Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.7
550 个评分
178 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS
May 13, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

NK
Jun 15, 2021

Can't wait to get into the second part of the course. The best programming course ever provided for free of cost. The techniques used are backed by mathematical thinking. It is just awesome.

筛选依据:

26 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 50 个评论(共 180 个)

创建者 Nathanael Y

Jan 20, 2020

This is the 2nd course of Professor Sedgwick and Wayne that I enrolled, as expected it's well designed and organized. The programming assignments are the most valuable part from my perspective. Some of them, especially week6 to week8, can be somewhat challenging and difficult, maybe tough for beginners, but they cover quite a lot of topics that is really important. I would highly recommend this course to those who want some challenging and meaningful exercises.

创建者 Jinqiang Z

May 29, 2021

Although it's an introductory course, it covers quite a spectrum of what Java programming can do. The professor is very knowledgable, you can tell from the examples or the programming assignments which is from all kinds of field: math, graphics, image processing etc.

I'm an experienced programmer, I subscribed only to learn Java and also from Princeton which I admire, I enjoyed the course the whole way.

创建者 Chufan W

Jan 30, 2021

Very very useful and helpful for people who is interest in programming and algorithms. Even for CS students who have already learned this. The programming assignments are nicely designed and the auto-grader is outstanding for debugging. After 30 days of learning, I completed this course. I'd like to say thank you to Prof. Sedgewick and Prof. Wayne for this inspiring, creative course.

创建者 Amandeep

Jul 28, 2020

Firstly it is not an introductory programming course. You would be better if you have knowledge of java prior. Professor Robert Sedgewick walks you through the course and he has this charisma in his style that he can make rocket science sound easy. It is amazing course which make you stop, think and rethink on how you think.

创建者 Jake B

Jun 18, 2021

T​his course was outstanding. I really enjoyed the simple yet rich mathematical applications that were used to demonstrate so many concepts covered by the course. I look forward to taking the next and all subsequent courses offered by Dr.'s Sedgewick and Wayne.

创建者 Yajian W

May 9, 2020

This is a great course, it's challenging for beginners like myself but it shows what's possible just with the codes we learned so it's encouraging at the same time. It is indeed programming with a purpose like the course's name. I'm glad I took this course!

创建者 Hao Z

May 23, 2021

Thank you so much for offering this course as open on Coursera, I've learned a lot from this course. And the assignments really helps me practiced hands-on coding, I believe this course helps open another door and new possibilities. Thank you!

创建者 Андрей К

Jul 1, 2020

Information of the course is enough to get very basic knowledge about Java programming language. Good starting point for further studying. May be not very simple for absolute beginners (but not impossible).

创建者 Seung L

Sep 6, 2020

It was a beautiful course. I gained a ton of understanding of the structures of programming (especially OOP). And could become proficient in Java language, which is great.

创建者 Meridel E

Mar 28, 2021

This course is very helpful and useful especially that i am in the field of teaching. While im learning my student also learning. Thank you! And Godbless!

创建者 Sayed K

Jun 7, 2019

I appreciate your work and your services. Your classes are very valuable for whom new in the world of IT is. Thank you very much dear professor!

创建者 Rishav P

May 18, 2021

The course is structured very well which makes it very easy to understand the concepts. Also helps build a decent grip on java language.

创建者 L H

Feb 10, 2021

Challenging but doable. Highly recommended for those with slight experience with programming; this course is not for complete beginners.

创建者 Erik C

Apr 12, 2021

Batalle un poco al principio, pero conforme va avanzando, las piezas se van uniendo y, con práctica, el aprendizaje es excelente.

创建者 Luye H

Jun 14, 2021

Hope I had a professor like this, who is able to seed curiosity in students to explore further this topic on their own. 

创建者 Beaumont S

May 6, 2021

Very challenging course, would recommend definitely. Well paced and presented, clear instructions and descriptions 10/10

创建者 Hussain

Feb 28, 2019

A very simple down to earth explanation on how to program from a very reputable university

创建者 chenqi77

Apr 11, 2021

This course is very good for java beginner or someone who wants to learn a programming.

创建者 Edmundo W

Sep 5, 2020

Difficult for beginner's, great for people trying to practice rusty programming skills.

创建者 Petter S

Jan 29, 2020

High tempo, definitely some difficult content, but overall I've learned a great deal

创建者 Xinyi Z

May 21, 2021

Course with material carefully prepared! Examples are interesting and insightful.

创建者 Nilav N

May 22, 2021

Great way to explain things and giving test

创建者 Marc T

May 9, 2021

AAA

Many, many thanks to staff ;)

创建者 Aditya h

May 17, 2019

Great refresher for JAva.

创建者 Richard K

Aug 14, 2020

This was a challenging course, but not for beginners. I am an experienced programmer in several languages and wanted to learn Java, which I accomplished. The course does not teach any design approach (such as flow charting or outlining), which would be best for beginners.