Chevron Left
返回到 Big Data, Genes, and Medicine

学生对 纽约州立大学纽约州立大学 提供的 Big Data, Genes, and Medicine 的评价和反馈

4.2
246 个评分

课程概述

This course distills for you expert knowledge and skills mastered by professionals in Health Big Data Science and Bioinformatics. You will learn exciting facts about the human body biology and chemistry, genetics, and medicine that will be intertwined with the science of Big Data and skills to harness the avalanche of data openly available at your fingertips and which we are just starting to make sense of. We’ll investigate the different steps required to master Big Data analytics on real datasets, including Next Generation Sequencing data, in a healthcare and biological context, from preparing data for analysis to completing the analysis, interpreting the results, visualizing them, and sharing the results. Needless to say, when you master these high-demand skills, you will be well positioned to apply for or move to positions in biomedical data analytics and bioinformatics. No matter what your skill levels are in biomedical or technical areas, you will gain highly valuable new or sharpened skills that will make you stand-out as a professional and want to dive even deeper in biomedical Big Data. It is my hope that this course will spark your interest in the vast possibilities offered by publicly available Big Data to better understand, prevent, and treat diseases....

热门审阅

EM

Aug 13, 2022

Great place to start for those wanting to obtain a bioinformatic skill base. The skills I learned during this course have had a positive impact upon my current lab project. Well worth your time!

BB

Jul 1, 2020

Very practical and easy to follow. The quizzes definitely help you retain the knowledge from the lectures. The hands-on with Jupyter Notebook was my favourite part of this course! Thank you!

筛选依据:

51 - Big Data, Genes, and Medicine 的 75 个评论(共 80 个)

创建者 Dr.G.Nagarajan

Jun 24, 2020

good

创建者 Jakub M

Jan 24, 2018

I do like how in depth this was so that you can get a real taste of how some of this analysis is performed as well as the fundamentals behind it. Balancing all of the biology, informatics, statistics to an audience where you don't know everyone's backgrounds is very challenging but I think this course does a fairly good job of it. I do wish some of the answers were updated, as when you go through some of the analysis using the public tools they may have changed because certain answers I got were very slightly off (1-3) and I had thought it was my fault at first until I checked the forums, so that was annoying at worst. I liked all of the cbio portal lessons and the quizzes where we had to go into the code and change some numbers. The work in the jupyter notebooks felt overwhelming sometimes so I wish I all the codes were slightly more thoroughly explained, but otherwise a satisfying course.

创建者 MAYANK B

Jun 7, 2020

The course is well planned to give an insight (basics) into biology and computer programming "R". For a completely new student in computers, like me, this course has provided me with some good basics of "R" and biological analytical tools. However, I did not understand many applications taught in the lectures due to the new field. I only did as it was said. Overall a good course to pursue to explore a new area.

创建者 Lesley P J W

May 4, 2020

Good information and training course for the beginner. However the content of the course should be updated constantly. For example, one of the functions like "network" as mentioned in cbioportal is no longer available since 2019. And the alternative way for that function should be provided and taught as well.

创建者 Katherine C

Aug 29, 2021

The course overall does a good job of explaining the selected topics, but parts of the course involving the use of cBioportal are extremely outdated. Some of the features have been combined into other tabs or outright removed, which makes completing parts of Week 1 rather difficult

创建者 Meher B

Oct 24, 2016

The course was fairly good and covered different topics about big data applied to genes. The resources and the course content were useful, to get a good understanding about the field.

The assignments weren't as good as I anticipated, I would have preferred more hands-on work.

创建者 Yang L

Mar 17, 2019

The lessons are quite good, although I already got some preliminaries on bioinformatics and big data analysis. The usage of website cbioportal is quite helpful for us to obtain useful genetics information and its relation with different types of cancer

创建者 Karthick V A

Aug 3, 2020

The content are very good and the way practice questions designed was very helpful in completing the final assignments. In specific areas like content regarding cbioportal should be updated cause it differs from what is given in the actual site

创建者 Ahmad S N A

Sep 15, 2020

Considering that this course originates back in 2016, there has been some advances in some lecturing methods presented in this course. This course should update its components to match the relevant condition as now.

创建者 Amanda W

Jun 12, 2020

Very good for statistics information in regards to genes, medicine, and big data. I wish they would have spent more time on the R code and how to create it, but otherwise was a really good course.

创建者 Jaime P

Apr 21, 2020

Muy buen curso introductorio, incluye un uso muy sencillo de programación con R, lo cual está muy bien para centrarse en aprender los algoritmos de análisis pero no para aprender R.

创建者 Mahdi Z

Sep 9, 2021

the mahcine learning parts were good, though a bit more practical exercises could have improved it.

but the Genetic parts were taught far too vague in my opinion,

Thank all of you :)

创建者 Sulagna B

Jun 23, 2020

The course is more of an intermediate course than an advanced one, but a great starting point from where you can find your own interests and develop further on that.

创建者 Vasco S O L C

Aug 28, 2018

Apart form minor issues in the assessments, I really enjoyed this course as it was presented clearly and concise by professor Isabelle Bichindaritz

创建者 Sanjan D

Dec 23, 2019

Great range of content covered! Some videos on cBioPortal are best updated since the website has changed!

创建者 Diego

Sep 12, 2020

Me gustó mucho el curso y, la parte practica que es muy importante, es sencilla de entender y realizar

创建者 Shabnam m

Jul 3, 2022

it was a good and useful course. it just needs an update because of some changes in the cbioportal.

创建者 Razda K

Jul 6, 2020

Very informative.. get to learn so many new things. Thank you for sharing the knowledge..!!

创建者 Antonenko E

Jun 16, 2018

I feel like I wanted to have practice with the material that was covered in the lecture

创建者 KAVITHA G M

May 24, 2020

The course was good to know about bioinformatics and how this can be used. Thank You

创建者 Harini S

Aug 25, 2020

This course gives me a idea about my project.very informative course.thank you

创建者 Peter S

Jan 4, 2017

A great introduction to the topic. It will leave you wanting to learn more.

创建者 Luis P d C H

Oct 7, 2017

Excellent course for an introduction to Big data and bioscience.

创建者 michael f

Apr 2, 2022

This is a very good course. Learnt a lot from this course.

创建者 Jewelrose J

Sep 7, 2020

Informative session