Chevron Left
返回到 Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution

学生对 阿尔伯塔大学 提供的 Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution 的评价和反馈

4.8
756 个评分
215 条评论

课程概述

Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the origin of vertebrates. Students will explore the diversity of Palaeozoic lineages within a phylogenetic and evolutionary framework. This course examines the evolution of major vertebrate novelties including the origin of fins, jaws, and tetrapod limbs. Students also explore key Canadian fossil localities, including the Burgess Shale (British Columbia), Miguasha (Quebec), and Man On The Hill (Northwest Territories). Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-vertebrate-evolution...

热门审阅

TO

Jun 21, 2016

WOW, I learned a lot form this and it was fairly educational but not overwhelming or difficult. This instructor really gets the points across without being to easy or hard. A very good class.

JC

Mar 03, 2018

Celebrate your inner fish as you swim along with this awesome course charting our earliest ancestors. Very well constructed and delivered once again by the team at the University of Alberta.

筛选依据:

176 - Paleontology: Early Vertebrate Evolution 的 200 个评论(共 216 个)

创建者 Benjamin M

Nov 07, 2019

Thanks!!

创建者 Víctor M E R

Nov 11, 2018

exelente

创建者 Linda A

Apr 25, 2017

Excelent

创建者 RAGHUVEER S D

Jul 25, 2020

good

创建者 Mona A A

Jun 06, 2020

GOOD

创建者 garima s

Mar 07, 2020

nice

创建者 Robert C C

Apr 25, 2016

G

创建者 Alexander P V M

Aug 31, 2016

Although not as strong as the other palaeontology courses by the University of Alberta, the current courses takes much the same approach and uses the same teaching techniques as these other courses. As such, it easily and effectively gets the millions of years of early vertebrate evolution across clearly and concisely. The video lectures are both interactive and fun, and the course notes are both informative and well adjusted to the video lectures. If there is anything to be remarked upon, then it's the slight lack of depth as pertains to the material covered. This, however, is hardly surprising considering the highly complex material (drawing from fields as osteology, paleoecology, evolutionary and developmental biology, palaeontology and more), the speed at which it is discussed, and the level of accessibility that is provided. Overall, a very good course, and one I very much enjoyed following!

创建者 Robert C D J

Mar 31, 2018

While I don't believe in evolution, I'm very surprised that the university would subscribe to the notion that all land vertebrates came from some creature in the ocean. Overall, the presentation of the information given could have been a bit more cleaner and steam-lined, rather than attempting to give an abundance of information that pushed the notion that every living thing on this earth came from some aquatic form. The presenter could have been a bit older, possibly someone who had a bit more experience in the field, rather than a twerp who looked like he just came out of puberty. And he talked with this hands too much. Overall, however, just to get some online classes under my belt, in a subject that I'm very interested in, i'd recommend this class as part of an introduction to paleontology itself.

创建者 Evelyn T

Apr 02, 2020

Really enjoyed this course-- it was a little more difficult than Dino Paleobology101 but that's totally fine. I didn't particularly enjoy the long chapters about rocks and types of environments (although I understand that it's important to know to understand fossil preservation and the environment that the animals had lived in) but the rest was all really great. Looking forward to the next few courses in this series.

创建者 Francisco L A B

Aug 03, 2020

The course is very well structured, and the drawings are fantastic to help the people visualise the different vertebrates that lived once on the planet. However, I found that it would be more dynamic for the course to have short animations of those fishes while the subject is being explained in the background. I guess it would catch more the viewer's attention throughout the course.

创建者 Daniëlle v d B

May 03, 2020

A great way of getting me more familiar with palaeontology. With a background in biology, I had already a basic understanding of phylogeny but in this course, that was quickly explained and then moved onto other things that perfectly fitted my level of learning. I learned a lot and loved all the examples of different genera and different types of fish and early tetrapods.

创建者 Zoltán V

Oct 10, 2016

The professor could have been a bit more serious, he acted as if he was a kindergarden teacher. Seriously: do you really need to imitate with your hand how a fish swims? I don't think so.

Also, the pronounciation of the latin words was horrible - then again, all native English speakers have problems with it, so don't take this remark personally.

创建者 Alexis P

Apr 11, 2016

Very interesting and compelling course, and I liked the questions every few minutes during the lectures as that helps me to retain information.

My only complaint is that the lecturer's manner of speaking is very rhythmic and repetitive and that makes it kind of hard to lose track of his words.

创建者 Charles R B

Jun 19, 2017

Very fast short course, which does not go into much detail. Once again, the quiz questions are far too few to make a comprehensive test of knowledge. Save your $ for an actual full-on rated University credit course, with 30 hrs of lecture and 60 hours of homework/study/lab work.

创建者 Karthy S

Jun 27, 2016

I have learned so much from this course, thanks to Coursera and University of Alberta. This course is highly recommended for students with a passion for Evolution and Phylogeny. The handouts are also very useful.

创建者 Henry F G

Oct 15, 2017

I believe the course should have been six weeks long instead of four. I enjoyed the course, however should have contained more detail and the quizzes should have had more questions, at least ten.

创建者 Lloyd V C

Feb 24, 2020

Overall very interesting course and videos. It would be nice to have a page at the end of the course showing the evolution of each fish discussed (along with features and timeline).

创建者 Richard K

Jul 21, 2019

Pretty in tense but the quizzes are pretty straightforward and the course goes pretty quickly. The diagrams helped. My first stab at real paleontology and it was a good intro.

创建者 Maria M

Jul 30, 2017

I found the material and the lessons very useful and clear,. I have deduced one star, because I found it a bit difficult to assimilate so much information in such short time.

创建者 Peter G

Feb 06, 2017

The presenter is world class, and I really enjoyed the interactive maps. The quizzes should be a bit more challenging though - perhaps learn how to identify a few fossils,

创建者 Kate K

Feb 09, 2017

Difficult subject to get your head around but ultimately worth the effort. The teaching, as always with the University of Alberta's MOOCs, is second to none.

创建者 Arash R

Nov 15, 2018

A great course with useful and complete information. The only negative point is that there were not enough assignments for practicing and remembering.

创建者 Cameron M

May 17, 2020

Interesting content and informative lectures. Wish the course was longer and more in depth on certain subjects.

创建者 Zenab b

May 10, 2020

i really enjoyed it aloot and learn alooot of new knowledge about early vertebrates....thumbs up...