Chevron Left
返回到 Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs

学生对 俄罗斯国家研究型高等经济大学 提供的 Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs 的评价和反馈

4.5
349 个评分
91 条评论

课程概述

The main goal of this course is to introduce topics in Discrete Mathematics relevant to Data Analysis. We will start with a brief introduction to combinatorics, the branch of mathematics that studies how to count. Basics of this topic are critical for anyone working in Data Analysis or Computer Science. We will illustrate new knowledge, for example, by counting the number of features in data or by estimating the time required for a Python program to run. Next, we will apply our knowledge in combinatorics to study basic Probability Theory. Probability is everywhere in Data Analysis and we will study it in much more details later. Our goals for probability section in this course will be to give initial flavor of this field. Finally, we will study the combinatorial structure that is the most relevant for Data Analysis, namely graphs. Graphs can be found everywhere around us and we will provide you with numerous examples. We will mainly concentrate in this course on the graphs of social networks. We will provide you with relevant notions from the graph theory, illustrate them on the graphs of social networks and will study their basic properties. In the end of the course we will have a project related to social network graphs. As prerequisites we assume only basic math (e.g., we expect you to know what is a square or how to add fractions), basic programming in Python (functions, loops, recursion), common sense and curiosity. Our intended audience are all people that work or plan to work in Data Analysis, starting from motivated high school students....

热门审阅

SS
Feb 27, 2020

this is a great course i love it and i learned many things like counting , basic of probability graphs\n\nthe first four weeks are amazing the last two weeks was hard to me but possible to solve

LR
Mar 30, 2020

The course is very understandable and assignments are very interesting and applicable. I love the way Russians teach mathematics, therefore I will continue watching courses from this University.

筛选依据:

51 - Discrete Math and Analyzing Social Graphs 的 75 个评论(共 90 个)

创建者 John T S

Apr 26, 2020

I think the coverage of materials was very good. Sometimes there were holes in the presentation: a few grammar conventions (rather understandably) made for confusing moments. The quizzes sometimes presented things which were a bit less explained than they might have been... but then on the other hand they required a bit of independent looking-around, which was not bad. (One example was the 'number of isomorphisms' question, which was needlessly perplexing for someone just introduced to the formal definitions, and didn't know what sort of wrinkles might be added. Or maybe that was a good way of thinking downward from the presented idea, even if it was in itself very simple. I'm not sure.) Perhaps a few more visualizations would have been helpful, too... the ideas are abstract, but I (personally) find visualizations a good way in. Also, perhaps the python loops could have been more used. They are quite demonstrative -- the relation between tuples and permutations, in particular... but maybe there are some nice ways of doing that. Anyhow, I enjoyed the unsimple simplicity of it.

创建者 Jack K

Aug 10, 2020

Mostly this was a very well explained course, especially where visuals are used (and just maths jargon). The teachers take the concepts and step you through them very clearly in most cases, though sometimes when the concepts get more complex, learners like myself would appreciate if it could not rushed through.

创建者 Andrew A

Mar 15, 2020

This course was challenging, but manageable. I like that 100% correct answers are required on the exams, which forces you to understand all the key points. The information in the course material relates enough to the exams, so if you understand the concepts, the assessment is quite doable.

创建者 Zhao Y

Apr 4, 2020

Very good introduction for newbees. I like the style that it gives you a lot of quiz immediately after the teaching vedio. The only thing to improve is the introduction to the finnal assignment, which is some how misleading. But after consulting on the forum, I finally have it done.

创建者 Pa O C

Dec 1, 2020

This is an essential course for anyone looking to build up a strong foundation for mathematics for data science. The python codes are a joy to read and practice and the final assignment was a culmination of all things learned. Kudos to the instructor and mentors.

创建者 Hichem D

Nov 11, 2020

a good course rich with useful informations and quizzes to practice, i'm happy with what i've learned but i think the module of graphs needs more time to explain that it could be a course on its on.

创建者 Sameer

Sep 30, 2020

It uses python 2.x and last assignment instruction were not as clear as they should be in my opinion

as this is complex and when question is not clear it creates a lot confusion and frustration.

创建者 Vasily K

May 20, 2020

First part of the course (Combinatorics) is not so interesting as the others due to not-very-good English of lecturer (sometimes he's not-understandable, sometimes the speach is monotonous).

创建者 Ahmed H A M

Mar 1, 2021

Everything is perfect except the last assignment. I believe that this assignment is not related to the content of the course and it doesn't serve the purpose of the course.

创建者 Jacqueline G O

Jan 3, 2021

Love the course, the teachers explain very well each lessons, the only reason I gave 4 stars is because is not very clear how to submit the final assessment.

创建者 CHAN K

Apr 15, 2020

Generally it is a great course but sometimes a new concept is being introduced in a few minutes and it takes time to digest.

创建者 Eduardo A

Dec 1, 2020

The combinatorics and probability parts were pretty good. The graph stuff was too superficial so it was a bit boring.

创建者 David R

Nov 23, 2020

A little hard at the end with programming homeworks, but overall is a great course worth the time and efford !!

创建者 Somanath K

Aug 13, 2020

The questions given in assignments and the points discussed in lectures always does not have any resemblance.

创建者 Marc A

Dec 11, 2020

Fantastic course, gives a very new take on discrete mathematics by explaining it in terms of programming

创建者 Felix

Aug 18, 2020

The first and second lecturer is fine. The third one is not so clear in explaining materials.

创建者 Eran S

Aug 25, 2020

Interesting course on a fascinating subject. I wish questions were a bit more challenging.

创建者 Issam B

Apr 17, 2020

It's a good course. This is my first step in graph theory and that 's so interesting.

创建者 Rangam H

May 20, 2020

Course was good with hands on experience

创建者 k v r

Apr 4, 2020

good content covered with good examples

创建者 Yamil A M F

Jul 7, 2020

Good course, sometimes hard to follow.

创建者 Mohammed R

Jan 27, 2020

THe talking less clear for me

创建者 Elvan V

Sep 28, 2020

Nice lesson

创建者 Gokul A S

Jul 2, 2020

Good

创建者 j s k

Feb 24, 2020

good