Chevron Left
返回到 Data-driven Astronomy

学生对 悉尼大学 提供的 Data-driven Astronomy 的评价和反馈

4.8
493 个评分
152 个审阅

课程概述

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

热门审阅

GM

Jun 30, 2017

Great course with a good balance of code and the rewards to be had from understanding how the code works - proved to be an excellent introduction to Astronomy and confidence builder in Python.

BF

Aug 11, 2019

Such a wonderful course. It had a very good mix of astronomy and computer science. The programming activities were especially good and the lectures were very informative. I highly recommend.

筛选依据:

51 - Data-driven Astronomy 的 75 个评论(共 151 个)

创建者 Ulisses M C

May 17, 2018

The course is excellent.

创建者 Rodrigo J

Aug 12, 2017

Fantastic and concise hands-on course!

创建者 Sviatoslav S

Jan 06, 2018

Excellent course! =)

创建者 Ernesto P

Sep 28, 2017

Great course and very good material

创建者 Cameron D K

Jan 25, 2018

Great course! Learned a great deal even though I'm not an astronomer.

创建者 Max H

Apr 14, 2018

Dr Tara Murphy is exceptionally good at extracting and compressing essential informations and transporting it to the audience. A very well structured course with phantastically produced short movies about basic astronomy topics on an introductory level (great fun to watch this powerthirstesque kind of galactic round-house kick) Reveals some very important fundamentals you should know about scientific computing, introduces you to some of the really hot public scientific libraries, and, eventually, adds some GROK platform learning experience which is unparalleled. There's only one downer (two if you add Dr Simon Murphy's noctilucent shirt in his first lecture): it only scratches a few microns of that nasty double-headed science dragon. Don't expect to to be able to solve problems on the scale of the real world, er... universe with the obtained knowledge. Nevertheless, great job Data-driven Astronomy team!

创建者 Leonel R

Feb 26, 2018

Great. Intensive Python. Very rewarding!

创建者 Matt L

Jun 26, 2017

Astronomy, Python, and SQL ... like all my favorite friends in the same place!

创建者 Ryan H

May 06, 2017

Great class! I didn't know that these techniques were used in astronomy. I am looking forward to more science and scientific computing courses from Coursera.

创建者 Erik v P

Sep 05, 2017

Good introduction course to big data. Some prior knowledge of Python is good to have to make it easier to get through the course, The astronomy part of the course is very interesting. It has changed much since I took university level courses in it.

创建者 Ruth P

Aug 07, 2017

This course was absolutely fascinating, thank you so much! I especially enjoyed the discussions about actually thinking through the data instead of just jumping in with whatever tool or algorithm you normally use, loved the short astronomical overview pieces and their quizzes, and the bonus material - interviews of people working in the "real world" out there - was great.

创建者 Jesse S

Aug 30, 2017

Fun, engaging programming-focused assessments with just the right balance of structure and freedom. Diligent mentors such as Magda on the Forums. All embedded in the wonderful content of Astronomy. Good for practising Python and an intro to SQL.

创建者 Carlos N

Apr 19, 2018

It's been a very interesting and enriching point of view of astronomy. I loved the way computing can help astronomy.

创建者 hetpin

Mar 15, 2018

Highly recommended course for both astronomical and computer science students.

创建者 Alexei M

Aug 11, 2017

A great place to get hands dirty for those who are interested in how modern astronomy handles and does science with observational data. Good for both amateur astronomers and professionals. I enjoyed the course very much. Impressive is how practical part of programming was made available and worked smooth most of the time.

创建者 Ivet M

Jun 15, 2018

I've enjoyed a lot this course. I've learnt a lot of things and I would recommend it to everyone

创建者 Santiago M Z O

Sep 08, 2018

Just finished this wonderful course, it teaches (mostly in Python) the basics of how to apply certain techniques of data handling, processing, and analysis, in the realm of Astronomy, which has vast amounts of collected data and which I've loved all my life as a hobbyist! This knowledge is very useful and can be extended to many other scientific fields. The course has a great mix of theory and hands-on exercises (with a great supporting online coding platform), and encourages people to continue reading and experimenting on their own.

创建者 Stavroula E

Sep 07, 2018

For anyone intrested in Astrostats & Astroinformatics, highly recommended!

创建者 Craig T

Aug 28, 2018

Really good basic intro to data analysis, particularly applying this to the astronomical domain.

创建者 Arnaud D

Aug 18, 2018

This is real astronomy ! A fantastic approach to current research subject. If you want to learn astronomy from the ground up, take an introductory course before this one. It starts directly to studying pulsars statistics, and most important, how to detect and study it. All the worshops are in Python, using a web notebook. But it's neither an introductory course on Python. So, it' better to have a minimum knowledge on programming and Python language. But, if you have the prequisites, and are interested to do computation for astronomy using large datasets, this is the course. The techniques can also been extended to other computational intensive domains.

创建者 Adrian W

Sep 01, 2018

Loved the mix of theory and hands-on. Very well balanced. Great learning outcomes. Loved that it went as far as to include simple ML into the syllabus. This has made me want to get back into real computational physics again!

创建者 Ross N

Aug 23, 2018

Really Good. Learnt quite a lot actually for a small course.

创建者 Erin D

Sep 30, 2018

Excellent. Teaching is thorough and concise, the quizzes and external coding problems are challenging enough but not overwhelming. A great course.

创建者 hawzhin b

Aug 24, 2018

Very useful course ,

创建者 Gonzalo B

Aug 08, 2018

A great introduction to Data-driven Astronomy and a good way for starting to learn Python by solving problems