Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.7
565 个评分
184 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS
May 13, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK
Jun 15, 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

筛选依据:

151 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 175 个评论(共 185 个)

创建者 Petar R

Feb 6, 2020

Great intro to Java concepts

创建者 Joseph

May 27, 2020

It's really a great course!

创建者 Sofyan A

Dec 2, 2021

E​xcellent and Instructive

创建者 Александр Д

Aug 3, 2020

really well made course

创建者 Nguyễn T V

Jun 25, 2020

Very helpful, Thanks!

创建者 Zhou F

May 25, 2020

That's a great course

创建者 anas m

Sep 20, 2021

mmmmmm ماذا عن شهادة

创建者 Rowland A

Aug 19, 2021

Highly recommended!

创建者 harsha r

Jul 23, 2020

Best for beginners

创建者 Vladimir I

Jun 16, 2020

Just. Great course!

创建者 Salamat B

May 18, 2020

I like assignments!

创建者 AANSHIKA S

Jun 8, 2020

excellent approach

创建者 Amir N

Jul 6, 2020

Love this course.

创建者 Fotis S

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent course

创建者 Avinash K

Jun 25, 2020

Great course!

创建者 Kiko S

Jul 24, 2020

Excellent!!!

创建者 lxl1986

Oct 23, 2019

elegant.

创建者 陳維

Aug 23, 2021

good

创建者 Milind P

Jan 14, 2021

Not quite beginner level course when dealing with assignments so some students might find themselves little frustrated. But with the difficulty of assignments, the learning opportunity is great once you finish assignments successfully with help of forum and other research. Book-site could be made little more extensive as currently it is very condensed compared to what chapters in book might have. Overall great course and learning.

创建者 Brad K

Aug 26, 2021

The course info implies that this is an introduction to programming for non-programmers, essentially a college 100-level course. The provided information in the lectures does good job at building up the student's information about how to build a program. However, several of the programming assignments dial the difficulty up to a 200- or 300-level algorithms class which might lead to frustration on the part of the student.

创建者 Oluwatosin A

Jul 23, 2020

This course was detailed and helpful. I don't know if this matters a lot, but it bothers me that this course teaches students to use its own libraries. I think the students may not be able to use the actual Java standard libraries well.

Also, I find many assignments hard to understand, most likely because the instruction is not clear enough.

But overall, this course was very nice and interesting.

创建者 Santiago M

Oct 11, 2020

I got what I needed and way more... This course is really heavy on maths and it does not stay with just "learn java"... I admit that I got frustrated at some point since Im not good at math and struggle a lot!.. but with the help of peers I was able to get the end goal and I would recommend this class to anyone that want to understand how programming works.

创建者 Shreyan M

Aug 16, 2020

This course was great for learning Java, but I believe it could have been better if it had covered the actual "computer science" aspect (like the anatomy of a computer, history of computing, etc.)

创建者 psychic h

Mar 22, 2020

its a good basic course.

its only for those who had'nt learnt a programming language yet

创建者 Atalay K

Jun 27, 2020

Lectures are very good, exercises could be better