Chevron Left
返回到 Data Collection and Processing with Python

学生对 密歇根大学 提供的 Data Collection and Processing with Python 的评价和反馈

4.7
3,532 个评分
596 条评论

课程概述

This course teaches you to fetch and process data from services on the Internet. It covers Python list comprehensions and provides opportunities to practice extracting from and processing deeply nested data. You'll also learn how to use the Python requests module to interact with REST APIs and what to look for in documentation of those APIs. For the final project, you will construct a “tag recommender” for the flickr photo sharing site. The course is well-suited for you if you have already taken the "Python Basics" and "Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries" courses (courses 1 and 2 of the Python 3 Programming Specialization). If you are already familiar with Python fundamentals but want practice at retrieving and processing complex nested data from Internet services, you can also benefit from this course without taking the previous two. This is the third of five courses in the Python 3 Programming Specialization....

热门审阅

CM

Oct 9, 2019

This was a really excellent course. The functional project at the end helped me understand how recommendation systems work and now I'm very excited to try to build a similar system for books I love.

A

Jul 9, 2020

Very interesting and fine course, in this course I learn how to solve Nested data and new a new thing i.e REST API which seems best in course 3 now I am excited about course 4. Thanking you Michigan

筛选依据:

26 - Data Collection and Processing with Python 的 50 个评论(共 599 个)

创建者 Jerrold

Jul 4, 2020

I just took course 3 because I wanted to learn the syllabus in this course to brush up on my Python skills for data analysis. The course material covered the topics listed in the syllabus for this course excellently, I could follow all the lectures, the instructor was decent and slowly but thoroughly explains all the concepts while typing and running the code on his screen. However the runestone environment which is what the assignment and project is done in a while getting used to as it is a broswer programming environment not a local machine program like IDLE.

A damn good course with manageable assignments. I highly urge anyone who wants to go venture into data science/analysis using Python to take it. Thanks University of Michigan!

创建者 Igor F

Jan 27, 2019

This course helped to understand such convinient thing as list comprehension, also it was really nice to work with API even without having API keys thanks to cached API's responses. I think that these parts are very practical, and I will use these things in the future. Though week's 3 theoretical part seemed to me a little bit long, and, probably, you should spend more time in the real Python environment, I still have enjoyed this course. Completion of the final project really gave me the feeling of personal achievement.

I'd like also to note that on the moment of completion of this course I haven't met same techical problems mentioned on the discusion forums by other participants of the course.

创建者 Enam B

Jul 30, 2020

Very good and informative course. Learned a lot compared to the other 2 courses in this specialization. If you are planning to enroll, please after completion, try to remember whatever was taught in this course. I can guarantee, you will be able to code very efficiently.

Hints - I was able to complete the final assignment within 41 lines (including 9 blank lines, so, basically it is 41-9 = 32 lines) without using any special functions. Just used whatever was taught in this course.

I am really grateful to Professor Paul Resnick. And as always, a big fan of his jokes. Great course!!

创建者 Tingting Y

Aug 11, 2020

Many thanks to the University of Michigan for offering this extremely good intermediate-level python course, and thank you Coursera for making it free. I was able to apply what I learned in the two introductory courses in this python specialisation to very practical problems. However, the difficulty of the final project seemed to be too great a leap from that of the preceding chapter exercises. It would be a good idea to incorporate more smaller coding tasks as chapter exercises in this part of the textbook.

创建者 Ayush P

Aug 3, 2020

It's a great course to work on REST API's as we doesn't require any API key for extraction of data.

Mentor has very well explained the content, to how to extract data from JSON formatted dictionaries.

I loved the concept of understand , extract and repeat...

Just a suggestion : the indent argument in json.jumps is not showing the content in indented format . Therefore, it is sometimes difficult to understand the nested data.Please ! Fix that bug.

创建者 Tushar S

May 18, 2020

This was a very efficient course. It helped me to understand the basic concept of how internet works while requesting data from it. Further it taught me how to read and thus use the documentation of a few REST API. The environment is designed in a way that you can practically examine and use how API works, WITHOUT the need of having a key (*for restricted data available in cached file already).

Thank you to all the professors.

Love from INDIA!!!

创建者 Renee

Jul 8, 2021

Continuing on with the Python specialization, this course fits right in. The focus is on the language & logic, and the messiness of actual internet API calls is abstracted away. Students may find it useful to go practice on their own in an IDE to fill in this gap, but for straight up working with data and getting continued practice with list & dictionary processing, this course fits the bill in the larger scope of the specialization.

创建者 Stella B

Jul 29, 2019

This course gives you so much understanding of API and how useful they can be! The exercises and especially the last assessment of week 3 requires to assembling everything you've learned(and sometimes more than that) to solve it. Through the process of trial and error, you'd learn more than you can imagine, not just on APIs but on how assemble multiple complex functions into 1 cohesive program. I strongly recommend to do this course !!

创建者 Kyle K

Aug 6, 2021

Strangely, the first appearance of Dr. Charles Severance in my experience of the Python 3 programming specialization, albeit for a single <20 min segment on the Google geo-API (contrary to what is claimed in each courses intro video: Chuck does not teach each 'Way of the Programmer' segment).

