Chevron Left
返回到 Data Science Math Skills

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Data Science Math Skills 的评价和反馈

4.5
9,041 个评分
2,045 条评论

课程概述

Data science courses contain math—no avoiding that! This course is designed to teach learners the basic math you will need in order to be successful in almost any data science math course and was created for learners who have basic math skills but may not have taken algebra or pre-calculus. Data Science Math Skills introduces the core math that data science is built upon, with no extra complexity, introducing unfamiliar ideas and math symbols one-at-a-time. Learners who complete this course will master the vocabulary, notation, concepts, and algebra rules that all data scientists must know before moving on to more advanced material. Topics include: ~Set theory, including Venn diagrams ~Properties of the real number line ~Interval notation and algebra with inequalities ~Uses for summation and Sigma notation ~Math on the Cartesian (x,y) plane, slope and distance formulas ~Graphing and describing functions and their inverses on the x-y plane, ~The concept of instantaneous rate of change and tangent lines to a curve ~Exponents, logarithms, and the natural log function. ~Probability theory, including Bayes’ theorem. While this course is intended as a general introduction to the math skills needed for data science, it can be considered a prerequisite for learners interested in the course, "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel," which is part of the Excel to MySQL Data Science Specialization. Learners who master Data Science Math Skills will be fully prepared for success with the more advanced math concepts introduced in "Mastering Data Analysis in Excel." Good luck and we hope you enjoy the course!...

热门审阅

RS
May 5, 2020

This was mostly review for me though probability especially Beyes Theorem derivation was new. The instructors provided clear often refreshing ways to look at material.\n\nThank you for a great class!!

VS
Sep 22, 2020

This course syllabus is great. It starts wonderfully. Week 1 to 4 is taught by Paul Bendich, and Daniel Egger the instruction is awesome. Effective way to refresh and add the Data Science math skills!

筛选依据:

1976 - Data Science Math Skills 的 2000 个评论(共 2,024 个)

创建者 Michael Q

Apr 7, 2017

Very rushed presentation. Blows right through a lot of fundamental concepts without a deep enough explanation or enough practice material (especially in the last two weeks). I feel like completing this class will require supplementation with better instruction.

创建者 Enrico L

May 30, 2020

I was attracted by the syllabus (substance) but I found the presentation of the teachers quite disturbing (form); bad calligraphy, some mistakes, poor explanations. Anyway I completed the course and it will be useful as a general introduction to the topics.

创建者 David S

May 26, 2020

The probability section left many serious gaps in information compared to the test. I had to take the exam multiple times, and even after restarting half of the class twice. I'm not usually one to have to do this for a class.

创建者 Hitesh D

Jun 21, 2020

Video lectures were not very clear. It looked like these lectures are for revision and not for learning it first time. Baye's Theorem is yet not clear to me... I just mugged up some formulas which i will eventually forget.

创建者 Sandeep M

May 21, 2020

The weeks 1-3 although elementary were explained well but the change of professor on the last one really did nothing. There were far better tutors on youtube teaching the same things he did more clearly.

创建者 Jayprakash C

Sep 1, 2020

Concepts not covered well enough, just for the sake of teaching. Pure time waste. Bayesian Theory was not taught up to the mark, I had to refer external resources to understand it well.

创建者 Gaurav A

May 25, 2020

the video learning was good, but the quiz questions were at a very different difficulty levels. I would just like to say that this was supposed to be an beginner level course.

创建者 E M

Jul 27, 2017

This course is very short. I've completed it in about 4 hours. Nothing was told about linear algebra, statistics, optimization. It is not enough even to learn Data Science.

创建者 Ashraf S

Jan 17, 2019

This course dos not contain enough examples which needed to train and practice ,PDF is not clear enough and does not contain any problems to practice.

Thanks

创建者 Amanda G

Mar 26, 2021

The second professor isn't great. I don't think it's his fault, but a lot of information was crammed into 2 weeks and I had to do a lot of self-teaching.

创建者 Saleem G

Apr 30, 2020

Week 1 and Week 2 material is very well presented. Week 3 was presented very poorly but reading the notes and youtube helped. Week 4 went over my head

创建者 Maria K

Nov 21, 2020

Materials provided are not sufficient to fully understand the concepts. One has to look for additional books and forums on the internet.

创建者 Jomon K S

May 11, 2020

The content of the course was simple. But the quiz were above average. The classes were not sufficient to answer the questions.

创建者 Esaú C

Apr 25, 2020

I

t's a good review for the people that know something but will be very hard for students that don't have a background in Maths

创建者 Vaibhav J

Feb 10, 2019

Found the title of the course mis-leading! School level Math skills are taught. Found the title to be similar to "click-baits"

创建者 Xose C

Apr 6, 2020

You'd spend lots of time checking other sources as they do not explain things in detail. They assume many things.

创建者 Peter G

Mar 4, 2018

I enjoyed the first 2 weeks. Weeks 3 and 4 were harder to follow. Too few examples, particularly in week 4.

创建者 Andersson F R A

May 17, 2020

A pesar de que el curso es básico, la parte de probabilidad no está muy bien explicada.

创建者 Nayaung L

Jun 30, 2020

The last probability course is really horrible It should be changed or make it easier.

创建者 vivek a

Apr 12, 2020

The course name should be Bais Mathematics instead of Data Science Maths Skills.

创建者 PRASAD K

May 23, 2020

Concepts from Probability up to Bayes' Theorem could have been explained better

创建者 Saurabh S

Jul 11, 2017

Week 1 and week 2 are good. rest of the weeks are very fast and not clear.

创建者 Jonathan H

Feb 8, 2017

Very basic course... probably won't teach you a lot of new things

创建者 小洋xiaoyang

Dec 27, 2020

Wish there will be more example question in the lectures

创建者 A M A

Dec 24, 2017

Probability part is good others are elementary math