Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的评价和反馈

4.5
2,246 个评分
498 条评论

课程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

热门审阅

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

筛选依据:

76 - Data Science Math Skills 的 100 个评论(共 490 个)

创建者 shruti b

Feb 01, 2019

I have learn many things from this course such as algebra, equations,and other math problems. It has given me many information .

创建者 Kehinde O

Aug 24, 2017

This is a great course for anyone who has little or no experience with elementary algebra and for those who might have forgotten.

创建者 Ritima B

Feb 01, 2019

Really a great place to get a free education. I already complete a course and am looking forward to complete my second course.

创建者 SAUVIK J

Sep 28, 2018

A bit more information regarding Bayes theorem, Examples and how to tackle them would be better. Other than that it was good.

创建者 Rodolfo S

Apr 23, 2019

Great course! Great material! It has been fun to learn and beginning a data science path with this outstanding introduction.

创建者 Harry M

Dec 29, 2018

Thanks a lot! It's a huge important course, really... Thanks. Because I want to become a data scientist, so thanks, again.

创建者 Pham V T

Mar 30, 2017

very good knowledge for someone who want to call back prob theory in uni or get an introduction in mathematics problem

创建者 Kelsey G

Feb 24, 2019

I loved the tag team between the two professors. I would love to learn more math and data science from both of them!

创建者 Joy G

Nov 13, 2018

This course from course era has given me new opportunity to explore and has given me confidence in data science ,

创建者 Damodar

Jun 19, 2017

Thanks a lot for a wonderful course. Gave a quick overview of the basic Math skills required for Data Science.

创建者 colinyuran

Jul 09, 2018

this course is very good, it helps me to recall my math logic which may be used in data analysis very quickly

创建者 Toan T L

Jun 26, 2018

Great course. Help me to refresh my knowledge on basic maths which is necessary for my following study plan.

创建者 Vijay R

Nov 13, 2017

Very easy to understand explained clearly by the professors. Suited for anyone with 12th grade math skills.

创建者 Daniel C

Oct 15, 2018

Great course! I would recommend this course to get familiar with data science basic terms and definitions.

创建者 Wanling R

Nov 29, 2017

Generally it's good, the basic skills are coupled with real life examples, which makes the skills useful

创建者 Rafael C

Sep 05, 2018

Perfect for beginners or as a review for those who have not used basic math skills for quite some time.

创建者 Kangmin L

Apr 17, 2018

The first three weeks are pretty easy high school math. The last week is very informative and helpful.

创建者 Joel R

Mar 11, 2017

great course! it was a nice refresher for me, though I still learned new things as well! thank you!

创建者 SongNan

Mar 03, 2017

Very easy to understand and know how to succeed in the future on the learning path. Thanks a lot !

创建者 Kia C

Dec 31, 2019

I like the course and the lessons in data analysis .The concepts and theories are great for math.

创建者 Thomas J H

Aug 22, 2017

Helpful course -- highly recommended for people who need more background or who need a refresher.

创建者 Kent D J

Aug 09, 2017

This class was great. I really recommend it, especially if you are new to mathematical concepts.

创建者 Tim J

Jun 28, 2017

I found it quite engaging and challenging at times to get my head back around high school maths!

创建者 Jinwuk K

Aug 26, 2018

This course is absolutely helpful for the beginner.

Really good to remind of my uni math class!

创建者 ANUJ S

Mar 29, 2018

This course was very good. Adding few advance topics like various distributions will help too.