I really learned more than I expected to, a good intro to map/reduce, list comprehension, filtering, and a fairly meaty end of course project.

创建者 Rodrigo S L

Aug 19, 2020

This course is the most difficult in the specialization yet... If you've done course 1 and 2, this one is going to challenge you. However, finishing the course and getting the certificate, will give you great satisfaction. Dr. Resnick has a great talent for explaining things, and the textbook tool is simply one of the best tools to learn programming. Highly recommended.

Also, the dad jokes, LOL.

创建者 Brandon H

Aug 25, 2020

The final project was demanding and rewarding. Required overcoming diverse coding challenges to bring together skills from other courses in the specialization. Really a great experience. The openly available api keys made getting the working version on my local machine possible, which greatly added to the learning experience

The videos, examples and practice material were once again excellent

创建者 Scott K

Dec 13, 2020

Very informative. Great textbook and exercises. The lectures were a bit basic for me, but that's just because they were thorough. I was able to skip them and just use the online textbook and complete assignments to go faster when I wanted. Do yourself a favor and download PyCharm or another code editing program to make it easier to experiment on your own as you work through the assignments.

创建者 PANIDAPU H C

May 25, 2020

I AM VERY HAPPY THAT I HAVE TAKEN THIS SPECIALISATION.I HAD A LOT OF FUN.I ENJOYED A LOT.I GOT MORE AND MORE INFORMATION ABOUT API AND LIST COMPREHENSIONS,DATA COLLECTION AND A LOT OF THINGS.I LIKE LECTURES OF PROFESSOR PAUL.THANK YOU TEAM COURSERA FOR PROVIDING SUCH A BEAUTIFUL COURSE AND IT'S WONDERFUL.THANK YOU TO INSTRUCTORS OF MICHIGAN UNIVERSITY.I WISH TO DO MORE AND MORE COURSES.

创建者 James M

Aug 17, 2020

Excellent course. Challenging but "do-able" project. Professor Resnick gives very clear explanations in the videos.

When you code a request that goes out onto the internet and actually brings back information into your program just the way you told it to -well, there's something close to delight that you feel as 100 lines of info scroll down the screen.

创建者 Collin M

Feb 28, 2021

Very good material on how to iterate through nested data structures and retrieving and organizing data from web url's. The course project was difficult, and I needed to find information from third party websites to complete it. But, it provided hands on experience introducing useful and practical applications of the material included in this course.

创建者 Bret G

Dec 29, 2020

I had an easier time with this project than with the project from Course 2 (Python Functions, Files, and Dictionaries). If you struggled with Course 2's project, don't fret! With that being said, I feel like I learned a lot in this course that can be more directly applied to real-life work, particularly with function-building and API use.

创建者 Suresh C

Jul 29, 2019

It's very thorough class and I enjoyed completing it. I have a suggestion. The API data extraction environment could have been made better. Many times, my script succeeds in Jupyter but fails in Runestone environment. Not sure what the problem is. I noticed several messages in discussion forums with similar observation. Thanks.

创建者 Javier E

Aug 18, 2021

Very good course. Well explained, didactical very good to follow and you really learn that stuff and can implement it. The projects are challenging but very well structured to do step by step and make small wins on the way. I liked it very much. As well the jokes were always a good to end the topic with a smile.

创建者 Ian M

Sep 13, 2020

Most intense, challenging, and rewarding course I have ever taken on Coursera. I did the first two before this. I love the Runestone Textbook. I really love this specialization. Definitely the best slate of courses I have ever seen, and this was the best of all of them. Thanks, University of Michigan. Go, Blue!

创建者 おう ふ

Nov 14, 2021

V​ery good as usual, though the final assignment was a little bit challenging as somehow I could not run "import requests_with_caching" (so I could not practice in my own Spyder environment). The final question was also well designed as one must recall the method in Section 16.5. Breaking Ties: Second Sorting.

创建者 pietro v

Nov 19, 2020

Quality instructors and course material, as I already said for the previous two Python modules.

This time they even arranged the Runestone Interactive environment to overcome the multiple requests limitation of some REST API. And that for us to practise effectively. They care about us students

创建者 Kushagra V

May 17, 2020

Paul Resnick is a great teacher. His teaching methodology is very impressive .I managed to cover the entire syllabus within 4 days and also with 100% grades. All the credit goes to him and his team. I faced a little difficulty in the last project but the discussion forums are very useful.

创建者 Rishi S

Dec 22, 2018

Very nice exercises and very useful knowledge! some challenges with the auto-grader but I am sure this will be soon fixed as likely to do with being so new (first run). Love it that I do not have to watch long video's , there is enough explanation around the exercises to get you going.

创建者 Yauheni P

Apr 21, 2020

Great course! Thank you Paul and everyone who did a great job. I wish the tasks would be easier to understand for non-English speakers. The very last task, for example, made me crazy. I thought I had to get 5 kv pairs for each element in the list. Other than that it is a great course!

创建者 Nicolás S V

Apr 7, 2020

The course was interesting, overall the more interesting part was the last challenge or grade, where you have to reach to different endpoint by calling an API where you get movie information and another API from where you get the ratings of such movies. It was fun, so enjoy the ride!!