Chevron Left
返回到 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose

学生对 普林斯顿大学 提供的 Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的评价和反馈

4.8
363 个评分
117 条评论

课程概述

The basis for education in the last millennium was “reading, writing, and arithmetic;” now it is reading, writing, and computing. Learning to program is an essential part of the education of every student, not just in the sciences and engineering, but in the arts, social sciences, and humanities, as well. Beyond direct applications, it is the first step in understanding the nature of computer science’s undeniable impact on the modern world. This course covers the first half of our book Computer Science: An Interdisciplinary Approach (the second half is covered in our Coursera course Computer Science: Algorithms, Theory, and Machines). Our intent is to teach programming to those who need or want to learn it, in a scientific context. We begin by introducing basic programming elements such as variables, conditionals, loops, arrays, and I/O. Next, we turn to functions, introducing key concepts such as recursion, modular programming, and code reuse. Then, we present a modern introduction to object-oriented programming. We use the Java programming language and teach basic skills for computational problem solving that are applicable in many modern computing environments. Proficiency in Java is a goal, but we focus on fundamental concepts in programming, not Java per se. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

热门审阅

VS

May 14, 2019

Beautiful course. I am a software developer with 10+ years of experience in programming and have never realized depth of actual MATH behind all that I do. Thank you Robert Sedgewick, you are the BEST.

BB

Mar 13, 2019

Excellent course, inface the best I found on any MOOC platform for a complete beginner to Java. Loved it. Would appreciate more coding assignments though. Only week 1 & 2 have those.

筛选依据:

26 - Computer Science: Programming with a Purpose 的 50 个评论(共 118 个)

创建者 Petter S

Jan 29, 2020

High tempo, definitely some difficult content, but overall I've learned a great deal

创建者 Aditya h

May 17, 2019

Great refresher for JAva.

创建者 Richard K

Aug 14, 2020

This was a challenging course, but not for beginners. I am an experienced programmer in several languages and wanted to learn Java, which I accomplished. The course does not teach any design approach (such as flow charting or outlining), which would be best for beginners.

创建者 Preston N

Jun 04, 2019

Good over all, but the quizzes can be a little annoying.

创建者 Shuyuan D

Jun 14, 2019

Good recap course for an experienced programmer

创建者 Mikaela W

Apr 26, 2020

Lectures and assignments are heavily math-based, even in the very beginning, couldn't continue with course. I'm dyslexic and learning concepts using what feels like high-level math formulas and concepts doesn't work for me, couldn't comprehend a lot of assignment problem statements for the same reason. I'm sure it's great for those that don't struggle with mathematical comprehension, but it doesn't cater for those that do.

创建者 Tim R

Sep 06, 2020

Very poor course. Basic fundamental concepts are not explained well and you are left to learn them on your own through errors and failing assignments. The lecturer often says "Of course you already know this..." and assumes a baseline level of knowledge of other subjects that is not mentioned anywhere as a prerequisite. Many things are presented in a confusing and unhelpful way - and when repeated to an actual Software Engineer are not consistent with how Java is used in the real world.

创建者 Francisco J R A

Aug 05, 2020

I can't give a full review cuz I only was here for a couple of days, Maybe it is good, but it is far from basic.

Though they do start with basic concepts, they don't explain how and why , but later the ask you to use them.

创建者 Dominic F

Jun 18, 2020

Very bad explanations. I do not recommend at all.

创建者 Ajayi O

Oct 19, 2020

For a newbie in programming, this course is highly recommended. It helped me to think in diverse ways. Having noticed java's rigidity compared to popular programming languages, i have been able to start with a disciplined approach by taking this course. I see things around me in a totally different manner during and after this course. It is also a pleasure having professor Sedgwick who smiles in his videos telling you its simple, I'm always like, professor, hope you know you got baby programmers in the class :)

创建者 Gustavo N

Oct 18, 2020

A very demanding course, at least for me who did not know anything about Java and OOP, the weekly exercises are key in the process of learning and the Discussion Forum is very helpful to be able to pass the exercises. I have taken other courses in Coursera but definitely this is the best one on this subject honoring the fact that is taught by Princeton, where once I dreamed to make a PhD. Thanks to the University, the instructors and Coursera, I plan to take the next one that is recommended in the last lecture.

