Chevron Left
返回到 Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS

学生对 杜克大学 提供的 Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS 的评价和反馈

4.6
13,653 个评分

课程概述

Learn foundational programming concepts (e.g., functions, for loops, conditional statements) and how to solve problems like a programmer. In addition, learn basic web development as you build web pages using HTML, CSS, JavaScript. By the end of the course, will create a web page where others can upload their images and apply image filters that you create. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Think critically about how to solve a problem using programming; 2. Write JavaScript programs using functions, for loops, and conditional statements; 3. Use HTML to construct a web page with paragraphs, divs, images, links, and lists; 4. Add styles to a web page with CSS IDs and classes; and 5. Make a web page interactive with JavaScript commands like alert, onClick, onChange, adding input features like an image canvas, button, and slider....

热门审阅

AD

Jul 16, 2020

Excellent course .

Just felt that there should be examples that could help someone to understand in a more better way.The videos were good and were very simple and easy to understand then the text.

JS

Jan 12, 2020

A very helpful code which allows you to learn the simple of JavaScript HTML and CSS. Very helpful in building websites and an excellent course for beginners or even people who have never coded before.

筛选依据:

26 - Programming Foundations with JavaScript, HTML and CSS 的 50 个评论(共 2,972 个)

创建者 R M A

Jan 12, 2019

GREAT EXPERIENCE,GREAT STARTY TOWARDS FUN WITH PROGRAMMING AND PLAYING WITH JAVASCRIPT TO MODIFY IMAGES

创建者 Slobodan O

Mar 16, 2020

Before I started this course I knew virtually nothing about JS and a bit about HTML and CSS. My short-term goal was to grasp the basics of front end programming because I'm working as a business developer for a software house so I can communicate more effectively with my fellow developers, and a medium-term intent to create my own website from scratch. The lecture pace was perfectly tailored for my routine, half an hour a day from Monday to Friday before sleeping and an hour and a half during the weekend.

Professors are well-skilled and they've presented content in a clear and easily understood manner, even though some of them are not that comfortable with the camera and lack some "acting" skills, but you don't expect that all computer engineers are Steve Jobs of public speaking.

Programming tools, learning materials, and course UI are more practical than attractive but everything is just a click away and I've never felt that something was redundant or unclear, so good job Blue Devils, thank you for making easier my first step into the world where everything is a number (even colors) and building blocks of functional and responsive websites are variables, methods, functions, algorithms, attributes, classes, divisions, canvases, event handlers, pixel coordinates, etc.

Oh, yes, one of my biggest takeaways, and something I'll definitely use when explaining the importance and the price behind the analysis and design aspects of our services: work the MF'ing example by hand so you know what you need to do once you start writing code, then start asap with debugging until everything is just as you want it to be ;)

Cheers,

SO

创建者 Chen S

Jan 14, 2019

Good Class, Enjoying it

创建者 Natalka B

Jun 12, 2020

This says it is a beginners course that you don't need any prior knowledge. That is not true. I'm a beginner with no prior knowledge and I found this course extremely difficult to follow. The videos did not "dumb" it down enough for me, the "Try It's" were very hard and I found I couldn't figure out how to write the code they were telling to do in these "Try it's" They have resources and keep referring you back to the video, which I did not find helpful. I had to seek external help from other programs and people(not in the forums, because they were useless and many people had the same questions I did and there didn't seem to be any good, working, useful answers). This was a very frustrating course. I would like to finish the other 4 parts of the specialization but I will have to wait and come back to them after I have take other course to get a better understand of how to write JavaScript, CSS and HTML.

创建者 Andrew W

Sep 25, 2021

Personally I do not think this course is very beginner friendly at all..... The first week was nice and slow then week 2 just blasted me in the face and its moving very very fast and hard to grasp it all at once. I feel like I need to take some other courses first and then come back to this one.

创建者 Namibia T

Jul 23, 2017

I really enjoyed the class! However, after looking through responses that some students received from mentors, I had the impression that some of the mentors behaved contrary to what their title suggestions. Mentors are there to guide students in their learning, however some of the condescending responses mentors were giving some students were discouraging of learning. Again, not all mentors did this, but I think it's worth going through all of the responses students receive and providing facilitation training for mentors so that they have appropriate responses, criticism that is constructive rather than destructive, for students who may be struggling with their code or the content.

创建者 Heather T

Jan 22, 2019

I have tried multiple times to learn javascript and have always failed. This class bridged the gap for me and made it easy to learn. Great job Duke & Coursera!

创建者 Ian T

Nov 29, 2017

I really did not enjoy using CodePen and Duke's portal to complete the assignments. They are unrealistic to use in the real world.

Secondly, HMTL and CSS felt very straightforward. However, Javascript felt like an entirely new world. I think lessons and extra time should be taken to explain the semantics A LOT more slowly and methodically than what was done. I found myself severely confused for the large part of this class in the last 1/3 of the course.

创建者 Daniel S

Feb 15, 2021

Doesn't explain things well when it comes to JavaScript. They just expect you to jump in and start coding without telling you how to do it. I couldn't pass the tests or do the assignments because I didn't know what I was doing after watching the lectures and reading the material several times. Things like this are very easy for me and I pick things up quickly but I couldn't get the concepts with this so I quit the course.

创建者 Jingxuan W

May 27, 2019

it's way too easy. I would say after one completes this course, he still has absolutely no ability to get into real web development work. No JQuery, no IIFEs, almost no JavaScript application besides the simplest functions, no Layout instructions, no css style conventions, no media query. The only 'real' method learned insert picture depends on Duke's server while it doesn't have to.

