Chevron Left
返回到 Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs

学生对 国立高等经济大学 提供的 Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs 的评价和反馈

4.6
151 个评分
30 条评论

课程概述

The main goal of this course is to introduce topics in Discrete Mathematics relevant to Data Analysis. We will start with a brief introduction to combinatorics, the branch of mathematics that studies how to count. Basics of this topic are critical for anyone working in Data Analysis or Computer Science. We will illustrate new knowledge, for example, by counting the number of features in data or by estimating the time required for a Python program to run. Next, we will apply our knowledge in combinatorics to study basic Probability Theory. Probability is everywhere in Data Analysis and we will study it in much more details later. Our goals for probability section in this course will be to give initial flavor of this field. Finally, we will study the combinatorial structure that is the most relevant for Data Analysis, namely graphs. Graphs can be found everywhere around us and we will provide you with numerous examples. We will mainly concentrate in this course on the graphs of social networks. We will provide you with relevant notions from the graph theory, illustrate them on the graphs of social networks and will study their basic properties. In the end of the course we will have a project related to social network graphs. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in Python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in Data Analysis, starting from motivated high school students....

热门审阅

SS

Feb 28, 2020

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs\n\nthe first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

XT

Apr 03, 2020

This course is very helpful to gain analyzing skills and mindset with discrete math. Some math concepts I struggled was easy to absorb during the course.

筛选依据:

1 - Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs 的 25 个评论(共 31 个)

创建者 Vladyslav C

Feb 14, 2020

Overall course is OK, but it has few problems:

1) The way of presenting of the material. It is clear that target to cover 2-3 area of discrete mathematics under 5 weeks (not counting latest week for Python assignment) is very optimistic, but better to make more weeks or increase amount of video rather than it is in the course. All materials are extremely short, just giving you few formulas and then in very-very easy graded task you apply this formula.

In fact, instead of teaching math, this course is teaching you to apply few formulas to very standard problems to get the result.

I would prefer having let's say 10 weeks each with double amount of video, but with a proper mathematical introduction.

2) Final week and Python assignment has absolutely nothing to do with the previous 5 weeks, looks really weird and not prepared

创建者 Deleted A

Jan 14, 2020

Great Course. Concise and Easy to Follow. Final Assignment should have been more comprehensive.

创建者 Ha T T

Feb 07, 2020

very bad

创建者 Muddasser N

Feb 23, 2020

Very good course and must be taken for good understanding of the underlying concepts. Instructors are really good and knowledgeable. However, more material to read and study could be provided for those who like to get more in-depth understanding of the subject matter at hand.

创建者 Xingxing T

Apr 03, 2020

This course is very helpful to gain analyzing skills and mindset with discrete math. Some math concepts I struggled was easy to absorb during the course.

创建者 Ana M B O

May 18, 2020

This was an amazing review of all the topics necessary to understand probability theory and social graphs. Wish I had seen this before I started my thesis on Social Network Analysis. It's a really good introduction to SNA. I also loved the summary of lectures provided by the instructors. Thank you so much!

创建者 rajasekaran

May 21, 2020

This is a very useful course for anyone beginning to learn or trying to refresh basics in combinatorics, probability and graph theory. The content is very simple esp. combinatorics and probability. i was able to apply the learning quickly in programming situations.

创建者 Lala R

Mar 31, 2020

The course is very understandable and assignments are very interesting and applicable. I love the way Russians teach mathematics, therefore I will continue watching courses from this University.

创建者 SABRIOUS

Feb 28, 2020

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs

the first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

创建者 Basavaraj S A

May 05, 2020

It is a good course and quite informative. I request instructors to give some more details about programming assignment giving details about submission

创建者 Gilles T O M K

Apr 06, 2020

Very interested course. I'm so happy by that I earned this certificat, but the struggle continue.

创建者 Daniel H C

Mar 14, 2020

Lessons are well-paced and instructors explain well

创建者 Dr. R .

May 19, 2020

Very informative. Enjoyed doing assignments.

创建者 Jonathan M

Mar 24, 2020

Very informative overview of Discrete Math.

创建者 Adewinbi H S

Apr 30, 2020

I enjoyed the course.

创建者 TANGIRALA S P S

Feb 24, 2020

good session

创建者 AHMED A

May 23, 2020

Thank you

创建者 SREEYA N

Feb 25, 2020

good

创建者 John T S

Apr 26, 2020

I think the coverage of materials was very good. Sometimes there were holes in the presentation: a few grammar conventions (rather understandably) made for confusing moments. The quizzes sometimes presented things which were a bit less explained than they might have been... but then on the other hand they required a bit of independent looking-around, which was not bad. (One example was the 'number of isomorphisms' question, which was needlessly perplexing for someone just introduced to the formal definitions, and didn't know what sort of wrinkles might be added. Or maybe that was a good way of thinking downward from the presented idea, even if it was in itself very simple. I'm not sure.) Perhaps a few more visualizations would have been helpful, too... the ideas are abstract, but I (personally) find visualizations a good way in. Also, perhaps the python loops could have been more used. They are quite demonstrative -- the relation between tuples and permutations, in particular... but maybe there are some nice ways of doing that. Anyhow, I enjoyed the unsimple simplicity of it.

创建者 Andrew A

Mar 15, 2020

This course was challenging, but manageable. I like that 100% correct answers are required on the exams, which forces you to understand all the key points. The information in the course material relates enough to the exams, so if you understand the concepts, the assessment is quite doable.

创建者 Zhao Y

Apr 04, 2020

Very good introduction for newbees. I like the style that it gives you a lot of quiz immediately after the teaching vedio. The only thing to improve is the introduction to the finnal assignment, which is some how misleading. But after consulting on the forum, I finally have it done.

创建者 Vasily K

May 20, 2020

First part of the course (Combinatorics) is not so interesting as the others due to not-very-good English of lecturer (sometimes he's not-understandable, sometimes the speach is monotonous).

创建者 CHAN K

Apr 15, 2020

Generally it is a great course but sometimes a new concept is being introduced in a few minutes and it takes time to digest.

创建者 Issam B

Apr 17, 2020

It's a good course. This is my first step in graph theory and that 's so interesting.

创建者 Rangam H

May 20, 2020

Course was good with hands on experience