Chevron Left
返回到 Data-driven Astronomy

学生对 悉尼大学 提供的 Data-driven Astronomy 的评价和反馈

4.8
495 个评分
154 个审阅

课程概述

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

热门审阅

GM

Jun 30, 2017

Great course with a good balance of code and the rewards to be had from understanding how the code works - proved to be an excellent introduction to Astronomy and confidence builder in Python.

BF

Aug 11, 2019

Such a wonderful course. It had a very good mix of astronomy and computer science. The programming activities were especially good and the lectures were very informative. I highly recommend.

筛选依据:

101 - Data-driven Astronomy 的 125 个评论(共 151 个)

创建者 Sachin V

Sep 29, 2019

extremely multidisciplinary!

创建者 Erik H

Sep 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. You'll learn some python, some SQL. But for me most important was learning more about astronomy and the universe. Very interesting.

创建者 Tatiana S

Sep 10, 2019

Excellent course. I enjoyed the programming assignments a lot.

创建者 Dr. D S

Oct 05, 2019

Excellent introduction into the astronomical exploration using the methods of big data

创建者 Javier E

Oct 10, 2019

This is a very interesting introduction to data analysis and machine learning for astronomy. The hands-on approach makes the course quite engaging.

The course is well structured and presented. The lectures are interesting and the explanations clear. The course materials are well chosen to illustrate what is being taught in the lectures. The development environment (Grok) is usable and glitch-free.

The choice of programming language, Python3, looks quite right to me. Python has become the "new normal" in astronomy. It offers an easy learning curve and a myriad of well tested modules which are available for free.

I really enjoyed this course and I would recommend it to any one with an interest in this or related subjects.

创建者 PV R K

Nov 02, 2019

excellent course and more in-depth programming skills

创建者 Anand S

Nov 02, 2019

well designed and easy to follow course for beginners. thoroughly enjoyed!

创建者 Marco T

Sep 16, 2019

Very well made, informative and hand-on the right amount! Loved it!

创建者 Harald v F

Sep 16, 2019

Excellent course taking us into the realms of big data, computational methods even database and SQL, I enjoyed it very much. Especially the hands-on exercises are very valuable.

Thanks a lot!

创建者 Peter S

Dec 07, 2019

Excellent course, broad as well as deep and good reference material.

创建者 Egor Z

Dec 10, 2019

Amazing course about the Sky above. Here is python code practice with NumPy and Astropy libraries - very useful for me.

But, I didn't understand that guy, just at the end of 2nd week talking. Little bit boring stuff. I think better to show the beauty of the astronomy data in visual aspect and more (in sound).

创建者 Aditya N

Sep 23, 2019

Excellent. Learnt a lot of useful things

创建者 Gregory L R

Dec 12, 2019

Excellent introduction to Data Science with an Astronomical focus.

创建者 Muhammad B K

Nov 05, 2019

Must to do for students of astronomy and computer science.

创建者 Sourabh D

Sep 25, 2018

Completed the course 2 days ago. It was an amazing experience of learning. I was overwhelmed by all practical examples and implementations. I would recommend this course to everyone in either astrophysics field.

创建者 Daniel N

Mar 20, 2019

very good course, with clear technical explination and interesting

创建者 Alan M

Oct 12, 2017

Although, I gave a five star, but I have following notes:

It was brilliantly structured on shaping and combining scientific problems with data science to tackle those issue. However, it could use few more examples to add to our current skills. Thank you again. That was the course I was looking for, after taking a course on Machine Learning by Andrea NG, from Stanford University.

创建者 antonio b

Nov 14, 2019

Very good Seminar! Is there a second part?

Congratulations to the professors!

创建者 notsoseamless

Jul 11, 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

创建者 Stephen G

Sep 24, 2017

Excellent course - Practical learning with realdata

创建者 Cooper P

Sep 28, 2017

I have a profound admiration for this course and its professors.

创建者 Steve B

Jun 19, 2018

I used it to learn Python which made it more challenging but the content inspired me to get through it... excellent

创建者 Ashish H J

Aug 28, 2019

Overall Great course regarding content delivered and the good thing is they kept it short and straight forward; more interesting exercises and programming would have been really great! Looking forward for more advanced courses!

创建者 Ted S

May 25, 2017

I've been looking for a class like this for a while. Nice intro to python and accessing and manipulating astro data

创建者 Jerome L

Oct 16, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. It is very well structured, with a good progression in the complexity which make it accessible even for people who have quite no skills in Python or SQL, and who are no astronomers (like me). The teachers use a wide range of astronomical subjects to illustrate the different techniques used in data analysis. They propose examples and exercises based on real datasets, which is fabulous for people like me who don't have access to such datasets (or can have access to, but no comprehension of what they show).

Teachers are also reactive in the forums, which is much appreciated. And, for a non-english speaking person, the subtitles are very usefull. The Grok interface is incredibly easy to use, with, again, a progressive complexity in the exercises, and great explanations at each step.

If I tried to find something to improve, I would say: make more obvious how the learned techniques can actually help and improve astrophysical research, maybe with more examples of publications or concrete results obtained in the research field. But it's just quibble over details :-) The interviews in the bonus are very interesting.

So, congratulations for this great work, and thank you for opening a little bit the door of your laboratory :-). Now, more than ever, I hope to work in this domain one day.