Chevron Left
返回到 Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development 的评价和反馈

4.7
438 个评分
160 条评论

课程概述

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

热门审阅

DS
Sep 6, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

CT
Oct 24, 2018

An interesting course on understanding several ecosystem services more in-depth, as well as the ways these are quantified. I personally enjoyed also the critical perspectives at the concept

筛选依据:

51 - Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development 的 75 个评论(共 160 个)

创建者 Mahmud H T

Oct 3, 2017

Ecosystem services is one of most suppressed issue in the field of environment. From this course i have learned the importance, calculation and maximizing the ES. Also learned some new topics in the field of ES.

创建者 Cavine O O

Oct 6, 2020

This course has been presented in a most articulate and precise manner. The resources shared in every module are quite insightful and relevant. The lecture videos are precise and clear. It is enjoyable.

创建者 Diego S

Sep 7, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

创建者 Giovanni A B F

May 18, 2020

It's well structured course, made by top professionals in the field. It gives a nice overhall of the Ecosystem service approach and a good base for further studing. I recomend this course .

创建者 Mahendra K D

Jan 4, 2021

An Excellent Course. It covers all aspects of Ecosystem Services, covering Case Studies, Examples and good reference materials along with the lectures of a talented pool of Professionals.

创建者 Livia S

Apr 14, 2020

Very useful and interesting course. Concepts and case studies are explained very clearly and there is plenty of suggested materials to further deepen your knowledge! Highly recommended!

创建者 Héctor F G F

Jul 5, 2017

Amazing course. I learnt important concepts that definitely are going to help me to improve my academic skills. Not only the content but also teachers make this course enjoyable.

创建者 Shubham S

Jul 13, 2019

Goes into adequate depth both for someone who is new to the concept as well as for someone who has a fairly well established background of Environmental and Spatial Planning.

创建者 Phoebe P

Jun 20, 2020

This is my favourite course so far. It was extremely interesting. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in learning more about the environment and ecosystems.

创建者 Jewel L

Jan 30, 2018

Excellent course that covers the important points of the ecosystem services approach and how it may be influencing decisions at multiple levels of government and practice.

创建者 Veronica I

Jul 5, 2020

Adquirí conceptos nuevos desde una perspectiva crítica. Cada uno de los módulos es contundente con muy buenos relatores. La bibliografía es muy interesante y contingente.

创建者 Antara D

May 27, 2020

It is a very essential course. Ecosystem services, ecological function ect and their relation.. Policy, legislation all are incule here which can developed our Knowledge.

创建者 marina b

May 18, 2020

Very nice course! With a very complete and critical view of ecosystem services approach and passionate lecturers.

I really enjoyed doing it, thank you for your efforts!

创建者 Hamza E G

Feb 24, 2020

Very good course, for all those who want to acquire a solid knowledge in sustainable development and know more about the ecosystem services until now taken for grant

创建者 Livia M M

Jul 6, 2017

Straight to the point, rich in debates and discussions which stimulate critical thinking! Thank you for setting up this relevant, interesting and excellent course.

创建者 Djennyfer K d M F

Jul 6, 2020

Complete course about the subject, showing as many views as possible so we can understand the complexity of the ecosystem services approach and monetization.

创建者 Mauricio J M P

May 10, 2020

I have worked on this field of environmental economic valuation and this course is great, well structure and demand the necessary skills, totally recommended

创建者 Janos C

Sep 25, 2017

I enjoyed this course and found it highly informative. Very much appreciated the well balanced and critical perspectives and insightful practical examples.

创建者 RANJEET K

Dec 21, 2018

A course change my outlook towards biodiversity conservation and paved way to explore innovative means for better decision making in environmental policies

创建者 Lisa A

Jan 8, 2020

The concepts introduced in this course will be extremely useful in my work when trying to communicate the value of ecosystem services to decision-makers.

创建者 Saleem K

Aug 21, 2020

Awesome MOOC on ecosystem services, very well explained by respected instructors. I learned good amount of new things which I was alien sometimes ago.

创建者 Jharison B V H

Jul 22, 2020

Un excelente curso que permite conocer las potencialidades que tiene gestionar de una manera adecuada los servicios ecosistémicos. Curso recomendado.!

创建者 Joshua M

Apr 28, 2020

Very well put together course providing helpful instruction on the wide variety of considerations and skills within ecosystems analysis and reporting.

创建者 Tulaci B

Aug 19, 2020

Great and complete course! I have never seen anything like this here. The professors are very good and make us feel like their students.

创建者 Mariana R O

May 12, 2020

Excelente curso, muy buenos docentes. Vale la pena hacerlo y poner en práctica todo el conocimiento y habilidades adquiridas.