创建者 Alex G

Sep 10, 2020

This is my first course on Coursera and this course is EXCELLENT. I started learning java in late 2019 and this course will make you a more sharp java programmer. If you do more then the assignments i.e. the web exercises and also using the book as ac companion with this course you will be facing challenging problems that bring joy if you managed to solve them.

Thank you Princeton University for making this course free and also for the grate Prof. Sedgwick and Wayne for building this course.

创建者 Nick P

Sep 22, 2019

This course was incredibly helpful. I've taught myself Python over the years for data analysis purposes, but I never had a solid understanding of computer science principles like you learn in this course. Learning Java along the way was a nice bonus, and it was helpful to compare and understand differences across different languages. The projects were of an appropriate difficulty, and I would strongly recommend completing them so that you can practice what you learn.

创建者 LuxiLiu

Apr 19, 2020

I think the course has a great balance between introducing concept/history and practical matters. The only difficulty I encountered is that it is sometimes assumed that the students have certain knowledge (I personally spent a lot more time on w6 Recursion than other weeks because I found some concepts/knowledge unfamiliar). Overall it's a great learning experience that gives learners exposure to a variety of aspects of programming.

创建者 Eric R

May 19, 2020

Well taught course, with minimal spoon feeding once it gets moving. I would like more baby steps through the initial Intellij install, as it was aggravating before I saw the value of the course. Being reminded early on that we all make mistakes (forgetting ; and the like) and that unfortunately compilers don't work because we yell at them helped me deal with the inevitable frustrations that come about during programming.

创建者 Practice P

Oct 02, 2020

Amazing course! It gives an opportunity to learn how to think about coding, how to approach real world problems and translate solutions into working programs in Java and other languages.

I sincerely enjoyed the course, especially video lectures and coding assignments, and plan to keep learning from professor Sedgewick and Kevin Wayne other courses on Cuorsera.

Thank you very much!

创建者 Zamir D

Apr 26, 2020

Lectures are a master-piece. Anyone who wood like to see a perfection in presentation of complex phenomena with such a modesty, clarity, simplicity but in the same time reflecting with deepness, this is THE course. The richness of argumentation with expressions can serve as a communication worldwide programming guideline.

Stay healthy dear professor.

创建者 Pankaj S

Sep 13, 2020

This Course is a perfect blend of Mathematics, Science and Programming. This course will definitely upskill you. Prof. Sedgewick's teaching style is very unique. Programming assignment will challenge you to think you out of the box. Overall absolutely amazing learning experience. Thanks to Princeton University.

创建者 sergio p

Jun 13, 2020

Excellent course! I was almost new to Java and programming (learnt some Basic more than thirty years ago). The course is very well organized, all modules are interesting. Material is great and the exercises very challenging with references to multiple disciplines. Rewarding experience. Will go for part two.

创建者 Aleksei V

May 06, 2020

The course itself is great - it is easy to comprehend and the amount of useful information is immense. Some typos are present in the materials, namely on slides. Overall, I can recommend the course to anyone interested in serious programming learning.

创建者 Zhang Y

May 10, 2020

I am new to Java, and am glad to have chosen this course as my java introduction course. I learned a lot and I really enjoyed doing all the assignments! Now I think I can read and write simple Java code, and have a brief understanding about OOP.

创建者 Stefan M

Jun 20, 2020

Very good introductory course to JAVA; completing this course will help with the more advanced course Algorithms I and II since it exposes the necessary JAVA language features and makes you familiar with the autograder functionality.

创建者 Petar M

Dec 14, 2019

This was great course with very enjoyable delivery. The reference to the Book was very helpful if you want to learn more. I liked the heavy inclusion of intersting extercies. I want to see the more in debt next levels taking place.

创建者 Mostafa H

Jun 25, 2020

What i most liked about this course. Is how the instructors showed us what those little programs we built. Can be used to build further programs and its application in different fields in Computer Science

创建者 nglokting

Oct 19, 2019

The course is awesome. It really teaches me the basics of Java programming. Now I know what an object is.

The programming assignments are very interesting and really make you think. I like them very much.