made little more extensive as currently it is very condensed compared to what chapters in book might have. Overall great course and learning.

创建者 Oluwatosin A

Jul 23, 2020

This course was detailed and helpful. I don't know if this matters a lot, but it bothers me that this course teaches students to use its own libraries. I think the students may not be able to use the actual Java standard libraries well.

Also, I find many assignments hard to understand, most likely because the instruction is not clear enough.

But overall, this course was very nice and interesting.

创建者 Santiago M

Oct 11, 2020

I got what I needed and way more... This course is really heavy on maths and it does not stay with just "learn java"... I admit that I got frustrated at some point since Im not good at math and struggle a lot!.. but with the help of peers I was able to get the end goal and I would recommend this class to anyone that want to understand how programming works.

创建者 Shreyan M

Aug 16, 2020

This course was great for learning Java, but I believe it could have been better if it had covered the actual "computer science" aspect (like the anatomy of a computer, history of computing, etc.)

创建者 Dattatray B N

May 27, 2020

Excellent course, Thank you Drs Sedgwick and Wayne.

Good course material and vedios thanks..

创建者 Atalay K

Jun 27, 2020

Lectures are very good, exercises could be better

创建者 George S

Sep 17, 2020

ok

创建者 Irina

Jan 30, 2021

The course is not beginner friendly in my opinion. A lot of students, me included seem to be really confused about week 1's assignments, one can clearly see that in the forums. The class itself isn't bad, just advertised as beginner friendly. I do not find it to be so. Will retake it when will have a bit of basis of Java.

创建者 Jovonne B

Oct 26, 2020

Not for beginners at all. The assignments are for those whom have strong background in math and computer programming experience.

创建者 Farooq S

Dec 17, 2020

Not for me.

创建者 JEAN-BAPTISTE M D

Nov 7, 2020

Your course is lacking the possibility to make contact with the teacher or helper, no e-mail, no telephone number. I am stuck on the learning process, I pass the 75% required on week 1 to go to the job assignment, the problem with the software IntelliJ, no possibility of help. Please cancel my subscription