Chevron Left
返回到 Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development 的评价和反馈

4.7
438 个评分
160 条评论

课程概述

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

热门审阅

DS
Sep 6, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

CT
Oct 24, 2018

An interesting course on understanding several ecosystem services more in-depth, as well as the ways these are quantified. I personally enjoyed also the critical perspectives at the concept

筛选依据:

126 - Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development 的 150 个评论(共 160 个)

创建者 ABHIJIT G

Jul 9, 2017

Great Course indeed!

创建者 Nchong V M

Jul 1, 2020

Fantastic course

创建者 Jorge S V

Jun 13, 2017

Excelent course

创建者 Rahul K

Apr 26, 2020

Good learning

创建者 DILSHA K D

Jul 27, 2020

thank a lot

创建者 Andréia

Nov 1, 2018

I love it!

创建者 Flt L G R

Jul 28, 2020

THANKS...

创建者 emerilson g e

Jul 21, 2017

excelent

创建者 ANKESHWOR K M

Jun 11, 2020

good

创建者 Tomáš Š

May 15, 2020

TOP

创建者 Trevor R T

Oct 23, 2017

Great introductory course to Ecosystem Services. I have two critiques, the first is that the estimated times for completing each assignment and video are not very accurate. Although the videos have are obviously a specific time length, the actual time to complete each module is longer than just the total time of all the videos and 10 minute for each assignment. Secondly, there are a lot of additional resources presented (articles and reports), which is great to add to my bibliographic library abou ES! However, there are soo many additional resources offered, yet there is only one required reading assignment for this course. I think that there should be a couple more required key readings that are selected and tested upon.

创建者 David D

Oct 7, 2017

It's hard for me personally to rate this course as I do not have a real need to dive into the the details. I was looking for an overall perspective and what exactly this meant. Therefore I am satisfied even if I do not feel the need to complete the case study, etc.

The course was professionally presented with a wealth of experts. It still remains to be seen if this approach will make such a positive impact to promote more positive sustainable development but the protocols and methodology look well thought out and I understand many initiatives have worked out successfully, so bravo!

创建者 Alex N

May 24, 2020

The material is good and well rounded. Some of the questions and material are a little unclear, perhaps because of translation errors. The material is interactive and the peer-reviewed writing prompts are a good idea. I didn't have any problem getting assignments reviewed. I would have liked more technical details about ecosystem services methods rather than the discussion on whether ecosystems services are a good idea/ are ethical/ are useful for conservation (I do appreciate that this is included I just feel it monopolized the course a little).

创建者 Natàlia B P

Jun 3, 2020

Very interesting and I liked it a lot, particularly the different points of view of each of the presenters, lecturers and guests. This allows the student to understand the strengths and weaknesses of the method. However, I maybe missed a more practical module, one to actually learn how would an assessment come to be (for example, like the extra-module 6, but actually with sequences and support, because I think it's not very useful as it is - well, at least for me). But great course overall.

创建者 Nina B

Dec 27, 2020

I really enjoyed the course! I thought it was very interesting, well-delivered, and a good mix of video's, tests, essays, etc. If anything, there could have been some more texts to read and sometimes I could not fill in the answers to the questions asked during the video's (which I loved by the way; there could even be more!).

创建者 Claire B

Aug 28, 2017

I have enjoyed the class very much. It is a very good introduction to Ecosystem Services. This is not an easy topic, but this is well-done, well balanced, and brings many various different views, therefore including objectivity on the matter. I appreciate this greatly!

创建者 María J H M

Aug 7, 2020

Its a very good course, I learned a lot. I would emphasize in the connectivity between lessons, sometimes I was bored or distracted due to long interviews and not enough clarity about key concepts. Anyway, great professors and content.

创建者 Wouter V

Jan 10, 2021

Interesting perspective and good reading materials. I missed some reference to other well known institutions like the Ellen MacArthur Foundation and well known authors with related ideas, but all in all quite relevant.

创建者 Shefali C

Mar 31, 2020

This course does not only engage the students to understand importance of ecosystem services and different valuation techniques but also have provided great knowledge about the challenges and opportunities .

创建者 Pallabi C

Jun 29, 2020

I could not complete the project on ecosystem services assessment of module 6 for reasons unknown. Otherwise the course is very good and it gave me deeper understanding of the concept.

创建者 Filipe B d S

Jun 30, 2018

Is a very good course, but is not easy to understand immediatly, is necessary to dedicate and comprehend very well to get a great development.

创建者 Diannah B

Feb 20, 2021

Good overall course for understanding sustainable development and applicable uses/sectors. There is a lot of material covered in this course.

创建者 Noam J

Jul 5, 2018

A brief and nuanced introduction to Ecosystem Services. Very well moderated and expert speakers. Also the cases and resources are useful.

创建者 Saleh M A

Oct 18, 2020

Interactive and very convenient quiz feedback. Too many instructors, however, would sometimes a bit hard to concentrate.

创建者 Antoni R M

Mar 17, 2017

Really interesting and useful course to obtain great insights of the Ecosystem Services approach.