Chevron Left
返回到 Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development

学生对 日内瓦大学 提供的 Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development 的评价和反馈

4.7
443 个评分
161 条评论

课程概述

Ecosystem services are a way of thinking about – and evaluating – the goods and services provided by nature that contribute to the well-being of humans. This MOOC will cover scientific (technical), economic, and socio-political dimensions of the concept through a mix of theory, case-studies, interviews with specialists and a serious-game. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: • define the concept of ecosystem services, its principles and limitations • understand the key services associated with any ressource (e.g., fresh water) through readings and case-studies • appreciate the advantages and potential risks of monetising ecosystem services • appreciate the social dimensions (power issues, cultural biases) embedded within any method • integrate tactical advice on mainstreaming this approach into policy and standard government practices • Optional: learn how to map ecosystem services with GIS tools The session that runs May 29th- July 10th will be actively monitored by the instructors, and learners will have the opportunity to ask questions. This course was developed by instructors from the University of Geneva with the help of numerous researchers and input from the Geneva Water Hub and the Natural Capital Project. The course was financed by the University of Geneva, the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC), and the Luc Hoffmann Institute. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Water Resources Management and Policy » (www.coursera.org/learn/water-management) and the one in « International Water Law » (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). We look forward to you joining us!...

热门审阅

DS
Sep 6, 2017

Great course. Awesome introduction to Ecosystem Services. Well-balanced portrayal of the many tensions and difficulties in the field. Also a great exposure to MANY experts and many diverse opinions.

IS
Feb 28, 2021

That's a great course. Not only introducing the approach, but providing us with different pro and cons of the method. And it gives a lot to critical thinking on the topic. I found it really helpful

筛选依据:

151 - Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development 的 162 个评论(共 162 个)

创建者 Saleh M A

Oct 18, 2020

Interactive and very convenient quiz feedback. Too many instructors, however, would sometimes a bit hard to concentrate.

创建者 Antoni R M

Mar 17, 2017

Really interesting and useful course to obtain great insights of the Ecosystem Services approach.

创建者 Kajal Y

Aug 4, 2020

Very nicely explain about all points and give lots of knowledge.

创建者 Manisha K

Jun 3, 2020

Great course to learn the trade offs in sustainable development

创建者 Tanja W

Apr 13, 2020

Very complex for understanding principles but great challenge.

创建者 Sondos A C

May 9, 2018

Great!!

创建者 DR. N K

Oct 23, 2020

good

创建者 Erik S

May 5, 2017

An interesting course to learn about the emergence, context, beliefs, methods, experiences and risks of the economic approach to ecological functions. It is well done, with a lot of engagement by the teaching staff, especially Dr. Schlaepfer. Sometimes a little bit to talkative, sometimes a little bit to partial or ideological, sometimes missing of forgetting that there exist other proved integrative approaches to the (e)valuation of ecologic functions – like the verbal argumentative approach in Germany’s landscape planning and EIA - and that most of the nature conservation we can observe today – from the 19th Century on - was achieved by other than economic or monetary reasoning. I would like to suggest: (first) including a better substantiation of the ecological foundations of the approach considering that the implicit assumption of nature as “capital” offering “services” has a really weak conceptual base; (second) to profound on the issue of our limited capacity to discount the future where I see an interesting option to apply economic thinking to nature conservation; and (third) to include a more modern approach to decision making in political institutions. Since the 1970’s we know in policy analysis pretty well that decision making is conditioned by consensus-conflict-processes and that information processing - even sophisticated one as proposed in the course - is considered in decision making only if it fits to the results of consensus-conflict processes. Kind regards and thanks very much.

创建者 jon l

Sep 23, 2017

As a relatively new field, much is still to define and discover. I think the course could have been more interesting if combined with less theory and more discussion on application.

创建者 Tamer M

Jun 9, 2018

Not completely on board with the methodology, and although may be interesting to those heavily invested, did not quite find the course material drawing me in.

创建者 Getachew S

Sep 15, 2020

Very interesting course and I lernt a lot knowledge.

创建者 Erica S

Jul 1, 2020

Nothing but videos and the videos were long. Way too long.