Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的评价和反馈

4.5
9,060 个评分
2,049 条评论

课程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

热门审阅

VC
May 16, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

筛选依据:

76 - Data Science Math Skills 的 100 个评论(共 2,028 个)

创建者 Kianti S

Jul 3, 2020

The learnings are very broad meaning, it is not only applicable in the field of data analytics but also in a the filed of mathematics, sciences, and statistics in my opinion. Thank you professor Daniel Egger and professor Paul Bendich for the amazing efforts, like for the amazing lectures and putting the step by step process of how to solve certain problems in your quizzes and also the of copies of the handouts which made my learning more conviniet.

创建者 Mario C

Jun 11, 2020

I never thought I could do math, that I just didn't get it. In this course I was doing math stuff that I considered was way above me. While I still have some difficulties with the more advanced concepts such as logs and "where to begin" with probabilities, I still have a foundation in these that I actually understand. Knowing my inadequacies I can go on and study those, but thank you so much for making an easily understandable course.

创建者 Krishnendu S

Jul 26, 2020

Excellent course for beginners. It starts from the basics and goes up to the intermediate level. Excellent short and very well explained videos and exceptionally good practice and graded questions. These questions help students to think deep into the matter and provide the necessary stimuli of in-depth learning. Great course. I am much obliged to Coursera, Duke University and the instructors for giving such an opportunity.

创建者 Artiom C

Apr 26, 2020

From 3 courses I've taken so far, this one was the best, because it covers a lot from basics to complex math. By the end of the course it does try to cover very complicated topics, which if you don't have training in, you will feel the need to supplement from another resources, even though the reading section of this course helps a lot. Lectures on Khan academy were also very helpful in remembering lost concepts.

创建者 RISHI K

Dec 4, 2020

100 OUT OF 100 BECAUSE VIDEOS ARE AVAILABLE WITH GOOD QUALITIES + CONTENT AND EXAMPLES + RESOURCES MATERIAL i.e. THE PDFS ARE AVAILABLE WITH THIS COURSE MATERIALS FOR WHICH NO USE OF HANDWRITTEN NOTES IS REQUIRED .

THANKS A LOT MY ALL DEAR RESPECTED SIR + SPECIAL THANKS TO ALL FACULTY MEMBERS OF DUKE UNIVERSITY FOR THIS MATERIAL PROVIDING TO US

创建者 Laida L

Apr 19, 2020

The course was easy and comprehensible as long as you have done basic maths at some point in your life. For those who don't I would suggest to go and take a calculus and statistics course and revisit. Otherwise, you would have to do some research by your own, in order to be able to follow. Keep in mind that if you do not see the exponents etc, change browser. Chrome seems to work better than my Firefox.

创建者 Sofia M

Sep 5, 2020

I did learn this course due to I found out a mention about it in an article on the Web. I had 3 higher eds with math, and I needed to get it again because I started to learn Data Science in Health Care Administration. Thanks to the lecturer, thanks to all who made this course availible online.I would like to continue with you! Highly recommend this course for those who need to study Data Science.

创建者 Deleted A

Sep 17, 2020

Great course to strengthen the basics before jumping into applicable approach on data science. The hardest part on this course is the week 4, the one with probability and bayes theorem, and it is advised to get supplementary information on bayes theorem and probability to avoid confusion. All in all, it is highly recommended to anyone starting to learn for solid understanding on data.

创建者 Deleted A

Dec 30, 2020

Overall this course I believe is deliver skill effectively. As I have forgot what is learned in high school due to lack of use in my life after come out from school, the Algebra session is very interesting and easy to learn for me Come to Probability session which is a totally new interesting field to me, I wish I have a better memory because it is not easy to learn in a short time.

创建者 Abdulla A

Apr 10, 2020

I am fairly new to the field of Data Science and Machine Learning, and I felt like i had to strengthen my math skills, hence why I enrolled in the class. The professor did a great job explaining everything in detail, and brushing up on simple math terms. I feel more confident now to move forward into data science that I have a basic knowledge and understanding of the math concepts.

创建者 Tim H

Sep 3, 2020

A fantastic primer on the basics of math related to practically every quantitative field. I hadn't touched probability since high school but now i feel that i am prepared to tackle intermediate probability problems. That being said, prepare to breeze through most of this course and then suddenly find yourself looking up advice on math stack exchange.

