Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution 的评价和反馈

4.8
868 个评分
248 条评论

课程概述

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

热门审阅

TO
Jun 20, 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC
Mar 2, 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

筛选依据:

226 - Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution 的 247 个评论(共 247 个)

创建者 Peter G

Feb 6, 2017

The presenter is world class, and I really enjoyed the interactive maps. The quizzes should be a bit more challenging though - perhaps learn how to identify a few fossils,

创建者 Kate K

Feb 9, 2017

Difficult subject to get your head around but ultimately worth the effort. The teaching, as always with the University of Alberta's MOOCs, is second to none.

创建者 Arash R

Nov 15, 2018

A great course with useful and complete information. The only negative point is that there were not enough assignments for practicing and remembering.

创建者 Mahendra A

Aug 23, 2020

This course is very informative to students as will as teaching profession, we learn basic concept about early vertebrates

创建者 Cameron M

May 17, 2020

Interesting content and informative lectures. Wish the course was longer and more in depth on certain subjects.

创建者 Zenab b

May 10, 2020

i really enjoyed it aloot and learn alooot of new knowledge about early vertebrates....thumbs up...

创建者 Vivek S

Jun 5, 2020

Nice Course on Early Vertebrate Evolution. The interactive sections of the course were Amazing.

创建者 John P

Mar 3, 2018

Definitely an appetiser for the subject although the names and terminology are a challenge.

创建者 pamela h

Oct 22, 2019

enjoyed the course very much, lots of good information in manageable pieces.

创建者 Adam M

May 3, 2016

i like this. this is good. good can be fun. fun has rewards...yay, i win

创建者 Clotilde D

Sep 28, 2019

Very interesting course and concepts clearly explained, thanks !

创建者 Nicholas S

Jul 1, 2019

Amazing information, but the instructor is a little distracting.

创建者 BONNAUDET-DESMARS

Mar 28, 2020

Very interesting lesson , congratulation!

创建者 Richard K

May 17, 2017

Well organized and excellent presenter.

创建者 Francine

May 27, 2016

Very interesting and entertaining!

创建者 Suriya R

May 15, 2020

Excellent Course...Loved it

创建者 サフイア ワ

Sep 20, 2017

très bien expliqué

创建者 Daniel D J

Dec 4, 2019

t

创建者 Sachin R

Jul 22, 2017

This is a very informative course, but the information is extremely complicated. I had to go over the notes several times.

创建者 Kent R C

Apr 24, 2018

Interesting, but assessments are too easy.

创建者 Richard H

Aug 12, 2017

Three stars seems too much, two stars too few.

First and foremost, I couldn't stand the lecturer. The course description says "Taught by: Alison Murray, Ph.D, Associate Professor" but she never so much as appears on camera. Instead the material is delivered by some graduate student dressed up in what I would have assumed was a cartoonist's stereotype of paleontological field gear, and he has the most annoying, grating presentation style I've ever seen. I ended up covering his half of the screen with another window just to not have to watch him. Still had to listen to him though, delivering a script which I infer was written by Murray and other faculty. (I signed up for Ancient Marine Reptiles allegedly taught by Michael Caldwell and Halle P. Street — and in reality it was the same grad student. Same outfit. I said "oh no" and didn't continue. Couldn't take four more weeks of that guy.) Come on, how about courses taught by actual faculty members? Like The Science of the Solar System, taught by the engaging and accomplished Prof. Mike Brown, discoverer of Eris?

The material is largely "here's a Latin name of a family, here's a Latin name of a member of that family, here are some of its physiological characteristics (more unfamiliar vocabulary) — lather, rinse, repeat." Forget about passing the quizzes if you can't remember which Latin species name goes with which characteristics. I felt there was too much emphasis on individual species and not enough on overall concepts. I didn't feel I came away with a real understanding of what happened and why it happened in early vertebrate evolution... some of that was there, but it wasn't clear enough, obscured as it was by emphasis on vocabulary and rote description.

创建者 Alma D

Apr 2, 2016

A jurassic park image, with material you can read by yourself?