Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的评价和反馈

4.5
2,105 个评分
469 个审阅

课程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

热门审阅

AS

Jan 12, 2019

Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills! Thanks a lot! At the time of the study some of the quizzes content were not rendering correctly on mobile devices (both iPad and Android)

PS

Jul 23, 2017

This is neat little course to revise math fundamentals. I generally find learning probability a little tricky. This course helped me a lot in better understanding Bayes Theorem. Thank you professors.

筛选依据:

126 - Data Science Math Skills 的 150 个评论(共 460 个)

创建者 Abhijay M

Jan 27, 2017

Nice course

创建者 Kyle Y

May 01, 2017

I really enjoyed the course, and found it really useful- it has inspired me to continue on and study applied mathematics at university!

创建者 Ankur K

Mar 01, 2018

It was wonderful course to do and content was good, but there are some improvement needed inside last chapter.

please add some more slides inside binomial and bayes ' theorems

创建者 ABDELMENEM S E

Mar 04, 2018

t

创建者 Durai N

Jan 18, 2018

Two thumps up - a great course!

创建者 Veerabhadrappa K

Apr 01, 2017

Excellent course

创建者 Praneet N

Mar 05, 2018

good one

创建者 Mykyta P

Sep 16, 2017

Great course! Thanks a lot!

创建者 Faraaz H

Feb 25, 2018

Nice course which could help one revise all studied at junior level.

创建者 Josué R G S M

Jan 04, 2018

Los contenidos son en inglés pero los profesores tienen una perfecta dicción y no hablan rápido de tal modo que los puedes entender perfectamente con sólo un poco de inglés. Los contenidos matemáticos están debidamente dosificados y muy interesantes. Recomiendo el curso

创建者 Kehinde O

Aug 24, 2017

This is a great course for anyone who has little or no experience with elementary algebra and for those who might have forgotten.

创建者 Garth Z

Mar 11, 2017

If you are a right-brainer and/or rusty on math, I strongly recommend this course as a precursor to Duke's Intro to Probability and Data course. Some of the practice and final quiz questions really threw me (and that's good)... Most of them I was able to rethink and derive the correct answer and a few others remain a mystery... :-)

创建者 Amanda

Jun 11, 2017

the first three part is a little too easy

创建者 Rajesh S B

Aug 19, 2017

Very well structured course for beginners. My fav is week 4

创建者 Rami A T

Mar 05, 2017

Very important Review course

创建者 Laurent B

Jun 19, 2017

While most of material is well known, it is presented in a great way, so it is a clean and smart refresher for Sets, basic Algebra and notations, Cartesian geometry and functions, and derivatives. I knew the material about logarithms, exponentials and probabilities, but I felt that I knew it better in the end of this courses. Material is great, and teachers are very clear. I wish they came with more material about calculus (matrices), vector spaces, Lagrangian, Hessian and so on, which are also really interesting in Data Sciences.

创建者 Konstantin K

Oct 26, 2017

Compact but clear and informative!

创建者 Nitish K

Jun 13, 2017

Good Content

Thanks

创建者 Tony J A

Jul 21, 2017

Really good course to get a understanding of the basic concepts required to start with data sciences. Teachers are excellent and the quizs and assignments are challenging.

创建者 Bernd F

Mar 11, 2018

Very good learning experience. Thanks!

创建者 vimard v

Aug 16, 2017

Great course, many examples, good teachers

创建者 A

Nov 12, 2017

good

创建者 Mukhammad K

Feb 10, 2017

good materials and questions

创建者 Gregor M

Jul 26, 2017

Thank you for this teaching experience. It was very useful for my life and career

创建者 Jackie C

Apr 07, 2017

First three weeks were mostly review, but the fourth week was incredibly helpful. Would appreciate some more background/derivation of the binomial theorem - it was hard for me to develop an intuition for it in the same way I could for the Bayesian theorem.