Chevron Left
返回到 Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS 的评价和反馈

4.6
10,635 个评分
2,322 条评论

课程概述

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

热门审阅

JS

Jan 13, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

AD

Jul 17, 2020

Excellent course .\n\nJust felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

筛选依据:

26 - Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS 的 50 个评论(共 2,287 个)

创建者 Heather T

Jan 22, 2019

I have tried multiple times to learn javascript and have always failed. This class bridged the gap for me and made it easy to learn. Great job Duke & Coursera!

创建者 Namibia T

Jul 23, 2017

I really enjoyed the class! However, after looking through responses that some students received from mentors, I had the impression that some of the mentors behaved contrary to what their title suggestions. Mentors are there to guide students in their learning, however some of the condescending responses mentors were giving some students were discouraging of learning. Again, not all mentors did this, but I think it's worth going through all of the responses students receive and providing facilitation training for mentors so that they have appropriate responses, criticism that is constructive rather than destructive, for students who may be struggling with their code or the content.

创建者 Themistocles S

Aug 07, 2016

A very good course that teaches many interesting and surprising things. I admit I was unaware of this material. Completely unaware. Creating beautiful webpages (HTML, CSS), creating and modifying images with JavaScript, encrypting and decrypting images in other images !!! Ooooh !!! What an unexpected joy !!! I did not know someone can do such things all by himself. I'm really happy to have gone through this course. One thing. It takes time. I think that the time required that is given in the information about the course is unreal. Anyway I wholeheartedly suggest this course to anyone interested in science, computers, and is energetic enough to absorb this amazing stuff.

创建者 shemaela m

Nov 17, 2016

The course provides complete information and guidance for a beginner in Web designing. Me being unfamiliar with programming before starting here, our mentors and teachers provided study material in such a manner helped me (a fresh comer) learn HTML, CSS and JS quickly and pretty well. In a month, you really do learn a lot. You require a good amount of self-discipline and dedication for learning any new subject, specially if you're juggling it with a job or being a university student. But the quality of lecture videos, the material provided for extra learning and the weekly amount of work is perfect for coaching you in Web Designing.

Good Luck !!!

创建者 Carla A

Jun 26, 2019

Na primeira semana do curso, eu pensei em desistir pois achei que o curso era muito simples. Eu não desisti porque não gosto de coisas inacabadas. Fico feliz por não ter desistido. A partir da segunda semana, eu me encantei com o curso e o tanto que ele trouxe de novidades para mim. Este é o melhor curso que já fiz. Este curso me manteve totalmente focada, dedicada a aprender o máximo possível. Tenho mais de 50 páginas de anotações relevantes que servirão de apoio para meus próximos trabalhos. Parabéns aos professores pela dedicação e entusiasmo. Espero revê-los em breve!

Muito obrigada por tudo!

Happy coding!

创建者 Victoria S

May 14, 2020

There are some very good concepts and attempts at teaching here but there is a lot for frustration too. I have some experience working on GUI programming not quite the same but I understand that sometimes things just don't work the way you want... in this case though lots of concepts aren't explained or aren't linked together. We are given very specific examples without enough reference. When learning new things you build on the old, you can't just say in the last lesson we learned concept x so here is concept y. Now go figure concept z using concept x and y without any knowledge of z. It would be nice to take a few extra minutes to build from the base up so you know x+y=z. We never got that. The lectures are fairly informative and you do get the chance to learn a lot of new concepts but you aren't given enough to really implement your learning and by the time you figure it out you're usually so frustrated that you don't want to continue. The first week was awesome and I really enjoyed it. My webpage turned out well and it was easy to use but once JavaScript was added in the learning became disjointed. I'm disappointed that I didn't get to see that before I paid for the course because if week 2 was the first week I would not have taken this course.

The worst thing though is that I found that the "Try It" options came before we learned the concept! So I would grit and struggle and fail for hours (the time estimates are so far off for this course) and then finally decide to just move on, only to learn the key concept I was missing wasn't taught until the next lesson! That is so unbelievably frustrating as a learner. On top of that, some things just didn't work in the Duke Learn to Code Program for no reason causing me to have to export my code and refresh the page then reenter my code. So I would spend so much time thinking I did something wrong when I didn't.

Then when I was working in CodePen on a problem I actually did everything correctly but the files from the Duke website wouldn't come over wasting time trying to fix my code I went to the forums to find that there is a coding error on Duke's side that prevents the image library from working properly. They provided a solution but that solution does not work! I wasn't able to test something I worked on for hours and I was so frustrated. Why wasn't that issue added to the "Try It" instructions? Then I wouldn't have wasted my time.

