Chevron Left
返回到 离散数学

学生对 上海交通大学 提供的 离散数学 的评价和反馈

3.6
101 个评分
35 个审阅

课程概述

Discrete mathematics forms the mathematical foundation of computer and information science. It is also a fascinating subject in itself. Learners will become familiar with a broad range of mathematical objects like sets, functions, relations, graphs, that are omnipresent in computer science. Perhaps more importantly, they will reach a certain level of mathematical maturity - being able to understand formal statements and their proofs; coming up with rigorous proofs themselves; and coming up with interesting results. This course attempts to be rigorous without being overly formal. This means, for every concept we introduce we will show at least one interesting and non-trivial result and give a full proof. However, we will do so without too much formal notation, employing examples and figures whenever possible. The main topics of this course are (1) sets, functions, relations, (2) enumerative combinatorics, (3) graph theory, (4) network flow and matchings. It does not cover modular arithmetic, algebra, and logic, since these topics have a slightly different flavor and because there are already several courses on Coursera specifically on these topics....

热门审阅

NP

Oct 23, 2017

Fantastic course. Fascinating material, presented at a reasonably fast pace, and some really challenging assignments.

AG

Dec 05, 2018

This course is good to comprehend relation, function and combinations.

筛选依据:

1 - 离散数学 的 25 个评论(共 34 个)

创建者 Roberto K

Apr 14, 2017

After more than 20 courses taken in Coursera (mostly in Math, Ecomonics and Computer Science), this is, by far, the WORST course I have ever taken. The content is fine but it very badly designed as MOOC. I am droping this course after the first week.

On the Peer Graded Assignments it became very clear that most students simply did not have enough math background for the course. I peer reviewed 4/5 assignments and on most of then I graded zero. The problem is that these same students will peer review your assignments. Therefore, you dedicate your time and you will be evaluated by people that do not even know what the correct answer is, what is the point on this? I felt as being part of bad experiment...

Given this a MOOC with thousand of students enrolled, the organizers must implement a fair format to grade the students. It is very clear Peer Graded Assignments format that was implemented is not a option, it put your grade on other's hands.

This will simply repel any student that want to take a serious course and would really undesrtand the course content.

This was a recurrent complaint on the forum, but nothing real was done. I logged a message on the forum, but the TA and organizers never replied.

Curiously this problem is not happening on the course "Introduccion to Enumerative Combinatorics" that implemented a better format to grade the students.

I am not sure if Coursera could do anything about, I just hope Coursera take this feedback seriouly and try to implement higher standards to prevent courses like this.

创建者 Bahaa I

Oct 24, 2018

The instructor is summarizes the content too much. I've been always in need to lookup Youtube for further and simpler detailed instruction. The content is too short (Duration of every lecture) comparing to such an important and wide field

创建者 Srishti S

Jan 06, 2019

Not enough explanation for a beginner

创建者 Palak M

Dec 06, 2018

The course is most pathetically setup. Most of the people are not able to go beyond Week 1 because of the missing lectures and the Quiz, which is set on the content which is never talked about or explained. Ridiculous course.

创建者 Abhay G

Dec 05, 2018

This course is good to comprehend relation, function and combinations.

创建者 Moli Y

Aug 09, 2017

Short course!! I use it to review my discrete math knowledge.

创建者 Ke G

Jun 05, 2017

Other than the issue of peer grading, I took the course of the first week and found the course material is missing and quiz of week 1 needs the materials of week 2.

This is not a preliminary discrete math course. I was trying to learn part of the MIT discrete math course then jump on this course to catch up but I found that the first week's content is about 15 week content in MIT so I guess I will just quit.

In the forum there are people seems can't find enough companies for peer grading and almost no posts after week 2.

创建者 Dmitrij M

May 30, 2017

Germans cant teach! They give you a lot of example in hope that you solve them

创建者 Deleted A

Jul 06, 2018

The lectures online have little to nothing to do with the course material. Way too much informarion that is unnceesary and not nrealy enough practidcal examples. When the book for the ocurse was purcheesd it was a bit of help, but once again the video lectures neevr once mentioned it, or even guided to where to find the material we would need to review for the test. A complete waste of time. I leanred more scouring the internet and Youtube for material that was relevant to the course. And peer reiewed homework is a joke. Haveing hundres ofother people who also do not understand what is going on rating my homework is an absolute joke. Hands down the worse course I've ever taken. There were even parts of the Transcript that simply read ( INAUDABLE) .

创建者 Xuanqi X

Jun 24, 2018

Imagine that I have 0 math background. Is it possible for me to catch up with the videos? probably. Is it possible for me to do the quizes? 0% possiblity

创建者 Alex K

Sep 28, 2017

Poor presentation of material. Peer reviewed material with no solutions given and no explanation or solutions to any problems. The instructor is teaching this as a review course instead of for people who are taking this for their first time. You cannot learn in this course. Very poor. Remove this course its a waste of time.

创建者 Evgeniy Z

Aug 29, 2017

AWFUL. Weirdly picked themes to explain. No proper tools to grasp topic is given. Bad explanations.

创建者 Lei M

Mar 15, 2017

Very Poor Course Evaluation Mechanism

创建者 Gorka E G

Nov 25, 2018

A very interesting course. Thank you

创建者 ZYChimne

Dec 21, 2018

AWESOME!!!!!!

创建者 kaiyuleethu

May 09, 2017

Nice and handsome boys

创建者 Nishant P

Oct 23, 2017

Fantastic course. Fascinating material, presented at a reasonably fast pace, and some really challenging assignments.

创建者 Pamella M d M

Oct 19, 2017

Excellent course!

创建者 pawan t

Oct 28, 2017

Very good course sir.

创建者 Jet C

Aug 20, 2017

Very interesting and motivating.

Rather standard English that is easily to be understood for non-English students.

创建者 Sixiang C

May 01, 2018

The level is advanced undergraduate.

It contains challenging excersises.

You spent more than 10 hrs per week to solve them and typesetting them(at least for me).

And you can make friend with your peers.

It is for me a unique experience!

创建者 Jared E

Jan 03, 2019

This course includes the most difficult assignments I have ever had. In the end, but every question has the simplest solution. It was... fun.

创建者 Xichu Z

Dec 16, 2017

Actually I haven't finished course in the eleventh week yet, I've only done all the tests:). However, I'd like to say that I like this course very much, it's inspiring and difficult enough. Though I always have to struggle a lot to find the cocepts and meaning of the notations online, there have been enough hints. The only pity was that sometimes there's something which can't be shown normally in exercise, this has caused me some trouble. Overall it's great, and thanks a lot, professor Scheder.

创建者 Weijia D

Apr 02, 2017

The assignments are quite challenging for beginners ,but the lecture video is too brief or even sloppy.