Chevron Left
返回到 Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation

学生对 宾夕法尼亚大学 提供的 Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation 的评价和反馈

4.8
499 个评分
93 个审阅

课程概述

Calculus is one of the grandest achievements of human thought, explaining everything from planetary orbits to the optimal size of a city to the periodicity of a heartbeat. This brisk course covers the core ideas of single-variable Calculus with emphases on conceptual understanding and applications. The course is ideal for students beginning in the engineering, physical, and social sciences. Distinguishing features of the course include: 1) the introduction and use of Taylor series and approximations from the beginning; 2) a novel synthesis of discrete and continuous forms of Calculus; 3) an emphasis on the conceptual over the computational; and 4) a clear, dynamic, unified approach. In this second part--part two of five--we cover derivatives, differentiation rules, linearization, higher derivatives, optimization, differentials, and differentiation operators....

热门审阅

JB

Feb 18, 2018

So much fun, and hits all sorts of things I'd always wanted to know. The homework took me a long time, so I didn't get to watch all the bonus lectures, but the ones I did were really interesting.

WG

Feb 17, 2017

Not a class for someone with no calculus experience. However, if you have some calculus knowledge it will deepen your knowledge more than any other MOOC I have found. Truly a great course.

筛选依据:

76 - Calculus: Single Variable Part 2 - Differentiation 的 90 个评论(共 90 个)

创建者 Pavel K

Sep 07, 2019

Gives a new perspective on derivatives and the clear insight into how a simple calculator works

创建者 Sameen N

Oct 02, 2019

Thnk you for clearing the concepts of differentiation

创建者 Mubashir-Ul-Hassan

Oct 07, 2019

That course is much harder than function part 1

创建者 Rocky S

Oct 17, 2019

Very explanative!

创建者 Gabriel Q

Mar 17, 2019

some interesting applications of even the most basics of calculus, also finally a way to truely understand the second derivate test

创建者 Omar A K

Sep 07, 2017

I am not giving 5 stars because of lack of proofs ! some topology i think is necessary to talk about calculus

创建者 kanagaratnam j

Jan 20, 2016

very need the lecture note

创建者 马包威

Jun 13, 2017

easy to understand

创建者 Alain P L

Mar 15, 2017

Bonjour.

创建者 Xiao L

Nov 17, 2017

The bonus lectures are great! I majored in pure Mathematics in university, and I find them incredibly enlightening. One question, though. We have been taught several techniques to compute derivatives based on the derivatives of such simple function as sin(x), cos(x), and exponential. Shouldn't we learn how those basic derivatives are computed in the first place?

创建者 Benjamin C

Mar 19, 2018

Tough course, but a very fresh look at differential calculus.

创建者 Salim S

Jan 10, 2018

IT'S GIVE ME A DEEP UNDERSTANDING . THANK'S

创建者 Roshan N

Oct 20, 2018

Thanks Mr. Ghrist for this course . I learnt many new concepts and mainly how to deal with problems by using visualization . Also understand why we are learning things and their applications. Again thanks a lot.

创建者 Bendeguz S

Aug 10, 2019

Presentations are great, albeit some topics were neglected or were too short. Overall 8,5/10

创建者 Sabina K

Aug 27, 2017

The course is interesting, but it's major drawback is the lack of good answers or at least hints for quizes and exams.