The forums are fairly helpful because the mentors reply and are very good for the most part with their explanations; but not one of my classmates replied which is interesting to me because I saw one post where over 20 people reviewed my code and didn't know why it wasn't working. Most of the posts I saw also showed the frustration I felt with some of these concepts.

So, I think if you have some experience with JavaScript and watch the videos in order without stopping each week then go back and do the "Try It" options you will be more successful with this course. I certainly don't recommend for a person without any experience and I would reorder/restructure everything in this course to be better for the learner.

创建者 Aaryan V

May 26, 2020

It was a good experience to learn front end development. But, I feel this course was not at a beginner level. I could understand some concepts only because I had prior knowledge, so there could have been a better clarity on topics. The discussion forum feels dead, I had to debug my code myself which is a good thing for building experience and knowledge, but it just defeats the whole point of having a discussion forum. The reading material could be improved for better readability and understandability.

I wanted to complete the specialization very badly as it would enhance my resume, but now I have doubts about it.

创建者 Natalka B

Jun 13, 2020

This says it is a beginners course that you don't need any prior knowledge. That is not true. I'm a beginner with no prior knowledge and I found this course extremely difficult to follow. The videos did not "dumb" it down enough for me, the "Try It's" were very hard and I found I couldn't figure out how to write the code they were telling to do in these "Try it's" They have resources and keep referring you back to the video, which I did not find helpful. I had to seek external help from other programs and people(not in the forums, because they were useless and many people had the same questions I did and there didn't seem to be any good, working, useful answers). This was a very frustrating course. I would like to finish the other 4 parts of the specialization but I will have to wait and come back to them after I have take other course to get a better understand of how to write JavaScript, CSS and HTML.

创建者 Ksenia M

Oct 07, 2015

I's not exactly class for the beginners. First half covers HTML and CSS and quite understandable and easy. Although, it might also help that I had class completely on HTML and CSS in the past, so I actually know what to do to write necessary code. The second part is on JavaScript. And here is where problem starts (at least for me). I didn't take JavaScript class in the past and it was all new for me. Professors try to explain it in few lectures 10-15 minutes each and then they expect you to write couple of programs and to make some project from scratch in few days. Sorry, maybe it's just me, but I got to have much more then about an hour of explanation to do so. I would highly recommend anyone who is new to JavaScript to take JavaScript class first and then to start this one. And no, I'm not new to programming.

创建者 John S

Apr 26, 2020

The structure and pacing of this course both feel off. In a lot of instances the projects don't seem to line up with what was taught in the videos, thereby making the tests extremely difficult.

One of the projects had me write an algorithm to identify/change the colors of pixels on an image. While interesting, I questioned the practicality, and relevance of this exercise. Algorithms can be used to edit an image on a website, but wouldn't learning how to write an algorithm that automates a task on a website have been more relevant?

Overall this is not a class for beginners as it requires a certain level of programming knowledge before starting.

创建者 Ian T

Nov 29, 2017

I really did not enjoy using CodePen and Duke's portal to complete the assignments. They are unrealistic to use in the real world.

Secondly, HMTL and CSS felt very straightforward. However, Javascript felt like an entirely new world. I think lessons and extra time should be taken to explain the semantics A LOT more slowly and methodically than what was done. I found myself severely confused for the large part of this class in the last 1/3 of the course.

创建者 Muhmmad F u h

Aug 08, 2016

Speaking of beginner level it is good until you are learning css in it . but as java script starts this course becomes a headache , not because javascript is difficult but they made it difficult . instead of going with basics they teach you to manipulate images . which is not every one's interest field . they should improve their javascript course . other than that it is ok .

创建者 Jennifer B C

Nov 07, 2015

HTML and CSS were GREAT. JavaScript was very confusing as it did not teach me what each part of the code meant, including the syntax --- and hence I was unable to understand anything by Week 4, despite having listened to all the lectures and participated in the all the activities. I wish JavaScript's structure was more consistent with that of HTML and CSS.

创建者 Michael R

Jun 13, 2016

No consistency, from very easy web design fundamentals to advanced Javascript with no explanation videos to help over a series of quizzes and assignments in week 3 lesson 3.