I love Bayesian statistics.

创建者 Lokesh K S

Dec 3, 2020

The course will introduce you to the basics of Mathematics needed in Data Science. If you have a STEM Background then the course would be easy for you. I personally find the quiz to be really good which will make you apply the knowledge you learned. Also, the course material is helpful and useful for future reference. Thanks to the Professors of the course and Duke University.

创建者 Abhishek A

Apr 26, 2020

First of all I would like to thanks Coursera for providing the different types of courses by the world best instructors from the top universities. From this course, I get to know more deeply knowledge about data science maths skills .By, using those knowledge I can apply those in real life problem related to this.

Thank you very much Coursera for providing this type of platform

创建者 Adler A

Apr 8, 2020

I totally liked this course for clear explanations and plenty of practical exercises. Some of them were not easy for me, but thanks to comments after mistakes I could finally find the right solutions. Just in the last week in the final quiz, there were no explanations, but maybe it was a problem on the site side. This course made me think a lot, and I enjoyed it genuinely.

创建者 Tharanath R

Jun 29, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed my course as both professors made the entire process of learning an excellent starting point for beginners as well as a wonderful refresher for those returning to the subject once again. I strongly recommend doing this course in order to better understand the fundamental concepts that are underlying the domain of mathematics in Data Science.

创建者 Haqi A

Jun 10, 2020

This is a good course for anyone who wants to brush their math skills. The explanation in the videos are clear and the video companions/pdf files are very helpful. I personally read the pdf files first and then watch the videos and proceed to do the quizzes. If there should be any improvement, I'd like to see more practice questions, especially after each video.

创建者 Divyang S

Jun 8, 2020

The explanation of concepts was amazing. But I feel more examples should have been illustrated, since the quizzes were really hard in the last week. Overall, a great Mathematics and Statistics refresher course. This short course will help you figure out where you stand and how much more work needs to be done with respect to your Data Science Math skills.

创建者 Dhimas U

Aug 2, 2020

This course really helped me in refreshing my knowledge, especially at the theories of probability. First, second, and third module was okay, but in the last module (module 4), you need to study more comprehensively as there were too many trap answers. This course is a good choice for everyone who wants to begin their specialization in data science.

创建者 Maciej P

Jan 24, 2021

The corse is really good. If you had mathematics some time ago and wish to get started again, this course is for you.

The last two modules are much better than the first two ones, but I guess it's still a work in progress. Feedback and answers make a huge difference. I learned quite a lot reviewing my own mistakes with the help of the answers.

.

创建者 Samrat T

Jul 30, 2020

Nice introduction with Probability and other mathematics. Good examples. For some, it might be too basic. I have not done mathematics of 3 years this course has helped me to remember different common rules and their application in data science. It has jerked my memory down. Thought, the probability module can be improved with better examples.

创建者 Murali M A

Aug 27, 2017

Succinct explanation of the basics. Take more time at the Bayes theorem. It is worth it. Work out all the problems and keep reading the PDF notes accompanied with the videos. All in all, a great experience for those who have missed some basic math in earlier education. I am onward to my next course in machine learning and data science. Cheers

创建者 Avinaash

Feb 18, 2021

I had a lot of forgotten knowledge from when i was at university which this course really helped refresh me in. I think its a really good course for a refresh or even a beginner however at times I felt a few things were too quickly glanced over when deriving formulas which made it sometime a challenge to follow but overall was a good course.

创建者 CJay

Jun 13, 2020

This is a very good course for those who have forgotten about their math skills and are new to data science. The first few weeks will cover basic math which you can skim through if you are good in math. This course also introduces you to statistics in particular Bayes' theorem which is an important topic of data science. Enjoy the course!

创建者 Gitashah

Jan 31, 2019

First of all thanks to the data science math skill because i learned many new things,ideas,knowledge and skills from this course and more thankful to professors because of them i am able to give all the answers and it was too much interesting to do .

Thanks to all the teams of coursera as well as to the data science math skill......

创建者 Garth Z

Mar 10, 2017

If you are a right-brainer and/or rusty on math, I strongly recommend this course as a precursor to Duke's Intro to Probability and Data course. Some of the practice and final quiz questions really threw me (and that's good)... Most of them I was able to rethink and derive the correct answer and a few others remain a mystery... :-)