Chevron Left
返回到 Data-driven Astronomy

学生对 悉尼大学 提供的 Data-driven Astronomy 的评价和反馈

4.8
469 个评分
143 个审阅

课程概述

Science is undergoing a data explosion, and astronomy is leading the way. Modern telescopes produce terabytes of data per observation, and the simulations required to model our observable Universe push supercomputers to their limits. To analyse this data scientists need to be able to think computationally to solve problems. In this course you will investigate the challenges of working with large datasets: how to implement algorithms that work; how to use databases to manage your data; and how to learn from your data with machine learning tools. The focus is on practical skills - all the activities will be done in Python 3, a modern programming language used throughout astronomy. Regardless of whether you’re already a scientist, studying to become one, or just interested in how modern astronomy works ‘under the bonnet’, this course will help you explore astronomy: from planets, to pulsars to black holes. Course outline: Week 1: Thinking about data - Principles of computational thinking - Discovering pulsars in radio images Week 2: Big data makes things slow - How to work out the time complexity of algorithms - Exploring the black holes at the centres of massive galaxies Week 3: Querying data using SQL - How to use databases to analyse your data - Investigating exoplanets in other solar systems Week 4: Managing your data - How to set up databases to manage your data - Exploring the lifecycle of stars in our Galaxy Week 5: Learning from data: regression - Using machine learning tools to investigate your data - Calculating the redshifts of distant galaxies Week 6: Learning from data: classification - Using machine learning tools to classify your data - Investigating different types of galaxies Each week will also have an interview with a data-driven astronomy expert. Note that some knowledge of Python is assumed, including variables, control structures, data structures, functions, and working with files....

热门审阅

GM

Jun 30, 2017

Great course with a good balance of code and the rewards to be had from understanding how the code works - proved to be an excellent introduction to Astronomy and confidence builder in Python.

BF

Aug 11, 2019

Such a wonderful course. It had a very good mix of astronomy and computer science. The programming activities were especially good and the lectures were very informative. I highly recommend.

筛选依据:

101 - Data-driven Astronomy 的 125 个评论(共 140 个)

创建者 Yasith R

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent course..

创建者 Brandon F

Aug 11, 2019

Such a wonderful course. It had a very good mix of astronomy and computer science. The programming activities were especially good and the lectures were very informative. I highly recommend.

创建者 Thomas M

Aug 14, 2019

Excellent course. One of the best things I learned is that I need to learn statistics now.

创建者 ÁLVARO N J H

Aug 19, 2019

Un curso introductorio, de dificultad variable (quizás más duro al principio que al final) muy interesante tanto para enlazar teoría y práctica en el campo de la Astronomía, para iniciarse en las técnicas y conceptos clave del Machine Learning, como para desarrollar o refrescar el pensamiento algorítmico-computacional.

En resumen: MUY BUEN CURSO

创建者 Tony G

Aug 23, 2019

Excellent course. One of the best I've taken. Love that real data sets were used to illustrate the concepts. Highly recommended.

创建者 Pablo C

Aug 22, 2019

Thats was a lot of fun! i want to learn more! Can i have a second part?

创建者 Ashish H J

Aug 28, 2019

Overall Great course regarding content delivered and the good thing is they kept it short and straight forward; more interesting exercises and programming would have been really great! Looking forward for more advanced courses!

创建者 Cecilia G

Jul 06, 2019

Great course, does help to have a background in python so more time can be spent on the activities.

创建者 notsoseamless

Jul 11, 2019

Really interesting course.

I now need to make further study of the techniques introduced on this course.

创建者 Paulina

Jul 13, 2019

It is a really well done course, 100% recommended. Simple but with a lot of information to shared. exercises are really well build in order to anyone can understand the main objective (Astronomy and Machine Learning techniques).

创建者 Tatiana S

Sep 10, 2019

Excellent course. I enjoyed the programming assignments a lot.

创建者 Harald v F

Sep 16, 2019

Excellent course taking us into the realms of big data, computational methods even database and SQL, I enjoyed it very much. Especially the hands-on exercises are very valuable.

Thanks a lot!

创建者 Dhruv P

Sep 16, 2019

For the first time, I've learnt the application of programming languages in the field of Astronomy. A course worth taking.

创建者 Marco T

Sep 16, 2019

Very well made, informative and hand-on the right amount! Loved it!

创建者 Jiqing H

Jun 12, 2019

great course!

创建者 Rohit N

Jun 12, 2019

I'm loving it!

创建者 Ujjwal J

Jun 13, 2019

best course i ve taken in coursera

创建者 Aditya N

Sep 23, 2019

Excellent. Learnt a lot of useful things

创建者 Erik H

Sep 28, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. You'll learn some python, some SQL. But for me most important was learning more about astronomy and the universe. Very interesting.

创建者 Sachin V

Sep 29, 2019

extremely multidisciplinary!

创建者 Dr. D S

Oct 05, 2019

Excellent introduction into the astronomical exploration using the methods of big data

创建者 Javier E

Oct 10, 2019

This is a very interesting introduction to data analysis and machine learning for astronomy. The hands-on approach makes the course quite engaging.

The course is well structured and presented. The lectures are interesting and the explanations clear. The course materials are well chosen to illustrate what is being taught in the lectures. The development environment (Grok) is usable and glitch-free.

The choice of programming language, Python3, looks quite right to me. Python has become the "new normal" in astronomy. It offers an easy learning curve and a myriad of well tested modules which are available for free.

I really enjoyed this course and I would recommend it to any one with an interest in this or related subjects.

创建者 Jordi G P

Dec 10, 2018

Pretty good introduction to both Big Data treatment and modern astronomy!

创建者 Adam S

Jun 25, 2017

I thought this class was a great application of Python Programming to an interesting topic that I otherwise would not have learned. However, coming from a computer science background, the programming was pretty easy. If you are looking to strictly learn more about programming, I would suggest a more difficult course.

创建者 Gautam B

Apr 22, 2017

Great and quick way to learn things. Thanks for the troubles taken to put this together. Some of the computational exercises could do with a little more clarity of language. But, overall, Great!