创建者 Alexander F

Dec 17, 2019

Anyone could have taught this course because the whole thing was scripted. All the "Teachers" were doing was reading from a prompt instead of using their actual knowledge to actually teach. This course was obsessed with their own JavaScript library that they never taught basic JavaScript foundations and principles. They barely gave you what you needed to complete their assignments and then when you review their example code they have extra functions and code that isn't listed in the assignment. Yet they expect you to know it without explaining it. I cannot recommend this course unless you are specifically trying to learn the Duke Universities specific libraries. Oh and their dukelearntoprogram.com shows just how much they do not know what they are doing. The website's interface is not user-friendly and a big mess. They really show that they know nothing about useability yet they are suppose to be teaching about the foundations of programming. Yet they can't even make their own website functional. Makes me question the quality of learning at Duke University if this is how they represent themselves.

创建者 Jonathan C

Jan 12, 2016

This course is misleading in a lot of ways. It is not for beginners at all. The quizzes in the course are beyond impossible. The lecture videos give an introduction to some concepts, but you are left on your own to figure everything out. They do not provide the proper tools to enable students to understand or pass. Reading through a lot of the discussion boards, there are two types of students: 1. those like me, who have never programmed in their life, and cannot figure any of this out, and 2. Those who have all sorts of experience and write things that are way advanced for a "Beginners" course.

Do yourself a favor, and seriously do some research on appropriate programs before signing up for this one. It needs to be structured way better than what it is now.

创建者 Cihad Ö

Aug 12, 2016

The most terrible course I have ever seen in my life and on this site. For some of quiz questions, you feel like you are dumb because you can not make connection between lectures and quizzes. I really wanted to learn java on coursera but It seems impossible to me. Focusing on rbg values and image thingies too much and making me feel uncomfortable at quizzes after watching all those lectures are the main reasons of giving 1 star.

创建者 Jingxuan W

May 27, 2019

it's way too easy. I would say after one completes this course, he still has absolutely no ability to get into real web development work. No JQuery, no IIFEs, almost no JavaScript application besides the simplest functions, no Layout instructions, no css style conventions, no media query. The only 'real' method learned insert picture depends on Duke's server while it doesn't have to.

创建者 Jason W F

May 28, 2016

I learned eight lines of Java code in four weeks, and we never implemented any of it into a web application (viz, a script that actually runs in a live website). Read a book instead. It's cheaper, takes about the same amount of time, and you learn a lot more. I gave it a star because one was the minimum. It should be zero because it wasted my time.

创建者 Driton M

Oct 31, 2015

Definitely not a course for a beginners, very confusing. The part with the Javascript is a real horror for beginners and even challenging for some newly programmers!

创建者 PONDAVEN

Mar 29, 2016

The JAVASCRIPT part of the course was to difficult for me I didn't understand enough. I would like to see more tutorial.

创建者 Satti K R

Jun 17, 2020

i want to leave

创建者 Nancy W

May 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I now feel comfortable programming in JavaScript, HTML5 and CSS3. I like most of the lectures, and the assignments progressed from simple to more interesting and interactive web pages. I liked the 7 Step Approach to solving Programming Problems. Some of my favorite exercises involved Digitally creating a filter to Grayscale Images, using a Green Screen Algorithm to alter an image's background, and creating digital filters to apply to photos - all on interactive web pages that you create in the course! I find that I want to learn more about Front End Web Development! I was glad that you could take a Quiz over again, and they keep your highest grade! I liked the optional assignments, in case you wanted extra credit, or wanted more practice. The lectures actual introduce object oriented programming concepts, without all the terminology, which I believe makes the course easier for beginners.

创建者 Beate T

May 15, 2020

Great course! I was almost a beginner, I have had some experience with HTML and CSS before. This course introduced me in an entertaining way to programming and I am very excited about starting with JAVA. I really liked the short videos that cover the most important things for the practice. I also liked the tasks, they were short and fun. Some things were tricky and challenging for me, but this is what I like, since it helps me to understand things by going into detail. However, I had somebody around to help me when I was stuck and didn't rely on the forum.

It's great for me as a woman to see a female instructor (All instructors did a great job!). I am almost 40 and was shy to start programming. This course showed me that it is possible to learn programming and that it is fun. Can't wait to continue the specialisation!

创建者 Khaled H

Aug 14, 2017

i have taken the whole specialization . so this review is for the whole specialization in general and for the capastone in particular.

the first and the second courses are very easy . but the three remaining courses are a little bit tough

so you will need to struggle and persist to complete the whole specialization especially the great project .

indeed the project is extremely great . you will use all the concept you have learned through this specialization to implement this great project .... but NOTE this specialization in general and the project in particular is NOT for a BEGINNER Programmer. it is for some one who has a background in programming . but overall you will learn a lot of great stuff and concepts .. so have fun and enjoy programming .