Chevron Left
返回到 Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach

学生对 延世大学 提供的 Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach 的评价和反馈

4.3
300 个评分
78 条评论

课程概述

Discounted cash flow method means that we can find firm value by discounting future cash flows of a firm. That is, firm value is present value of cash flows a firm generates in the future. In order to understand the meaning of present value, we are going to discuss time value of money, first. That is, the value of $100 today is different from the value of $100 a year later. Then, what should be the present value of $100 that you are going to receive in 1 year? How about the value of $100 dollars that you are going to receive every year for next 10 years? How about forever? After taking this course, you are going to be able to find the present value of these types of cash flows in the future. Unlike most of finance courses, in this course, you are going to learn how to use excel to find present value of future cash flows. In addition to the present value, you are also going to learn how to find future value given investment; interest rate given investment and future cash flows, payments given interest rates, number of periods to wait given investment and interest rate, and so on. After learning the concept and how to find the time value of money, you are going to apply this to real world examples and company valuation. After taking this course, you will be ready to make an estimate of firm value by discounting its cash flows in the future....

热门审阅

MM
Feb 12, 2020

This course has helped me in Understanding new Concepts which will be very helpful in my future Carrier. I will be thankful to Coursera to give me this great opportunity for learning.\n\nThank You

BM
Apr 25, 2020

Very helpfull. I wanted to make a business plan of a real estate investment and this course taught be how to use the discounted cashflow method and I applied it to the business plan.

筛选依据:

51 - Valuation for Startups Using Discounted Cash Flows Approach 的 75 个评论(共 76 个)

创建者 Ottmar R

Jun 19, 2020

Some things were incorrectly labeled

创建者 Emre K

Mar 7, 2021

Clear explanations. Basics.

创建者 JAMES O

May 26, 2020

Overall, the course is good, but it doesn't provide details about how to apply it in the mini case quiz. I think the some of the key answers in the mini case quiz are wrong. I already tried 5 times, luckily I figured out the answers from the discussion of week 4 (mini case quiz). However, the discussion is confusing, the assistant teacher doesn't really explain the way to do it. As of May 27, there are still upcoming questions about the mini case since 4 years ago (2016), please recheck again the mini case quiz! Almost 90% got stuck in the mini case quiz. I hope the Coursera and Yonsei University can fix as soon as possible.

创建者 Francisco F

Jul 8, 2019

I think some explanations on finance concepts are shallow. It basically teaches you some formulas on excel for Bond valuation and then expands it for enterprise valuation. This is a good approach, but I think there should be at least a week of courses with the ground rules of finance concepts. Also, by the end it felt a bit rushed and there was little explanation on why each formula was used.

Moreover, I think there should be a bit more direction on the assignements, such as the number formatting expected.

创建者 SRINIVAS R

Mar 24, 2018

The content i felt was less elaborate and left me gasping while doing the final quiz, which needs to be revoked at it terms of answers input. Also it would help to have couple of questions like the final quiz provided with answers provided along with explanation, which the will cut down our un necessary queries on discussion group.

Delivery of this course in that direction could be improved further.

创建者 Justin W

Jul 8, 2018

Great information to start with the DCF approach. A number of assets (e.g., .xlsx files) were not available when they were supposed to be. Also, there's much to be done to foster collaboration (e.g., study groups) with the users taking the course. I appreciate the introduction, however.

创建者 Rohan J [

Aug 3, 2020

The miniquiz seems wrong. While calculating terminal value, we have to consider 4% growth rate where you'll get the right answer if you take 40% growth rate. Please correct this. Many students are getting stuck because of this in the miniquiz.

创建者 Carlos E P R

Mar 18, 2021

The course is good, but the examples developed are very easy for the questions that in the evaluations, in my case it was possible due to previous knowledge, but if I had had to depend on the course, perhaps I did not achieve it.

创建者 Federico C

Sep 9, 2020

Although the course includes good explanations and examples I believe it's a little bit confusing at the quizzes. And everything is explained by examples but it's a bit lack of fundamentals.

创建者 Hala E

Jul 23, 2020

The material provided is not comprehensive, I had to use external readings that was not referenced and the quizzes answers need revision

创建者 Pablo B H

Jul 27, 2017

Some topics were not described thoroughly. However, on the quiz you had to know them very well in order to pass.

创建者 Xingzhang Z

Apr 1, 2018

quizzes are generally more difficult than taught in the videos - prior knowledge in finance is somewhat needed.

创建者 Sahil A

May 5, 2020

Everything was fine except for Terminal value concept, as I felt it was not taught clearly.

创建者 Vanessa R M

Aug 6, 2018

The final quizz does not have the format of how answers should be

创建者 Peter S

Mar 4, 2019

Videos and Instruction were enjoyable. Quizzes were convoluted

创建者 giacomo p

Apr 26, 2019

The course has good content but it is not focused on startups

创建者 Gabriel H T T

Mar 29, 2021

Overall, it helps to understand some concepts.

创建者 Rubal C

Jun 2, 2020

Concepts are not easily understood.

创建者 Marco F O C

Sep 22, 2018

no son claras las preguntas

创建者 Aditi V

Dec 26, 2017

Difficulty level is low.

创建者 Julian V

Mar 23, 2019

The course gives some good insight and concepts with the matter and some tools.

However, for a person with no precedent knowledge with that (financial) matter, it requires some "brain gymnastic" and important notions need to be more detailed (i.e Terminal Value in 3.3 and 4.1).

Furthermore, the degree of complexity between the quiz and the courses is to large, despite the forum provided some hints or partial answer. Additional examples similar to the quiz should be provided.

I was hoping for a more streamline method. If I have to value a company in the future, I would like to have a clear step-by-step method I could go back to and use.

创建者 Kinan H

Apr 19, 2020

Thank you professor, I appreciate your effort very much.

I would have appreciated more explanation about the terms presented in this course, you have done a great job explaining the method of solving the problems and exercises, but it was a bit difficult to understand the definitions of most of the terms, for example terminal value, increase and working capital and why increase not decrease.

创建者 Lukáš K

Oct 15, 2016

The course is very much focused in the method of DCF, but there is a lack of information regarding how to apply it to startups in practice.

创建者 SUMIT K C

Jul 10, 2021

WEEK 4 CASE STUDY QUIZ IS MISLEADING. IT DOES NOT MATCHES THE SOLUTIONS FOR CASE STUDY GIVEN IN THE CLASSROOM VIDEO

创建者 Derek S

Apr 4, 2019

Hard to understand the lecturer.