创建者 Jason W F

May 28, 2016

I learned eight lines of Java code in four weeks, and we never implemented any of it into a web application (viz, a script that actually runs in a live website). Read a book instead. It's cheaper, takes about the same amount of time, and you learn a lot more. I gave it a star because one was the minimum. It should be zero because it wasted my time.

创建者 Driton M

Oct 31, 2015

Definitely not a course for a beginners, very confusing. The part with the Javascript is a real horror for beginners and even challenging for some newly programmers!

创建者 Ekaterina V

Jan 7, 2021

My prior experience in programming consisted of several lessons on Pascal back in school about 13 years ago, so (apart from vague if/else memories) I started with zero experience. I found this course quite exciting, often challenging, but in a good way. For some reason, "peer review grade" is stated in the course info, but there is no such thing. You might post a link to your webpage for your classmates to review, but it's optional and doesn't affect your grades. To complete the course, you'll need to do your coding and answer quiz questions based on that. Basically, nobody ever sees your code, because posting whole programs in the forums is forbidden, and the only grades you get come from quizzes. You can post a piece of code if you're stuck though. I can't fully approve this approach, but in general the course is fine.

In my opinion, this course might be a great opportunity to decide whether you enjoy spending time coding or not. If not - you might still have some fun.

创建者 Beate T

May 15, 2020

Great course! I was almost a beginner, I have had some experience with HTML and CSS before. This course introduced me in an entertaining way to programming and I am very excited about starting with JAVA. I really liked the short videos that cover the most important things for the practice. I also liked the tasks, they were short and fun. Some things were tricky and challenging for me, but this is what I like, since it helps me to understand things by going into detail. However, I had somebody around to help me when I was stuck and didn't rely on the forum.

It's great for me as a woman to see a female instructor (All instructors did a great job!). I am almost 40 and was shy to start programming. This course showed me that it is possible to learn programming and that it is fun. Can't wait to continue the specialisation!

创建者 David C

May 21, 2021

Not an easy course for totally new beginners, I would say this course is between beginner and intermediate. Would prefer if instructors made a few more examples and could make a new section on how to approach some of the exercises and solve them. It's true that the best way to learn is to make some research and keep on trying, but for the time purposes of the course my suggestion would be to dive a bit more into the exercises, they are very time-consuming and beginners will/may struggle.

Overall I do consider this to be an excellent course, very informative, and will give a beginner a good insight on what programming is and how to research and formulate algorithms! Definitely encourages me to continue studying!

创建者 Themistocles S

Aug 7, 2016

A very good course that teaches many interesting and surprising things. I admit I was unaware of this material. Completely unaware. Creating beautiful webpages (HTML, CSS), creating and modifying images with JavaScript, encrypting and decrypting images in other images !!! Ooooh !!! What an unexpected joy !!! I did not know someone can do such things all by himself. I'm really happy to have gone through this course. One thing. It takes time. I think that the time required that is given in the information about the course is unreal. Anyway I wholeheartedly suggest this course to anyone interested in science, computers, and is energetic enough to absorb this amazing stuff.

创建者 shemaela m

Nov 17, 2016

The course provides complete information and guidance for a beginner in Web designing. Me being unfamiliar with programming before starting here, our mentors and teachers provided study material in such a manner helped me (a fresh comer) learn HTML, CSS and JS quickly and pretty well. In a month, you really do learn a lot. You require a good amount of self-discipline and dedication for learning any new subject, specially if you're juggling it with a job or being a university student. But the quality of lecture videos, the material provided for extra learning and the weekly amount of work is perfect for coaching you in Web Designing.

Good Luck !!!

创建者 Carla A

Jun 26, 2019

Na primeira semana do curso, eu pensei em desistir pois achei que o curso era muito simples. Eu não desisti porque não gosto de coisas inacabadas. Fico feliz por não ter desistido. A partir da segunda semana, eu me encantei com o curso e o tanto que ele trouxe de novidades para mim. Este é o melhor curso que já fiz. Este curso me manteve totalmente focada, dedicada a aprender o máximo possível. Tenho mais de 50 páginas de anotações relevantes que servirão de apoio para meus próximos trabalhos. Parabéns aos professores pela dedicação e entusiasmo. Espero revê-los em breve!

Muito obrigada por tudo!

Happy coding!

创建者 Amelia R

Aug 29, 2021

This course which is a first part of the very specialization is an amazing way to learn the basics of the html, css and java script. Everything is done correctly, except for few flaws that some instructions may have. Sometimes some words are swapped with one another, what may cause problems in understanding the task, but if you read the instrucion with understanding + you go to the forums, you will be able to comprehend the material completely :)

Thank You to all the students who were always there to help, and of course all the instructors!

Regards, Amelia R.

创建者 Pankaj J

Jan 30, 2021

This is so far the best online course for web development. Its difficulty is moderately hard which is a good thing. This course works through the fundamentals of programming and computational thinking. More specifically this course really worked through the algorithms. This not that average html css element teaching course. This is really challenging. I am feeling very confident about this.

创建者 Andres F M R

Feb 3, 2022

Well structured course and non trivial exercises that challenge you and keep you motivated. Practice is emphasized each time. Exercises are nonmandatory for grading but absolutely neccesary for master understanding of the basic topics. Great course overall.

创建者 laahiri c

Jan 8, 2022

​the course is amazing but I felt like the assignments at the end were tough and needs more knowledge than that thought in the videos

创建者 Thato M

Jan 4, 2022

Difficult to do alone, very challenging and ALL worth it. The course challenges your problem solving skills.

创建者 SK R

Mar 29, 2022

t​hank you coursera

创建者 Ali K

Nov 4, 2021

it was an awesome experience taking this course, I think the assignments might need some improvements and be more clear but in overall the course is worth it, can't wait to finish the other courses, and it's not beginner friendly.