Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的评价和反馈

4.5
10,436 个评分

课程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

热门审阅

AS

Jan 11, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

VC

May 16, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

筛选依据:

126 - Data Science Math Skills 的 150 个评论(共 2,334 个)

创建者 Adnaeva G S

Oct 15, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! Please include integration, algorithm analysis (big O, theta, omega), recursion and induction. Your course is helpful, thank you. If you add those things I've mentioned it would be absolute gold.

创建者 James T

Apr 2, 2018

Everything I've tried diving into in regards to data science after having been out of school for a while (I'm 34) has been stuff I haven't learned or forgot. This course was perfect. Nothing was too difficult for someone who still remembers basic math and I learned a lot.

创建者 Josué R G S M

Jan 3, 2018

Los contenidos son en inglés pero los profesores tienen una perfecta dicción y no hablan rápido de tal modo que los puedes entender perfectamente con sólo un poco de inglés. Los contenidos matemáticos están debidamente dosificados y muy interesantes. Recomiendo el curso

创建者 Aditi D

Jun 15, 2020

Even though I have learnt quite a bit of math in college, my basics weren't very clear. This course helped me clear up my basic doubts which were causing problems. The instructors explain the concepts quite comprehensively using easy-to-understand real-world examples.

创建者 Daryna S

Aug 14, 2017

This is a real good and inspirational start in data science education, especially for people, who have some fear of math (like me:)). This course is enough complicate to learn something new, but simultaneously not too hard, so you dont loose motivation for studying.

创建者 Jeni S

Sep 17, 2020

The course is helpful both as a refresher and a introduction. It made me understood all the basic math skills behind the data science Field. Very good explanation of probability part and so on. I found the week 4 content quite challenging, but got there in the end!

创建者 J. M I P S

Dec 12, 2020

I learned all the necessary basic mathematical skills for Data Science through this course. Good explanation from the lecturers. I highly recommend this course for new and intermediate students who are learning Data Science to improve their mathematical knowledge.

创建者 Matthew A D

May 4, 2020

I had a really easy time going through the first 3 weeks of the course, but then the 4 weeks were so hard. I got through it, but it was hard. The 1st-3rd weeks were just going through the same things I had learned again, but the 4th week was almost completely new.

创建者 Muhammad A

Feb 5, 2021

Great course, it gives me a brief review about the topic that might be needed as Data Scientist. Week 4 videos have room for improvement. It might need a longer time to explain the topics so learners could understand better the topics that is discussed in Week 4.

创建者 Richard B

Oct 9, 2017

I think this course helped me identify certain areas of weakness within my education that I have already received. As a result, I know where to start in order to shore up the gaps that formal education has solidified. Overall it is a great introductory course.

创建者 Baijnath G

Dec 13, 2020

Cleared my concepts through this course .I had some basic knowledge regarding this modules so it was not hard for me to complete it.

The way tutors explained was commendable!!

I would love to suggest my fellow to enroll in this course to brush up their skills.

创建者 Osama B A

Apr 9, 2020

Thank you, Coursera for this course for free. It was really helpful. It covers almost all the basic math term for Data Science. Looking now for intermediate level course of the same. Hopin that very soon, I will be gifted with a new free course. Thanks again.

创建者 Amit T

May 4, 2020

Something good to learn and in fact the session are so precise to understand that you don't need anyone's help at all to learn thing. Just go through the video lectures. It's that simple. Thank you Coursera for this wonderful journey and amazing sessions.

创建者 Jackie C

Apr 7, 2017

First three weeks were mostly review, but the fourth week was incredibly helpful. Would appreciate some more background/derivation of the binomial theorem - it was hard for me to develop an intuition for it in the same way I could for the Bayesian theorem.

创建者 Tom M

Jul 9, 2022

great course, as someone who never did hhigh school mths pursuing a qualification in datascience it has helped me prepare a basic foundation in several areas i never covered in school. I now feel more confident to take on the maths modules in my course.

创建者 Don R

Feb 28, 2021

I studied mathematics and statistics in university but had not practiced it for many years. The course was challenging and interesting and refreshed my memory. I think the course would be very very challenging for those with no background in math.

创建者 Val

Dec 4, 2017

Clear and straightforward introduction to the key mathematical concepts that underpin statistics and data science. Video companions and practice quizzes complement the lectures in an effective way and prepare the student well for the graded quizzes.

创建者 arun a

Apr 20, 2018

Very good course. Really enjoyed the explanation very concise and clear. This is however not exhaustive for anyone to gather every bit of possible knowledge in Data Science, do keep that in mind. But this definitely sets the foundation correct.

创建者 Yan T

Nov 1, 2019

Great course brushing off math skills with quiz in the end of each module. The last module is the most difficult, it'll be better if more examples be demonstrated. Good pace and a good course for those who need to get an idea of some topics.

创建者 MILDRED B R

Jul 6, 2020

Very informative and I learned a lot. I enjoyed taking the practice quizzes and the exams. I failed, I made mistakes yet what is the most important I learned a lot. Thank you Coursera and DOST-CARAGA, the Philippines for the opportunity.

创建者 Marios P

Nov 6, 2020

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! The course overall was great. It was well taught-- very relevant and clear for the most part. Thanks a lot! I think I am better prepared for data science afterward!

创建者 JDiego G

Jun 25, 2020

Pretty fun and understandable. The last week resources and content was quite deep and confusing when it was explained. From the exercises I've found some errors in the solutions. Briefly, It fulfills my expectations pleasantly.

创建者 Shar M G

Oct 7, 2020

Extra grateful for the refresher on essential math topics needed for data science. Week 1-2 is such a great way to review pre-calculus concepts. Week 3-4 modules were extremely helpful for those in need of Stat refreshers.

创建者 J P K

Oct 13, 2020

Good Course for Beginners, with lot of insights, and its entirely basic ,anyone without any prior knowledge can do the best with this kind of course;And I thank Coursera as well as the Instructor for offering this course.

创建者 Deleted A

Aug 1, 2020

Well, except for the last quiz of probability (basic and intermediate) others were too easy, and also this course is highly recommended for the ones who really are entirely new to math concepts present in this course.